We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly, good value, great location and night canoeing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Wallaby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super friendly, good value, great location and night canoeing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed here as part of our drive around the Cairns area. It was brilliant. It is run by super friendly lovely staff, Kate was especially lovely and helpful. You feel really at home here. They offer night canoeing as an extra charge and it was so worth it to see all the animals around the lake. The rooms where excellent, the atmosphere was warm, all round one of the best places we've stayed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRobbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
74
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

I chose to stay at On the Wallaby after reading about it in Lonely Planet, where it was highlighted as their pick of places to stay. My husband and I stayed 2 nights on the first part of a self-drive holiday. We were greeted warmly by Barbara and shown around the property. We could pick our room from the 3 doubles we were shown. We chose an upstairs room which featured a double bed with rich red bedspread and overhead netting, which wasn't required to be used against any mosquitos, but gave a lovely finish to the room. A chair in the corner, a shelf, mirror and a view of the front gardens completed the room. Showers and toilets were downstairs separated from the kitchen/and 2 dining areas.
Hubby and I opted for the $12 per person eat-in bbq and salad dinner that night, and after the free platypus viewing a short walk away lead by Paul and his dog, where we were lucky to have spotted a platypus or two, or it could have been the one platypus on 2 occasions, we came back to a dinner that was ready to eat. Very filling and delicious. Some people opted to cook their own dinners, and there was plenty of room and cooking utensils for them. In the morning, the $5 pp contintental breakfast option consisted of cereal, toast, tea or coffee, or you could provide your own. The whole feeling was of staying with friends, as Paul and Barbara were so welcoming and hospitable.
The next day hubby and I explored the region right up to Mareeba with visits to a coffee plantation, Granite Rock with the rock wallabies, local Gallos Dairy for cheese and chocolate tastings and the crater lakes. If you are without a car, or even if you do have a car, you can also partake of tours through On the Wallaby, such as cycle and day canoe trips of the area. On our second evening, after our 2nd bbq dinner, we took the 2-3 hour canoe night tour on Lake Tinaroo, where we spotted by torch light a tree wallaby, possum and other creatures. It was lovely gliding across the water on such a beautiful night under the stars. Paul again was our tour guide, and very entertaining and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaBeth2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

Stayed at this hostel while on the 2-day Artheon Tablelands tour from Cairns. Amazing hostel!! Super friendly and fun lovin staff. Cheap beers and delicious food. Gorgeous back yard with ping-pong table and a hammock. Clean rooms and amenities. The night canoeing on Lake Tinaroo was a thrill and the Platypus spotting walk is a fantastic freebie. Matt and cousin Brad definitely helped make our vacation best ever! Would return in a heartbeat.. just need save some $$ first.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yordanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

At first I was put off the area by the vast expanses of agriculture. This is one of those areas in Australia where much of the rainforest was cut down in order to make way for crops. Once I settled into the area, however, I discovered it had quite a bit to offer. The local dairy has some of the most amazing cheeses and THE best yogurt I've ever had. There's a winery across the street from the hostel that makes wine from local fruits, including a tasty green port made from Black Sapote, also known as Chocolate Pudding Fruit.

The hostel itself offers a variety of tours, from night paddles on the local lake (A+: a great way to glimpse the ever present jungle nightlife) to multi-day excursions (Spoke to others: they'll take you to all of the local attractions and give you a few cultural experiences as well). I enjoyed all of the guides I met; they seemed to truly thrive in their jobs and worked hard to give the best experience possible.

As far as wildlife, there's a pond nearby where platypuses can be seen most evenings, heaps of fruit bats sometimes cloud the horizon at dawn, and possums, wallabys, padymelons, and bandicoots, oh my!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

Loved it all, shame I couldnt stay longer.. The best Hostel Ive ever stayed in Australia. Great atmosphere, location and ameneties.. No deposits required as staff trust you!! no keys on doors.. like being at home. BBQ was excellent, better then restaurant food I´d had recently...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSAGIGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juneau, ak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

On The Wallaby could easily be my second home. I came in to the hostel with a terrible cold, and recovered quickly due to the quiet and peaceful surroundings. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful, and they always had an idea for an activity.

Everything promised was delivered, with heaping shovelfuls of kindness added for free.

The building was clean and well-kept. The only thing that seemed unmaintained was the pool table, but that was quite possibly on the "To-Do" list.

This was my best stay in a hostel, and I would go back if given the opportunity. This is THE PLACE to go if you want to unwind and relax in rural Australia.

  • Liked — Nice and quiet!
  • Disliked — had a cold while staying there...
  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank juneauakhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We were welcomed into the hostel like members of the family. Excellent advice from the staff on what to see and where to go. Our grandson went on the night canoe expedition and we all managed to see a platypus at twilight. Home cooked meals and clean accommodations completed the package.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busterivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
6.2 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
#4 of 7 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Wallaby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Wallaby Lodge

Property: On the Wallaby Lodge
Address: 34 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly On The Wallaby Backpackers Lodge)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — On the Wallaby Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for those who roam... Well presented, excellent value-for-money and warmly welcoming. On the Wallaby lodge is nestled in the hills of the beautiful Atherton Tablelands (1hr from Cairns) and is everything you've ever wanted or imagined budget accommodation could be. Campers and vans also welcome! On the Wallaby also specialises in catering for special interest and study groups. Tours include- Free guided platypus spotting , Wildlife Canoeing, Night Canoeing and Mountain Biking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your On the Wallaby Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing