We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
On the Wallaby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place is a very welcoming hostel compared to some of the bigger party type hostels i have stayed in. The atmosphere is relaxed but even more welcoming are Tracey and Bart. They are so willing to help you out and because we had a campervan with us they suggested lots of places to visit. Bart makes excellent pancakes too- ask him to challenge you to get a clear picture of a platypus so if you do he will cook you a pancake! If the dogs are around they are just as welcoming as the staff. The rooms are a good size and plenty of warm showers available after trying the night canoe- we didn't spot much on our night because it was so foggy but we did see possums, and heard plenty of tree kanagroos. The platypus viewing area is just a stroll down the road and is a must if you stay in Yungaburra.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for On the Wallaby Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Such a nice small friendly place. Beds are comfy and clean. The place is quaint and so relaxed. I could have easily spent longer than two nights here. Food is good and activities are really fun and reasonably price. Jed is the coolest person that you will meet. And Damo and Dave make it a relaxed and enjoyable time. I would advise any backpackers to come of the old beaten backpacker track of Cairns to this place. Stunning location in a very small but cool aussie village.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have stayed in countless hostels the last five months through New Zealand and Australia. This was my very last time in one. It was by far the best hostel ever. Save the best for last? The hostel was so homey and comfortable. It made me think of being at home. The staff was beyond friendly and was constantly making sure everything was up to your expectations. Backyard, food, canoeing, hiking, biking. Going to Cairns just to stay with them again!

Room Tip: Cheap and worth every cent. My money was sent well at this hostel. Broke student, and would've p...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I had an absolutely phenomenal stay at On the Wallaby. Because I wanted to see a platypus I traveled to Yungaburra, where I had read that one has a decent chance of spotting this elusive critter. Reviews were strong for this hostel and the night canoe was recommended. On the Wallaby has a great overnight trip option where they will pick you up in Cairns, take you on a tour of the Tablelands with a knowledgable naturalist, and then deliver you to the lodge. The excursion was really enjoyable, and a great way to learn about the unique Australian ecology and culture.

Shortly after arriving the staff gave me directions to where the platypus hang out and sure enough, they were there! I went to their river digs each dawn and dusk to watch them cavort. What an amazing treat!

Night canoeing is not to be missed! I loved it so much that I stayed an extra night just so I could do it again. We saw the rare tree kangaroo, possums (a LOT prettier than North American ones!), and even a turtle giving birth! Seriously, if you like wildlife, this is THE place to stay in the Atherton Tablelands region. The food is very good, and it was nice to get out on a bike ride, too. I'm pretty sure you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charisboof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is by far the best hostel I have stayed at in Australia. The staff are incredibly friendly and make you feel very welcome. Located in the township of Yungaburra, the hostel is spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, and the atmosphere is chilled out and relaxed. The peaceful location is a welcome change from the often noisy city hostels; there is no bar and loud music, no traffic noise, and just a few songbirds in the morning.

The nightly barbecue ($12) is cooked by the staff and delicious and provides the opportunity to meet other guests. There is also a free nightly trip to nearby Patterson's Creek to spot platypus, with a good chance of actually spotting one.

A great place to chill out an recharge your batteries, with the beautiful rainforest to explore just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltzingSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely adored this place. The bottom floor is open to the outdoors and has a great patio out back with hammocks, picnic tables, and games, and it's surrounded by trees usually filled with colorful lorikeets. The nightly barbecue is a great way to meet people and the staff is very willing to help you get the most out of the tiny town of yungaburra! They told us where to spot the local platypus and their night canoe trip through the rainforest is AWESOME (you do need at least 4-5 people for tours to run though). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The backpackers lodge is a very welcoming place with a very friendly staff. We stayed in a double room that was very clean and comfortable but before heading to bed we had dinner with the other guests. That night it was a barbecue ($12) and the food was very good.
You can go before dinner along the river to try to spot the platypus or you can join a canoe tour after dinner to spot the wildlife in the dark!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaeBenelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
#5 of 7 in Yungaburra
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
68 reviews
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Wallaby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Wallaby Lodge

Address: 34 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly On The Wallaby Backpackers Lodge)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: $37 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — On the Wallaby Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for those who roam... Well presented, excellent value-for-money and warmly welcoming. On the Wallaby lodge is nestled in the hills of the beautiful Atherton Tablelands (1hr from Cairns) and is everything you've ever wanted or imagined budget accommodation could be. Campers and vans also welcome! On the Wallaby also specialises in catering for special interest and study groups. Tours include- Free guided platypus spotting , Wildlife Canoeing, Night Canoeing and Mountain Biking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your On the Wallaby Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing