We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best backpackers ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Wallaby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Managed by the enthusiastic and energetic Tracy and Daniel this is a wonderful place to stay. Set back from the road this and cleverly converted, the brightly coloured open plan hostel has a great atmosphere with lots of antique curios to add further interest. Great facilities and outdoor area.
BBQ dinners every night and night canoe trips available from the hostel.
Very friendly and welcoming I have to rate it as one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in and there have been more than a few!

Room Tip: We had a double room on ground floor looking out to street and it was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for On the Wallaby Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had two young kids with us and they were very welcome here. Beds were comfy. It was quiet at night. Nice barbeque at night. Breakfast is just cold cereal. Super friendly staff. Really felt cozy. Quiet, idyllic, friendly Yungaburra. And you WILL see platypuses. I highly recommend staying here. Very nature-oriented and green. Clean and well maintained. You'll meet interesting people.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank judiPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We're a family of 5 and we wanted a clean, safe and friendly place to stay for one night near Atherton and that's exactly what we got. Being a backpackers lodge the accomodations are basic but good value for money. The staff were very friendly and the whole place felt very welcoming. Don't miss the night canoe tour, it's an experience!
Would go again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Great hostel that runs fantastic tours day and night into the surrounding tablelands. I would particularly recommend the night canoeing on lake tinaroo - its an excellent way to see native wildlife.

Cosy nights by the fire with the cheap bbq were very well received and the town of yungaburra is a proper chocolate box pretty place with a lovely cafe and a creek of resident platypuses - the highlight of my trip was going to see them at dusk :)

Rooms are comfortable and clean but there are no private bathrooms. You dont come for the room though and the location and friendly approachable staff cannot be faulted :)

Its also fantastic value even for the private rooms and the tours are a bargain!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A great place to be if you want to do daily excursions to see animals. Platypus around the corner, wonderful experience in a night canoeing for animal spotting... Can only recommend this lovely, friendly place

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just GREAT. Very nice people, very nice activities, and cheap. The only thing is that the rooms are quite small, but when you have outside so huuuuge landscape and places to discover, that is not that much a problem! We could see there platypus diving just in front of us: amazing! And if you want to go for a canoe tour at night, you will be able to see plenty of animals, including the tree kangaroos! Don't hesitate to go there really!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aarnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were bowled over by the exuberance of Tracy's welcome and felt like old friends within minutes! Her warmth was obviously infectious as all the guests made friends and chatted around the log fire late into the night. The hostel was spotlessly clean with a real homely feeling. The staff were knowledgable and so helpful in recommending the best activities and places to visit, according to our needs. The night canoeing was magical and the platypuses to order! We stumbled upon this gem of a place and ended up staying for 3 nights - we'll be back one day I hope!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisZimKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
#5 of 7 in Yungaburra
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
68 reviews
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Wallaby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Wallaby Lodge

Address: 34 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly On The Wallaby Backpackers Lodge)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: $37 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — On the Wallaby Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for those who roam... Well presented, excellent value-for-money and warmly welcoming. On the Wallaby lodge is nestled in the hills of the beautiful Atherton Tablelands (1hr from Cairns) and is everything you've ever wanted or imagined budget accommodation could be. Campers and vans also welcome! On the Wallaby also specialises in catering for special interest and study groups. Tours include- Free guided platypus spotting , Wildlife Canoeing, Night Canoeing and Mountain Biking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your On the Wallaby Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing