We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Wallaby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“A family atmosphere”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Lovely place to stay over night. A very nice and friendly reception by the hostess.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_nilsson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
74
76
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I've been using hostels for years & this is one of the best for a laid-back feeling but efficient, relaxed and really knowledgable staff. The evening BBQ was freshly made as we watched & so cheap. The real feeling of the small Atherton Tableland town was brought home to us with the free evening guided platypus spotting at the local creek.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydee086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed over night at On The Wallaby after taking 'Uncle Brian's' tour of the Tablelands, which was absolutely brilliant and highly recommended!
My two days in the area was the most fun I've had in Australia so far. I was picked up by Cousin Paul and driven to the most magnificent tropical waterfalls and volcanic craters for a full day of swimming and fun. It was soooo good! Cousin Paul was just so passionate and naturally funny that we were in stitches all the way!
When I got to 'On The Wallaby' to stay over night, I was bowled over by the warmth of the staff and the homely feel that the hostel had. You just felt so at ease there.
They laid on night canoeing for me and the other three girls who were staying overnight and we got to see so much wildlife (including a tree kangaroo!). The morning after, we were taken on a brilliant day of mountain biking - finding swimming holes day trippers could only dream of getting to!
The two day trip was a brilliant and unique experience which was made even better by the fun, friendly service and highly knowledgeable guides from 'Uncle Brian's' and 'On The Wallaby'.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We werent planning on going to Yungaburra but it was recomended to us by a guy at our hostel in cairns...from the moment we arrived Tracy was amazingly friendly and such a pleasure to deal with..the lodge is a cute, homey place and the rooms are very comfortable with a nice outdoor area and a table tennis table.... its a quiet town but has lots of outdoor activities and places to relax..the hostel can hook you up with free platypus spotting and an awesome night canoe tour... tracy told us about all the hidden gems in the tablelands and it definately made the trip..I will definately be coming back and telling anyone who comes to cairns to check out this backpackers lodge.... thanks tracy, from the canadians and Jade...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadesmith1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Best Hostel I ever stayed in. Big and comfy rooms, really clean showers, yummy healthy food and the best staff ever.
Night canoeing is awesome, just the best!
A home away from home and a must-go if you're around Cairns!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasihannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have been backpacking Australia for 5 months and this cozy hostel felt more like a home than any other place I've stayed. Trace, the owner, is warm and welcoming, offering us tea and cookies, and a yummy BBQ was on the menu for dinner. The rooms are furnished with antiques collected from her travels in Australia, and come evening you can walk to a nearby stream for an occasional platypus sighting or curl up with a magazine on one of the many well-loved couches. A must-stay if you're going to be in the Tablelands area!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Very good starting point to visit the Atherton Tablelands. Nice and homy feeling hostel and amazingly friendly staff, very kind to point out the great things to see in the area (which were very good indeed).
Beds are good, room and bathrooms are clean. The bbq meal they make is very nice as well. Too bad we couldn't go on the night canoeing trip, but heard from others it was great.
We booked one night to visit the rest of the Tablelands the next day but we did not get far and decided to come back the next night because it was such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vakantieganger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
144 reviews
6.2 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#7 of 7 in Yungaburra
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Wallaby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Wallaby Lodge

Property: On the Wallaby Lodge
Address: 34 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia (Formerly On The Wallaby Backpackers Lodge)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — On the Wallaby Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for those who roam... Well presented, excellent value-for-money and warmly welcoming. On the Wallaby lodge is nestled in the hills of the beautiful Atherton Tablelands (1hr from Cairns) and is everything you've ever wanted or imagined budget accommodation could be. Campers and vans also welcome! On the Wallaby also specialises in catering for special interest and study groups. Tours include- Free guided platypus spotting , Wildlife Canoeing, Night Canoeing and Mountain Biking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your On the Wallaby Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing