We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude owner”
Review of Kookaburra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kookaburra Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

No wonder this place is for sale, the owner has no idea how to treat customers and that's when paying them. A very rude and bitter Iittle man.

The place itself is pretty average, pokey little rooms with a small bed and a cheap mattress.

We won't go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FNQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a really nice small country town kind of motel. Rooms are not huge, but the bathroom was great - so much space! The towels and soaps etc provided were of a high quality, and the presentation was lovely - I thought a lot of care went into this. Had a very comfortable night's stay. Really enjoyed the breakfast on the verandah. The most amazing scrambled eggs I have ever had! Lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karafromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I recently took a trip up to the Atherton Tablelands North Qld. Did a Thelma and Louise no destination no plan just drive and stop where ever. So after we did some sight seeing and checking out the local shops in the lovely village of Yungaburra we decided we would stay overnight there. We choose the Kookaburra Lodge well what a lovely place to stay beautiful gardens lovely clean rooms, the host was very friendly. Within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MINCHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a cute 12 unit basic hotel. The rooms have a nice porch with hanging plants and some of them surround a nice back yard with a gazebo. The rooms are small and a little tired, but clean and quiet. The price was the best in the area. We ate from the breakfast menu and the food is good, reasonably priced and delivered to your porch. The managers are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been up the Atherton tablelands for work over the past few years and Kookaburra is the nicest place I have stayed at. Breakfasts are excellent and are served on the verandah outside your room overlooking the tropical garden. There are some nice restaurants nearby you can walk to and on the way home you can spot curlews in the park.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first trip to the Tablelands. Our friends had previously stayed at the Lodge and wanted us to share the experience with them on our visit.
Our hosts Mike & Nita made us so very welcome and have a neat BBQ area set aside if you decide to do your own thing in a lovely garden setting.Excellent breakfast, recommend the porridge.
Plenty of things to do in the area and several restaurants in Town in addition to the old Eachem Hotel, check out the happy hours for bargain price drinks.
Recommend the walk around Lake Eachem with a swim afterwards and the cafe at Lake Burrine which serves scrummy food and great views.

Room Tip: Very quiet location, we were situated at the rear in the BBQ area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paperkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for just one night unfortunately, but could have stayed for a week. Friendly owners (the place was for sale by the way) and a very cosy place with nice gardens. The rooms are small-ish but have everything you need and there is a covered outdoor sitting area at every room. Rooms are clean and you have everything you need. The breakfast is recommended, with fresh products and good coffee. They'll bring it to your room. And the price is just fantastic, still possible these days as this place shows!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.2 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 4 in Yungaburra
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
On the Wallaby Lodge
On the Wallaby Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yungaburra
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
35 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Lodge

Address: 3 Eacham Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range: $83 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Lodge is a 12 room motel set in tropical gardens in the heart of historical Yungaburra village. Each room is en suite and air-conditioned with its own veranda where room service breakfasts are served. The motel's off-highway location is a bonus with no traffic noise. We are within walking distance from restaurants, shops and Peterson creek where the Platypus live. We are also Bike Friendly so if your riding the Mountain Bike Trails or the scenic roads around the Tablelands we have secure storage for your bike along with workbench and tools and wash down area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kookaburra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Yungaburra
Kookaburra Motel Yungaburra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing