We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Get Away ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Mount Quincan Retreat for two nights and only left regretting we didn't book a longer stay. From the moment we arrived everything was so perfect with Kerry and Barb showing great attention to detail. The cabin was beautiful and very spacious, the view over the hinterlands - breathtaking!

We booked a cabin with an outdoor shower which is great value for money. Nothing nicer than showering outside with the rainforest all around you. Also included was breakfast for two days, and port with chocolates!

We would recommend this beautiful retreat to anyone looking for an intimate, secluded escape. So peaceful and relaxing, we'll definitely be back for sure (:

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this very special, romantic place. The treehouses are set apart from each other so you really feel as though it is only you and your partner staying there. Barb and Kerry are fantastic hosts and welcome you with a beautifully prepared breakfast hamper. There are individual barbeques in the treehouses so you do not have to cook with other guests.

Our treehouse (cabin two) overlooked the Atherton tablelands towards Mount Bartle Frere. We had initially tried to book a canopy cabin with an outdoor shower but they were already booked. This was not a problem however, as the spacious double spa bath with outside views more than made up for it. The treehouses are beautifully crafted with solid wood furnishings. We were happy to gaze out admiring the view from our balcony, looking for tree kangeroos with the binoculars provided as opposed to watching television but a television and dvd player is provided.

Room Tip: Our only tip would be to bring a bottle of wine or other drink to enjoy whilst taking in the view or...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HelenIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a fantastic find! Perfectly placed on the Tablelands to explore all the sights, this is one place we hope to get back to again. The only problem is the cabins are so lovely that you won't really want to go anywhere - perfect for a romantic & relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilless42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the cottages at Mt Quincan crater retreat. It was wonderful in every way. It was peaceful, beautiful, and the cabins are excellently designed for a restful retreat, with just the right amount of luxury. Everything we needed was there. I can't think of anything that could have improved our stay. Kerry and Barb are excellent hosts and have clearly thought hard about getting the balance of attention and privacy right. They succeed. It has my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Some cabins face into the crater (trees) and some face the panoramic view. You might have a prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Mt Quincan retreat, what a way to spend the weekend. Start with a rainforest hideaway, a double jacuzzi, king size bed, add in great breakfasts, the silence of no children and an abundance of natures wildlife four feet from your balcony. Paradise on the tablelands. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Kamala room is quiet isolated and overlooks the rainforest and crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This would have to be North Queensland's best kept secret, We have stayed at many B & B’s throughout Australia and New Zealand and this would have to be our best B & B experience. Your hosts Kerry and Barb have thought about every little detail from the home baked goodies on arrival to the beautiful do it yourself country breakfast provided in your room. We loved the canopy cabins with the outdoor shower and took full advantage of two great walks around the property. This is a retreat in the true sense of the word and your stay is extremely private, I felt we were on the other side of the world instead of just one and a half hours from home. I can't believe it took us so long to get there but we will definitely be back and would love to make it an annual event.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins with the outdoor showers, what a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A perfect place to relax and recharge. The views are breathtaking and the cabins are secluded, cosy and intimate, it's like being in your own little world. Kerry and Barb thought of everything to make our stay so much more enjoyable. A perfect way to celebrate our anniversary of 23 years. We cannot recommend highly enough in staying here and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric-Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
2.2 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yungaburra
157 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
2.1 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yungaburra
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
1.9 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
164 reviews
7 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Address: 70 Hunt Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4885, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: $239 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mt Quincan Crater Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing