We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week of our lives!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best week of our lives!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Sensational!! This review won't do justice in words how amazing our experience was at the retreat. Every conceivable detail was thought of and catered for. Barb and Kerry are so welcoming, kind and helpful. We loved it so much that we've pre-booked for next year and will continue to do so for many years to come. Thank you Barb and Kerry for the ultimate romantic getaway - you truly are cupid's little helpers! Best week of our lives and cannot wait to come back! Krystle & Tam

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
212
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Can not fault the place . Was so relaxing and quiet. Did not want to leave . Owner are very friendly and repect your privacy . Will recommend to any one. It was clean food was nice nature is nice atmosphere was nice . What else can I say .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garymcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malanda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here about 7 times and absolutely love it. If you want incredible service, beautiful location and accomodation second to none - then go no further. What wonderful hosts Kerry and Barb are, they will make you feel very welcomed. We will be returning asap.
TIP - request a villa with outside shower and keep an eye out for tree kangaroos - AMAZING.
Thanks Kerry and Barb and congratulations on your latest award, no-one deserves it more than you lovely people.

Room Tip: book a villa with outdoor shower...YOU WILL LOVE IT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrylawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Thank you Kerry & Barb, had the most enjoyable stay this weekend 2-4 August 2013. On arrival we were greeted to some home cooked scones. The room from the view to the farmlands, mountains,the spa, log fire. Perfect! If you can leave the room ( the log fire is hard to leave) I recommend the Crater top walk, we had our own tour guide, Milo the resident Kelpie. She was adorable. Even saw a Tree Kangaroo. Thank you we will be back to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary next year!

Room Tip: Loved the view of the farm lands
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have just had 3 nights at Mt Quincan, and it was everything previously written about in other reviews. The hosts certainly go the extra mile to make sure all the little extras are there to make your stay peaceful and romantic. The property has some lovely and challenging walks, and then of course further afield on the Atherton Tablelands, there are so many other beautiful walks as well. Yungaburra has some excellent restaurants, but if you want, you have plenty of cooking supplies in your beautiful treehouse. A pity we didn't get to see the illusive tree kangaroo, even though we walked probably ten or more kilometres peering up into the trees. Lucky we didn't trip over!

Room Tip: We had a treehouse looking out onto the Atherton Tablelands, which was beautiful. Other treehouses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our second visit to Mt Quincan and although the bungalow is a little tired since last we were there seven years ago it is still a fantastic place to stay. The owners are friendly and the bungalows warm, with great views of the crater- and little touches that make you feel special. A walk around the crater with Milo the kelpie was a treat as she lead the way stopping every few meters to make sure I was following and we saw the elusive tree kangaroo on our last night which was very special. Great place to stay for that special weekend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I were keen to celebrate our 20th Anniversary in a special way. After much research of the truly wonderful 'Getaways' and places to stay in Far North Queensland, we chose Mt Quincan Retreat.

We spent 2 nights at this Retreat and found that it met our expectations, (and more), of a "Truly Great Experience" ...

Our hosts Barb & Kerry were not only exceptionally good hosts and very welcoming upon our arrival, but they made us feel that our stay in their Retreat would be very special. We were welcomed with a lovely basket-full of goodies such as freshly made scones, (with fresh cream and jam to add), a bottle of Champagne, and home-knitted socks to wear in our treehouse abode.

The tree-house accomodation we experienced was unique, interesting, extremely comfortable and an absolute joy to experience. The view from the balcony was absolutely breath-taking. It is hard to imagine a more breath-taking experience of the surrounding topography.

All amentities were of 5 star 'plus' quality, from the 'more than well-equipped' self-contained kitchen, the swivelling fireplace which was an absolute treat, (adding warmth to the kitchen, lounge area, bedroom area ... whichever area we moved to), to the very modern and fully equipped bathroom with two wash basins and enclosed shower recess, to the extremely large spa bath which was an absolutely fabulous treat, to the innovative/naturalist/exotic outdoor shower area, the 'more than' comfortable king size bed, the balcony equipped with tables and chairs but also a great BBQ which we found very useful, easy to use and upon which we cooked a main evening meal and lunch while there.

While there we were able to enjoy the surrounding flora, fauna and general area by taking walks, (maps for which were provided by our hosts), to the nearby crater, river and other areas. We saw beautiful butterflies, a plethora of birdlife, lots of cows, a number of different birds, frogs and ants.

While there, we also experienced the local 'wildlife' close-hand, given a number of possums throughout the night, and a couple of brush turkeys, throughout the day, decided to forage for food on our balcony, 'up close and personal'.

Our experience at this Retreat was so good that we are already planning our next stay there. We would recommend it to anyone looking for something special, different, of high quality, and unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevineCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
7.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
1.9 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
143 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
2.2 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Property: Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Address: 70 Hunt Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4885, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mt Quincan Crater Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing