We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, top experience, best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place offers a unique experience within a rainforest with a view on a crater. You really feel like beeing on your own. Great hosts, great details provided. You really feel this people know what customers need. Great brekkie provided in the room, great deck to enjoy your own bbq and a glass of wine on the private deck. The only negative thing was cleanliness. But we know that this is not easy in these kind of surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funbar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 241 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just one night to celebrate our 1 yearr anniversary. It truly was the most romantic escape I could imagine. We stayed in January, however it would be unbelievable in winter - with the swivelling fireplace, huge spa overlooking the bush and surrounding farming land and creek, and cosy comfy couch.

Lovely soothing music playing as we walked in the door, Kerry showed us the fully self contained timber pole cabin. Barb's home made muffins on arrival were delicious, as was the breakfast that was provided for us to cook at our lesuire the next morning. The outdoor shower was an invigorating experience - lovely and warm water while standing under a rainforest tree and the rain! All very private of course - only the birds can see you!!

The king bed (actually king, not two singles joined) and incredible assortment of pillows were incredibly comfortable! The kitchen is well stocked with cutlery and crockery (although perhaps a microwave container wouldn't go astray and a heatproof tray) and although there is no oven, there is a bbq on the balcony with a hood that works well. I was going to grill some oysters, but had to use the bbq - no big drama - it worked fine.

There is reading material provided in the room (not needed for just one night of course) and dvd's and cd's available from reception. The TV is tucked away in a cupboard, which is lovely as we didn't want to watch it and it's nice not to have it as a centerpoint as in many rooms these days. Instead, we made the gorgeous candles and flowers our centrepoint!

The view from the balcony is wonderful - I'm sure it's lovely from any other cabin/treehouse - ours overlooked the trees where tree kangaroos live, as well as the farming land and a little creek. The retreat is located on the top of an old volcano and the views even driving up the driveway are amazing.

Kerry and Barb are absolutely lovely hosts and their attention to the smallest details is what makes the stay here so perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed at "Yellow Aspen" (cabin 1) and I highly recommend it. Large spa (although all...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnell117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wow! This place is truly amazing. Barb and Kerry welcomed us With muffins and jam and cream on arrival. The breakfast goodies were really lovely and plentiful. The cabins are so privately placed. The outside shower was awesome. Inside the cabin was delightful. It was such a delightful experience. I definitely recommend a 3 night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside shower
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I were originally booked in for a three night stay but ended up adding an extra night as we didn't want to leave! Our lovely hosts, Kerry and Barb, thought of absolutely everything - from the rose petal heart on the doorstep to the delicious homemade muffins, it was the added extra's that made our stay perfect . The location is fantastic - secluded and romantic...it's easy to believe you are the only people there! The cabin was cosy with plenty of room, the spa bath was luxurious and the view of the crater from our veranda was wonderful. We enjoyed feeding the wallabies and keeping an eye out for all the different species of birds that are abundant at Mt Quincan. Whether you are looking to rekindle the romance, enjoying your honeymoon or are an avid wildlife enthusiast, Mt Quincan ticks all the boxes and can cater for your needs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are definitely looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My new husband and I spent three nights here as a very short honeymoon. We purchased a 'romance package' as an add on to the accommodation in one of the canopy cabins, and it perfectly fit the bill. The hosts Kerry and Barb were excellent - very friendly, efficient and professional. Our welcome was great and Barb's fresh muffins were fab. The canopy cabins are beautifully done - sympathetic and well executed design to take best advantage of surroundings-perched on the side of the mountain overlooking the surrounding countryside, they blend beautifully into the forest canopy - you have no idea where the neighbouring cabins are unless you spy the car and you never hear a peep. The 'romance package' included champers, chocolates, cheese platter and roses galore - but even without these extras the room is pretty special. Cook your own breakfast provisions are (as standard) provided for every day which are high quality and varied - a bit more bacon would have lovely though! The kitchen is well equipped (including a dishwasher) and the living area comfortable. The cabin has a genuine king size bed with excellent and generous linen (not two joined singles like so many other places, which is irritating as hell) and includes a spa bath tub big enough for two with a view into the canopy. The revolving wood stove/fireplace is a real treat - even in summer the tablelands can get a nip in the air at night and a roaring fire in this beauty was the iceing on the cake. Wildlife included the usual brush turkeys, pademelons and the promise of tree kangaroos and platypus, but we lucked out on the latter two. Dinner is easily found in Peeramon or Yungaburra a stones throw away, but with your own provisions the kitchen would be suited to a gourmet feast. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it as a perfect getaway for any occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivacia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

For the people like us from a concrete forest in Hong Kong, the tree cabin at Mt Quincan Crater Retreat is a dream place for Joey and I.Outside is quiet , but the view is awesome and the wildlife is interesting.... The lovely scenes at dawn and dusk are so great that they will comfort you and charge you up for the whole day. The SPA, and particular the rain shower outside,..., make you become part of the great nature. Kerry and Barb are so kind that they make our stay even much enjoyable as they pay attention to the fine details on the food and etc so prepared before we check-in... We will looking forward to go back for sure....

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin that looks at the farms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed a magical three nights in what I would call the most romantic place on Earth! My husband and I traveled up here for our honeymoon. Kerry and Barb were absolutely wonderful hosts, who provided us with everything we needed on day one, encouraging us to experience a secluded break in which we need not have contact with anyone other than ourselves. All the trimmings were provided including a gorgeous rose petal heart at the door and freshly baked scones on arrival! The setting itself is out of this world, as you relax in the spa overlooking the gorgeous tablelands you are warmed by the rotation fireplace or alternatively you could experience the outdoor shower and then relax with a bbq breakfast. On a final note the bed and pillows were out of this world!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the outdoor shower!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antara2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
3.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
2.0 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
152 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
132 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barking Owl Retreat
Barking Owl Retreat
#4 of 12 in Atherton
72 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Address: 70 Hunt Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4885, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: $258 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mt Quincan Crater Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing