We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most peaceful places on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Finally got around to leaving a review after many stays at Quincan and I still find it hard describe this place with just words. For me and my wife, its easily one of the most restful, tranquil, peacful places on earth.

Go in the cooler months with a good supply of wine, indulgent food, books, magazines and the requisite ability to sit still and enjoy doing absolutely nothing. Stay 4 nights and you will reboot in a way that's impossible to acheive in everyday life. The only clothes you will need are for the trip up and back and maybe into the Yungaburra Pub for a cleansing ale. Otherwise you will rise and fall only in fluffy bathrobes and home made knitted booties

Hosts Kerry and Barb are beautiful people and their vision and attention to detail in the layout and design of everything is evident everywhere you look.

Quincan is an essential part of any great romance, you must do it.

Room Tip: All are great but tableland view rooms with outdoor showers are the best
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinePleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 241 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

We decided to blow the budget and check into Mount Quincan in the hope of seeing some tree kangaroos - and were not disappointed! When we woke up after the first night of our stay and opened the blinds, there they were, munching leaves in the trees right next to the cabin. They hung around all morning, so plenty of time to get some great photos.

The service was fantastic too - really nice extra touches like the generous breakfast provisions, home made bread and muffins. The rotating fireplace was brilliant for the cold weather too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

A great secluded retreat, perfect for couples. Can not see any of the other cabins at all, a totally private and very restful place to spend some time. Was made welcome from the very first moment by the hosts and had a wonderful anniversary as a result!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northernmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We have stayed at Mount Quincan crater resort several times before, this time we were celebrating our 24th Wedding Anniversary, Our hosts Kerry and Barb, welcomed us as soon as we arrived, we were given a wonderful bottle of champagne to welcome us.

Everything from then on was more then we could have imagined, Our canopy treehouse (milky pine) was well stocked with firewood, and we could not fault anything, the treehouse was immaculately presented. Through wonderful ideas from Barb, we booked the"" Romance Indulgunce package"", and all we can say is every detail was FABULOUS!!l,,, From our first steps along our pathway of rose petals scattered to getting to our door and being greeted by a heart of rose petals, to our romantic meal for 2 in our canopy room, the 30 candles scattered around the room,, and wonderful smell of 24 plus roses filling the room with there scent, to the wonderful fruit platter and port and chocolates on arrival...

Barb even had a wonderful massuar come in to do a massage, one word - Fabulous..

Nothing was to much for Barb and Kerry to organize, their speed and willingness to help out in any way was so much over and above their duties.

Barb used her wonderful cooking skills and put together a wonderful lucheon picnic hamper, for us, from the food hamper to the picnic hamper, complete with Hot water for coffee to the chubba chomps tucked inside the picnic basket... NOTHING was left out.

We will remember this wonderful experience for a very long time to come, Mount Quincan is paradise.. There is no other word in the english dictionary that could discribe this place any better.

Thankyou.

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romantic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is a hidden gem for couples that want a 'time out' retreat in a wild life reserve perched on a crater. The tree houses are full of 'home' comforts with the trims and treats you would expect for a luxury stay.
If you don't want to come across any other 'human' guests but enjoy the wonders of local Australian wild life, this is the place to be. The added bonus to the location is the culinary delights that the tablelands have to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsv2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at Mt Quincan Crater Retreat for 3 nights over Easter 2011 and it was amazing. The attention to detail that Barb & Kerry put in is indescribable - from the welcome hamper you collect on check in to THOSE scones Barb makes to the little details to the fridge stocked with breakfast supplies for your stay (we had bacon & pork sausages + rump steak + chicken patties garnished with side vegetables + freshly baked bread + a bottle of juice for each day AND a bowl of fruit and yoghurts) ... they really have gone to alot of effort to make your stay relaxing.

The rooms are just gorgeous and completely secluded - we had no concept of where the other guests were for the whole duration of the stay. They are fully self contained and well equipped with quality appliances, utensils & furnishings.

We were lucky enough to be visited by wallabies & tree kanagroos during our stay. I definitely recommend a stay - 3 nights was a blissful recharge for us but I could have happily stayed longer. I fell in love with the Tablelands in general but Mt Quincan & Yungaburra were definitely my favourites.

Room Tip: We had Ribbonwood/Room 3
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chels82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

From the moment you arrive at Mt. Quincan you realise that you are in a very special place. Barb and Kerry your hosts offer every opportunity to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Polehouses are exquisite and have great views, whichever one u pick. Wildlife is abundant, including bush turkeys,frogs, lots of birds, and we saw a very friendly ringtail possum.
You are not disturbed in your pole house, as you settle into your rainforest retreat, and feel yourself instantly unwinding. We put some Marvin Gaye on the stereo, a nice glass of wine, and just kicked back.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Cookie255069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
3.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
2.0 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
154 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
132 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barking Owl Retreat
Barking Owl Retreat
#4 of 12 in Atherton
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Address: 70 Hunt Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4885, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: $258 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mt Quincan Crater Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing