We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot, well appointed cabin, generous hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, well appointed cabin, generous hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

Well maintained and appointed cabins, perfect for a romantic getaway. Not so good with children because the other bed is a fold-out couch which our teenager found uncomfortable. The Lake Eacham area is just beautiful and these cabins are right in the midst of it. They are a little expensive, but the hosts are friendly and generous - free port, chocolates and a huge breakfast hamper on arrival, local coffee and quality fittings and appliances in the kitchen. These are just little touches, but they make the stay carefree and happy, and that is the most important.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samedlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crater-lakes, owner at Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Thanks for your lovely comments about our cottages. Just a point on your comment that they are expensive,For a 4 person stay for two nights or more it works out to be $70 per person per night including a huge breakfast hamper for all on the first morning .All your teas coffee oils sugar spices .Fully self contained luxury cottages on the boarder of world herotage rainforest expensive i dont think so thanks John Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Any visitors to Far North Queensland who want to get away from it all (including the TV), while enjoying a little luxury in a bushland setting could do no better than to visit these fabulous themed cottages. The cottages are set in rainforest, so the wildlife comes right to the door (and inside if you leave it open), so there's no need to go anywhere to see Riflebirds, Pademelons and catbirds to name but a few. Your friendly hosts John and Jenny ensure that you have a relaxing and comfortable stay. It was one of the highlights of our trip to the tropics.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed here stayed here for two nights and used it as our base to explore the Tablelands. The cotteges in the rainforest are very private and extermely well-maintained. John and Jenny were excellent and helpful hosts. We ate breakfast on the porch and the wildlife morning show has to be seen to be belived (better than the Cairns zoo). We especially enjoyed the kookaburras and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QLDadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

The quality of the cottages has to be seen to be believed. You would think that they are only 12 months old yet the maintenance has been such that these 10 year old buildings are in perfect condition and they are "in" the rainforest. Frequent visits from all manner of birds and animals to watch from your private balcony. There are only 4 cottages and each provide a private escape for a romantic interlude. While the price is not cheap (but not over priced) you get excellent value for money and well worth the little extra. Jenny and John are excellent hosts. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoobyMutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samford, QLD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

We spent the last two nights of our honeymoon here and wish we had more time. It was the best cabin we have ever stayed in. Surrounded by rainforest with stunning birds and pademelons on our doorstep, the cabin was a very good size with lots of space and very well appointed with all the comforts we could ask for. We stayed in the 'Pioneer' cabin and it was utterly charming.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was a great find. We had only intended to stay 2 nights but had to book a third as we didn't want to leave! Fully self contained cottage with a great deck where loads of tropical birds came to say hello. Very comfy bed, great spa and walking distance from the beautiful Lake Eacham that has a lovely walking track all the way around the perimeter through the rainforest. Thank you to John and Jenny who were the best hosts!! Highly recommended. Karen and Peter, Manly, NSW, Australia

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happiest_tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed here for two nights with my wife and 6 month old daughter in July 2009.
This is a very comfortable set of four self contained cabins. The cabins are positioned so that although they are reasonably close to one another, it feels like each one is very private. We stayed in the nautical cabin, which was well appointed and very clean (although the decor was a bit kitsch). The hosts provided heaps of firewood, which we needed because we hit a surprisingly cold snap and it can get cold up on the Atherton tablelands.

The best thing about this place were the visitors. We were able to hand feed walabies, scrub turkeys, cat birds and rifle birds straight off our back deck. Our little daughter absolutely loved this. Even as Aussies we thought that this was unique - but I imagine it would be even more amazing if you were from overseas.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
3.5 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
3.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
3.6 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Property: Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Address: 17 Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages in world heritage rainforest next to Lake Eacham far north Queensland 1 hours drive from Cairns international airport, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing