We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I began my trip to Australia In Queensland and stayed at the Rainforest Cottages for three nights. It was absolutely lovely. The cottage was clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The wildlife just outside my door was fantastic. The proprietors of the Cottages have thought of everything, including a washer/dryer for use by any of the guests. The breakfast hamper was delicious! The spot is a wonderful one for touring the whole of the Atherton Tablelands; it is centrally located and any of the surrounding towns are an easy drive. After a day of touring, it was wonderfully relaxing to return to the cottage for the evening. I would highly recommend a walk around Crater Lake if you have the time, too. Just beautiful. Thanks for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onetraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

In quite a beautiful setting, the cottage we had (Bali) was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Cheaper than comparable holiday cottages on the Tablelands, with a better location than some, we were very impressed. The managers made us feel very welcome, as did the wildlife of which there is an abundance! Don't hesitate to go here, you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

There are lots of birds and other wildlife around to keep you amused all day.
Victoria's Riflebird, Eastern Spinebill, Macleay's Honeyeater, Bridled Honeyeater, Lewin's Honeyeater, Wompoo Fruit Dove, Emerald Dove, Brush Turkeys, Spotted Catbird, Musky Rat Kangaroo, and Pademelon to name a few.
Great friendly hosts that supply everything for the time there. Even a glass of port to round off the evening very nicely.
Cottages have a private setting in the Rainforest, yet, only a 15 minute drive to Yungaburra to see platypus, restaurants and shops. Substantial breakfast provisions were provided and a Weber for a good BBQ experience.
Now to find the time to come up from Sydney to visit again.

Top Tip :bring a banana and slice it in 2cm slices, so the birds have to eat it in front of you, otherwise they can fly away with it. We saw the Musky Rat Kangaroo wondering around with a piece of banana about 10 minutes after picking it up from a bird that dropped it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wunala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

After many years of caravanning, we have started staying in hotels, motels and B&B's on our holidays. Until now we had not found anywhere that compared to being in our own caravan, however the Bali cottage changed that. It is a truly magic place, so beautifully set up and maintained and in such a wonderful relaxing location. The cottages must be pretty well insulated, because, despite the cold nights, we did not need to light the combustion stove or put the air conditioning on at all during our 3 night stay - the 27 degree days allowed the cottage to warm nicely and stay comfortable through the 10 degree nights, despite the large glass areas.
The cottage was impeccably clean, as were all the cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. Loads of extras were supplied from spa gel to a decanter of port. All amenities including flat screen tv, DVD player and stereo hifi system all in good working order.
Although there is no mobile phone service in the area, there is wifi around reception, and you can get Telstra mobile around Lake Eacham day area.
Couple the great place to stay with the excellent dining available in Yungaburra and the fantastic scenery in the area, you get all the ingredients of a perfect holiday. Thanks Jenny & John for a lovely stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I spent a truly relaxing 5 days in the Bali Cottage and had the most fantastic week. The units are very private and secluded and the glass doors and large balcony all face into the rainforest and you get the feeling that you are a long way from nowhere. The units are very comfortable and have everything you need. The birds and wildlife were very friendly and the wild birds will take food out of you hands. We were there in winter and the fireplace was all that was needed to make the cottage very warm and comfortable. The cottages are located close to all of the key attractions with Lake Eacham, Lake Barrine, Tinaroo Dam, Malanda, Yungaburra, Atherton, ect all within a 20 minute drive. The owners (John and Jenny) were very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone wanting to escape the rat race and spend relaxing time in the heart of a spectacular region.

Room Tip: The Bali Cottage is the last unit and there is no person or vehicle traffic near or past this cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron and Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unfortunately we could only book a Friday night as the weekend was fully booked and I can see why. What a beautiful rainforest cottage we had. The attention to detail in the cottage was spot on, the breakfast basket was full of good food and a decanter of port on the table. If you want to see rainforest wildlife then this is the place to stay, Victorian riflebird displaying on the verandah. We will definitely return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I really don't want to tell you how perfect this place was because once you have been to this secluded spot, you will be back so many times I'll have to book months in advance. For two busy parents who just wanted to step out of the craziness of every day life - these cottages were just what we needed. For starters, the cottages are laid out so that privacy is well-maintained and you rarely encounter other guests. The cottage we stayed in was clean and beautifully maintained, and of course, who could forget the wood heater which came in very handy with the cool weather. A highlight of the stay was being able to feed the birds, pademelons and the bush turkeys from the deck of the cottage. The animals came extremely close so I captured some great photos without a lot of effort. I would highly recommend these cottages to people who just need a break from the hustle and bustle. If visiting, remember: pack some yummy supplies (once you're in, you won't want to leave), drive very slowly to allow for all of the wildlife, and lastly, try the Port - Yum!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
3.5 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 8 in Yungaburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
8.3 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
3.6 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Property: Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Address: 17 Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages in world heritage rainforest next to Lake Eacham far north Queensland 1 hours drive from Cairns international airport, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing