We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

After many years of caravanning, we have started staying in hotels, motels and B&B's on our holidays. Until now we had not found anywhere that compared to being in our own caravan, however the Bali cottage changed that. It is a truly magic place, so beautifully set up and maintained and in such a wonderful relaxing location. The cottages must be pretty well insulated, because, despite the cold nights, we did not need to light the combustion stove or put the air conditioning on at all during our 3 night stay - the 27 degree days allowed the cottage to warm nicely and stay comfortable through the 10 degree nights, despite the large glass areas.
The cottage was impeccably clean, as were all the cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. Loads of extras were supplied from spa gel to a decanter of port. All amenities including flat screen tv, DVD player and stereo hifi system all in good working order.
Although there is no mobile phone service in the area, there is wifi around reception, and you can get Telstra mobile around Lake Eacham day area.
Couple the great place to stay with the excellent dining available in Yungaburra and the fantastic scenery in the area, you get all the ingredients of a perfect holiday. Thanks Jenny & John for a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I spent a truly relaxing 5 days in the Bali Cottage and had the most fantastic week. The units are very private and secluded and the glass doors and large balcony all face into the rainforest and you get the feeling that you are a long way from nowhere. The units are very comfortable and have everything you need. The birds and wildlife were very friendly and the wild birds will take food out of you hands. We were there in winter and the fireplace was all that was needed to make the cottage very warm and comfortable. The cottages are located close to all of the key attractions with Lake Eacham, Lake Barrine, Tinaroo Dam, Malanda, Yungaburra, Atherton, ect all within a 20 minute drive. The owners (John and Jenny) were very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone wanting to escape the rat race and spend relaxing time in the heart of a spectacular region.

Room Tip: The Bali Cottage is the last unit and there is no person or vehicle traffic near or past this cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron and Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unfortunately we could only book a Friday night as the weekend was fully booked and I can see why. What a beautiful rainforest cottage we had. The attention to detail in the cottage was spot on, the breakfast basket was full of good food and a decanter of port on the table. If you want to see rainforest wildlife then this is the place to stay, Victorian riflebird displaying on the verandah. We will definitely return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I really don't want to tell you how perfect this place was because once you have been to this secluded spot, you will be back so many times I'll have to book months in advance. For two busy parents who just wanted to step out of the craziness of every day life - these cottages were just what we needed. For starters, the cottages are laid out so that privacy is well-maintained and you rarely encounter other guests. The cottage we stayed in was clean and beautifully maintained, and of course, who could forget the wood heater which came in very handy with the cool weather. A highlight of the stay was being able to feed the birds, pademelons and the bush turkeys from the deck of the cottage. The animals came extremely close so I captured some great photos without a lot of effort. I would highly recommend these cottages to people who just need a break from the hustle and bustle. If visiting, remember: pack some yummy supplies (once you're in, you won't want to leave), drive very slowly to allow for all of the wildlife, and lastly, try the Port - Yum!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a truly amazing place. When you stay here you feel like your staying in your own little rainforest getaway. John and Jenny make you feel so welcome its like holidaying with friends. The peace and quite is just perfect and the Cottages are always well presented. This is the perfect place to head and unwind. We will be back again soon to introduce our new Son Flynn. Ray and Deanne

Room Tip: Our favourite cottage is the Pioneer. Every time we stay in this cottage we see a display from one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayzor1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For a really realaxing break these cottages are ideal eached themed differently, I stayed in the Bali themed cottage, which has a self contained kitchen and lounge room with a small combustion wood heater which would be great on cool evenings. The bed is very comfortable and the shower over the spa is a bit easier to use then an overbath shower. There is a nice walk to the lake and Youngunburra is short drive away. I was able to do yoga in the little cabana near the pond and was delighted with the birds and potoaroos grazing on the lawn. It was easy to relax on the vernda with a coffee or wine and watch native marsupials come down to eat off the handrails at night to be replaced by birds during the day. A BBQ on the verandah provides an opportunity for outdoor cooking. This retreat is great for those wanting peace and quiete with native animals and rainforrest outlook. Very helpful and frienly service.

Room Tip: Choose the theme that you like, colonial, Bali and one other, all are private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygirlcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages at the end of Febuary and had a really great time. There were signs on all the roads leading into Lake Eacham, so finding the place was easy. You really do feel like you are the only ones in the rainforest, and the fully equipped kitchen means you don't really need to leave. We had the option of using the airconditioning but found the ceiling fan was all we needed. I imagine it would be different in the middle of winter, but that's when the fireplace will come in handy. Our cottage was clean and tidy. I don't often given five stars to the places I stay, but I honestly can't give less in this case. Thanks John and Jenny for providing a relaxing and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsgo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
3.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
243 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
9.4 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
3.6 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Address: 17 Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: $150 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages in world heritage rainforest next to Lake Eacham far north Queensland 1 hours drive from Cairns international airport, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing