We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it here, lots of wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We loved it here, lots of wildlife”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in the cabin that has the canopy (picture). It was very romantic with a real fire place. There is a heating pad on the bed. We enjoyed the complimentary sherry. The breakfast basket was the best that we had in Australia, we had cookies, bread, butter, bacon, sausages, egg, fresh fruit (apple, orange, grape)!!! So obviously we enjoyed our breakfast at our cottage. We cut up our fruit into a mixed salad and put it out for the birds who are a bit territorial. They loved it! They came to bathe and eat! We also gave some of our bread to a pademelon and a little marsupial rat. It was great fun -- we are city rats :-) We did not get to use the big whirlpool tub which would have been romantic. Kitchen is well stocked and there is a lovely little pond full of frogs and birdlife a stone's throw from the cottage with a covered veranda and there are several gas grills. We really wanted to cook or grill at our cottage however food works down the road only has frozen meat, so you should consider that. Apparently wine can be had at the town pub. We ended up having dinner at Nick's which was recommended to us by a local and very good. Owner - perhaps you might consider stocking the room with wine and a price list and an envelope?! Just a thought, I saw this at another ecolodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay...45 minutes from Cairns and close to several attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gretton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent three days here and wished we'd booked more. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing and very well appointed place to stay where you can view the local animals, birds and plants at close hand this is ideal. We stayed in the beach hut cottage. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay and has its own quirky personality as well. Some fascinating local sites and magnificent scenery are within easy reach. As an added bonus the night skies are really dark. A night trip to the lake gives a magnificent view of the stars. John and Jenny are exactly the sort of friendly and helpful folk you would want as hosts. I don't think you will find better accommodation in the area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Crater Lakes Rainforest Lodge and it was a highlight of our trip. The setting is amazing, surrounded by rainforest and only minutes away from beautiful Lake Eacham and Lake Barrine. The owners went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. The theme cottages are gorgeous (we stayed in the Bali cottage), each tucked away in a patch of rainforest for complete privacy. The wildlife was amazing! Each morning we has breakfast on the balcony and all sorts of birds came really close, one even taking grapes from my hand. Wallabies and musky rat kangaroos were seen daily right outside. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: The Bali cottage is located at the end of the shared drive, so does not get other guests driving pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,331 reviews
389 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,886 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've been a few times but Lynn being a keen birder is very specific that she wants to see the rifle bird display.
Although nothing is guranteed we constantly badger John and Jenny as to the numbers of birds and are they displaying.
On one of our last trips, we were lucky as the male did his ritual on the verandah directly in front of us.
No such luck this time, Lynn had to work hard for the displays - the first day was almost wasted as Lynn did her research as to where the males were during the day.
On the next day, she took her scope and chair into the undergrowth and just sat and waited.....and waited.........and waited.
She did find though that an early start, say 6.30 am gives you more chance of a sighting.
When the male did his mating ritual on the branch of a tree l, it is an absolute joy to watch - he wraps his whole body and wings around the female and it is one of the most amazing sights to behold in the bird world.
But the beauty of the Cottages is that they are so close to so many other attractions - I still love going to Lake Eacham and Yungaburra.
But also, the Bromfeld Swamp is fantastic for any keen birders - each night at say 4.30 - 6.00 pm,hundreds of brolgas fly home to nest for the night.
Watching them glide in to land with such style and grace is an absolute joy.

Room Tip: If you go for a bird watching experience, best to allow an extra night or two as there is no gurante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

These self catering cottages are surrounded by rainforest, close to Lake Eacham and not far from Yungaburra. They are very clean, well maintained, comfortable and charming. There is bedroom and seperate living area with a good workable kitchen with full stove/oven and refrigerator. There is also a bbq on the covered verandah. There is also an immaculately clean small laundry for guest use on the premises. We chose the location as a base for three days of birdwatching trips. A number of the species we were hoping to see were in fact resident in the gardens surrounding the cottages which was wonderful. Close up views of the male riflebird as it tried to steal my partners breakfast were a highlight. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. For example, there is no mobile phone coverage at the cottages so John and Jenny cheerfully allowed us to use their landline to confirm a booking with a guide. We would happily have stayed longer in this magical spot and highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We chanced upon Crater Lakes by accident. We had two spare nights in Cairns and wanted to experience life in a rainforest.

Previous reviews have highlighted the bird and animal life, nearby attractions and friendly hosts, I agree wholeheartedly. Every little detail has been carefully planned and executed. From the welcome breakfast hamper, decanter of port on the table, chocolates, wood-burning stove and spa-bath, it was pure heaven. Although I am sure it must be difficult to maintain a property in rainforest conditions, this was not the case here. The cottage was pristine and well maintained, with very clever use of vintage items, to add to the atmosphere.

Although there are a few cottages, each cottage is situated to maximise privacy, to allow each resident to experience the wonderful life contained in the rainforest.

Only wish we could have stayed longer. It will stand out as one of the highlights of our trip to Australia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaOBrien345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Pioneer cottage..and what a wonderful spot! the four cottages are nestled in the rainforest in teh Crater Lakes Park. Evening barbeques for dinner worked out fine (great steaks from the local butcher in Yungaburra). Amzing bird life...some spectacular spiders (well...by English standards). The first night 'hamper' was a great start for the next morning.

Local interest was teh various strangler fig trees / Hypipimee crater / and platypus watching in the stream in Yungaburra... we were spoiled by a very coopertative little platypus!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.2 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
3.7 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
3.8 mi away
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
#7 of 7 in Yungaburra
20 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Property: Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
Address: 17 Eacham Close | Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages in world heritage rainforest next to Lake Eacham far north Queensland 1 hours drive from Cairns international airport, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing