We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a stop even if you only have 5 minutes to spare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curtain Fig National Park

Curtain Fig National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$151.23*
and up
Rainforest and Waterfall Day Trip from Cairns Including Crater Lakes, Millaa...
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop even if you only have 5 minutes to spare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

You can duck in quickly, take an outstanding photo and run if you have to. Even though the boardwalk is not much over 100 metres you could spend some time there if you wanted to take a longer look at the flora and fauna. We we're short on time and only saw a few different birds but we could hear lots more. Planning to have a more relaxed and longer visit next time, maybe choose a better time for nature's activity. I think a night visit with a torch would also be interesting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    73
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

You have to be there in person to appreciate it. Really cool tree and lots of wildlife around. We saw a tree kangaroo too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneAKAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,328 reviews
512 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,040 helpful votes
“Great photo opportunity to visit as part of a day trip to the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I visited this attraction while I was driving through the area.

It's a short distance from the main highway, so it's easy to get there.

You park quite close to the location of the tree, and you access it by walking a short distance through rainforest.

The tree is remarkably large- well worth stopping and looking. This makes it a good tourist photo opportunity!

This area has much natural beauty, which is accessible by car on a day trip from Cairns. This attraction is one of several worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Absolutely incredible tree! We almost missed this one, as we has been to the Cathedral Fig the day before, and thought they were the same thing! These strangler trees are phenomenal, and visiting them is definitely worthwhile.

It's a shame that there is a sign skewing part of the view, but that's my only complaint :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Small park but big impact - we saw a pied monarch building a nest right over the walkway, and 2 beautiful tree kangaroos. Lots of other birds and then there was the fig tree!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank katiepenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curtain Fig National Park also viewed

Yungaburra, Queensland
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Yungaburra, Queensland
 

Been to Curtain Fig National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing