We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful tree”

Curtain Fig National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.98*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Waterfalls Day Trip from Cairns
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful tree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is the only one I have seen something like this. I think everyone should see it while they visit Cairns. Plus, it is free.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wei M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    74
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magical forest. Stop in here and stretch the legs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a fantastic unexpected treasure for us.
On dark, we had glow-bugs flying around everywhere and yes, the fungi is luminous.
Beautiful tree. If I was showing someone the area I'd stop in and have a thermos of something pleasant and a scone or similar to sit and drink in the forest's atmosphere as dusk fell.
Or perhaps, like we saw some others doing later on, going for a wildlife spotlight tour during the night!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amyshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is a very interesting site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Don't expect a lot when you go here, but the history of this curtain fig is very interesting. The decking around the tree seems to be well kept and nice to walk around. You can walk completely around the curtain fig. It doesn't take long to walk around it and there really isn't any place to sit if you take someone who needs to rest often. It is free and the should account for alot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank texasbella2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing tree and easy to view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Most amazing tree, so easy to access to view using the ramp and walkway. Short walk into the rainforest to see a truly wonderful natural sight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Stop and take a look.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's definitely worth a small diversion to see this incredible tree. It only takes a few minutes! The parking is ample and the boardwalk does a circuit around the tree and is very accessible.
We had the extra thrill of watching a female Riflebird with her 2 babies (just out of the nest) in a tree just beside the boardwalk. Take your binoculars!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fascinatingrhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curtain Fig National Park also viewed

Yungaburra, Queensland
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Atherton, Queensland
 

Been to Curtain Fig National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing