We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The cottages are perfect to explore the Atherton Tablelands from. The cottage was lovely and clean with lots of nice little touches. The light tropical breakfast was great to start the day in the tropics.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Rooms, facilities and gardens are immmaculate with lots of little personal touches. Wish i can post the smell of the piping hot home made bread waiting in our room! Very central location but quiet and restful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstherJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We very much enjoyed our visit to Yungaburra and the accommodation at Allumbah Pocket Cottages did not disappoint. Very clean and tidy with lots of personal touches which made us feel welcome. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nijinsky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed three nights. The added touches to our room were great, and the proprietors were very friendly - good service. An excellent bathroom - a decent size. The gardens were lovely. We will return when we can.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the vehicle noise from the road may affect you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I was recently lucky enough to stay at these cottages for work.

Pros:
well thought out cottage with lounge area, elevated bed area and separate bathroom.
Both living area and bathroom have windows opening out onto gardens for a relaxing view.
There is a wood heater for winter and air conditioner for summer.
Kitchenette has a 2 burner stove, microwave, bar fridge and dishwasher.
Bathroom has a corner spa bath, complete with candle, and an open shower.
The lounge area has 2 comfy lounges and a beautiful little wooden kitchen table.
The nice little extras include a selection of CDs for the sound system, a selection of DVDs for the TV, local ground coffee and plunger, loacl tea leave and teapot. The continental breakfast included muesli, fresh strawberries, a very yummy local yoghurt, bread, local jams, a pitcher of milk and a pitcher of orange juice... just delightful!

Cons:
The only two downsides I can think of are
1) the gravel of the driveway is a bit noisy so cars coming in to park make a bit of noise
2) I did notice some road noise from the nearby road, but it's certainly not a busy road.

Overall I think these cottages are excellent value for money and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_leecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a driving tour of North Queensland. From the name we were not exactly sure what to expect. Be assurred the place is great and the personal touch provided by the owners is superb. The "cottages" are extremely well appointed units with high quality furnishing and fittings. Our bathroom had a huge jaccuzzi bath as well as a full size shower. There is no restaurant on the site but the units have good kitchen facilities and our fridge was well stocked for breakfast with locally sourced produce, fruit and cereal etc - everything we needed. There are several good restaurants nearby including one next door which we used for dinner and this was excellent. There is no pool here but for our stay that was not an issue. The grounds are beautifully kept and the surrounding area has lots to offer. Yunguburra is a really lovely town and well worth a visit - if you are considering a visit to this area we can fighly recommend Allumbah as the place to stay. (Thankyou Melanie for making our stay so enjoyable.)

Room Tip: Breakfast is supplied for "cook your own" and is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed a night at Allumbah Pocket Cottages, B&B. The cottage was spacious and set out tastefully. It was very clean. The ensuite had a spa bath and windows that opened up to a bush setting - very romantic with all the nice candles provded. The king bed was extremely comfortable and we had the best sleep. The continental breakfast included freshly baked bread - that was a real treat!! The owners were incredibly friendly and had great ideas on places we should see in and around Yungabarra. These cottages are a must and there are heaps of things to see and do in the area!!

Room Tip: Private, spacious and extremely comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirgMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0 mi away
Blue Summit Hideaway
Blue Summit Hideaway
#5 of 5 in Yungaburra
15 reviews
0 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge Motel
Kookaburra Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Yungaburra
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Curtain Fig Motel
Curtain Fig Motel
#4 of 5 in Yungaburra
72 reviews
20.9 mi away
Jackaroo Motel
Jackaroo Motel
#1 of 3 in Mareeba
151 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malanda Lodge Motel
Malanda Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Malanda
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allumbah Pocket Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allumbah Pocket Cottages

Address: 24 - 26 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yungaburra
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yungaburra
Price Range: $100 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allumbah Pocket Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation in Yungaburra Home away from home! Six heritage themed Cottages Beautifully outfitted, self-contained cottages ready to home you for the duration of your stay. Our cottages are all fully self-contained and are equipped to ensure that you feel pampered and relaxed. Although there are many surrounding areas waiting to be explored, you will be tempted not to leave the premises! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allumbah Pocket Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allumbah Pocket Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing