We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the Atherton Tableland week”

Lake Barrine Tea House, Restaurant And Cottage Accomodation
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: February & March 2016 Closed Tuesday & Wednesday
Bonbeach
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Highlight of the Atherton Tableland week”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you only have time to visit one place make it the Lake Barrine Teahouse and book the boat cruise if you want to have a memorable experience. Our food was delicious and served by very friendly staff who were happy to fill us up on yummy salads and scones. The guide who took us on the boat cruise was excellent and we learnt so much about the Lake and the area. Being a Field Naturalist he was enthusiastic in his commentary and answered all our questions happily. What a great enviroment... for me it was a perfect day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetBonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    127
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tinaroo, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crater Lake Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Devonshire Teas are a must do, balcony settings overlooking a crater lake with all the beauty a rainforest has to offer and more. I must go back to do the boat tour!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kara-Jane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An afternoon at the Lake”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

After doing a little rediscovering of the Tablelands region & realising places were no longer in operation in other towns, we decided to head for home & call in for a spot of Lunch at the very pleasant Lake Barrine Tea House & Restaurant, only to be confronted by a busier than usual Lunchtime bustle. The popular & very pleasant spot beside the Lake was getting visited aplenty by Families & more. Even though the staff were rushed off their feet by in the influx of visitors on the day, they were keeping their cool, very well, indeed.
Lining up to place an order took about twenty or so minutes, but this had nothing to do with the staff, this was due to the amount of visitors there. Staff informed of the longer than usual wait time & gave the customer the opinion of having a meal or one of their 'famous' devonshire teas. We were happy to wait for a meal & having ordered 'The Lot Burger', were not disappointed.
Even though, with the amount of visitors there, on the day, the atomphere was still one of pleasantness.
On a 'normal' day.....sitting on the balcony overlooking the lake, enjoying one of their famous Devonshire teas with homemade award-winning scones, is a MUST-DO of a Tablands visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyNorthernGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The boat tour which leaves from the tea house is amazing!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited Lake Barrine Tea House on the recommendation of the Cairns tourist information and it didn't disappoint. The Tea House itself directly overlooks the lake and is a great place to relax with a coffee and a cake. The highlight for us was the boat cruise with guided nature tour which is also run from the Tea House. We cruised around the lake for an hour guided by a wonderful gentleman who introduced us to the wildlife of the lake. To our surprise and delight we were introduced to terapins, ducks, a wealth of native birds, eels, a bearded dragon and the most impressive of all ... a python! All from a safe distance I hasten to add! For us, this tour was a real highlight of the trip, I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Lake Barrine and the surrounding areas.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely country teahouse”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I visited the Lake Barrine Teahouse over Easter this year. The restaurant had a great selection of eats and the Devonshire teas are super too. We had bottomless coffee and scones while relaxing on the outdoor patio overlooking the lake. Service was given with a smile. I would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zelia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Barrine Tea House, Restaurant And Cottage Accomodation also viewed

Yungaburra, Queensland
Yungaburra, Queensland
 

Been to Lake Barrine Tea House, Restaurant And Cottage Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing