We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”
Review of Flynn's Restaurant

Flynn's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established 2002. We are a small restaurant serving quality fresh food made from local produce. We cook French /Italian cuisine. Family friendly. Children's meals are available. Fully licensed, we serve quality wines, beers and spirits. Wheelchair accessible.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a surprise to find such a good chef in a little country town. We were hoping for a reasonably good meal - our expectations were well and truly exceeded. All the food was to a high standard and the chef's crème brûlée is just astonishingly good.

1  Thank KenB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi KenB111,

We are delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and also with your thoughtful review of our little place here in beautiful Yungaburra Village.
All our food is cooked with love and we really enjoy making our guests happy.

Warmest regards and many thanks,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 233 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The food is always nice (have eaten here 4 or 5 times over the last few years) as is the atmosphere. The serving staff are always polite and attentive. One of the nicer restaurants in Yungerburra. The only negative is that the chef/owner is sometimes unnecessarily rude/ demanding of his staff, which I found off putting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Sarah M,

Thank you for your positive review of our little restaurant, Flynn's in Yungaburra. We are happy that you enjoy the food and atmosphere that we provide. At times in past, I admit I have been prone to stress and a short temper and this is something that I taken steps to improve upon and with successful results.Kitchen work is highly stressful in a busy kitchen.
I hope that you join us next time you visit Yungaburra and I look forward to cooking for you with a much calmer demeanor in the kitchen.

Warmest wishes and many thanks,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I have never been as disappointed with the reviewers as here. The food was okay not particularly good.

The service was okay too. From what I could see one woman way over worked with no time for anyone.

For a place that has such good reviews I am wondering what is going on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
16  Thank berrnardz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi BernardZ,

Yes, we too are wondering what's going on. With your review, dude! It's scant on details and makes no mention of what you ate here.
BernardZ, we make a point of asking all our guests how their dining experience is and we do not recall ever seeing your face here or hearing your complaints. We remember negative comments because we only get them once in a blue moon.
Unlike your smug review BernardZ, our food is REAL and made from fresh ingredients. We don't use preservatives, MSG, or other artificial flavourings. We make our all of our stocks, sauces, desserts right here. Everyday, I translate 25 years of working knowledge into the production of delicious food which is made with love. Flynn's is independent, one of a kind and proud of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

It's not only that the food was fantastic, the service was extremely friendly and attentive and the ambience was very comfortable. We shared different dishes from the menu and could not fault any of them.
It is heartening to know a chef/owner offers such a pleasant dining experience which is no mean feat with a staff of two.
We look forward to returning and enjoying the live music, as well as the delicious fare.

2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi DavidN,

We are positively thrilled with your considerate review of our little restaurant, Flynn's, in Yungaburra. It's great that thoughtful people like you recognize how much effort we put into providing you with a pleasant dining experience. We really appreciate your positive feedback.

Many thanks and warm regards,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

To start with there is no children's menu, they said they could do a spaghetti, I asked for carbonara and they said yes, my daughter asked for lemonade and was given a homemade lemonade that was disgusting, she ended up asking for a can of lemonade and of course we were charged for both. The pâté came out with a hard crust of olive oil on it, the carbonara came out flavorless and dry with no cream or mushrooms. When I complained he rudely told me go and google it thats how it is cooked in Rome and would not be giving food cost away based on what a child thinks it should be, I actually said most Italian restaurants we have been to have creamy carbonara so they could have told us this was going to be different before paying 18 bucks for dry pasta dish. Will let everyone know of a very bad experience for a 128 dollar bill for 2 adults and 1 child who didn't eat her tea. Disappointing end to a great few days in yungaburra for our daughters birthday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
30  Thank CNSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear CNSJ,

We are very sorry to hear that your experience at Flynn's Restaurant was not to your liking. it seems that everything we are doing here is totally wrong. We are particularly apologetic for serving you the disgusting handmade lemonade, a recipe that my grandmother - who was a confectioner by trade- apparently messed up. We should have just offered you a can of Sprite instead.
We are also extremely regretful for neglecting to change the authentic recipe for carbonara and doing it your way with cream and mushrooms. How thoughtless and selfish we were to assume that you may enjoy an authentic recipe of carbonara tossed with al dente spaghetti ( I believe we were using De Cecco that day ) 10800 km from its original birthplace when we could have just opened a can of creamed mushrooms and served that with your pasta.
The " hard crust " on our handmade Duck Liver & Cognac Pate that you mention is actually a delicate layer of milk and duck fat that we add to preserve our pate. You can optionally use it with the pate when you spread it on a our warm, handmade crusty ciabatta bread or put it aside for a less indulgent experience.

By the way, readers, we invite you to check out our Facebook page, Flynn's Restaurant Yungaburra so that you can judge for yourselves whether or not you should dine here.

But for what it 's worth,we think this lady clearly has no idea about good food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flynn's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flynn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing