We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bushland Cottages & Lodge
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Perfect place to begin our holiday in Far North Queensland. Yungaburra is a great place to base yourself when exploring the tablelands.
We stayed in the birdwing cabin which was very spacious. The cabin has everything to make your stay comfortable from a kitchen and laundry to a fireplace and spa bath. The little extras including washing powder, candles, plunger coffee and chocolates were very much appreciated.
You don't meet the owners/managers as they do not live on site, the contact phone numbers and key is left for you.
We were able to walk down to the creek by following the path through the garden and observe many birds and were lucky enough to see a platypus. The path continues along the creek in both directions and is a lovely peaceful walk, especially first thing in the morning.
There is a Woolworths in Atherton if you need to stock up on supplies during your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busymum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pixelle_Yungaburra, Owner at Bushland Cottages & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

It is lovely to hear such nice comments; we try our utmost to make our guests comfortable, the location and wildlife are a bonus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in the lodge. We were 2 families traveling together, and this place was perfect for us. We came the day of the market and stayed for 2 nights (to short). The lodge has a huge garden with many types of birds and other wildlife. We even saw a tree kangaroo inside the garden.The river, where you can see platypus, is just outside the garden. One early morning we also saw a dingo on the other side of the river.

Yungaburra is also a very nice place with lots of welcoming people. If you are nearby, drop by Nick's restaurant for an excellent meal and good entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Nice self contained cottage with washer/dryer and fireplace. The cottage is a short walk to Peterson Creek where you will hopefully see a platypus or two like we did (better chance in the evening). Probably the most comfortable beds on our month long trip to Australia! Would highly recommend the Birdwing cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clkr5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

very comfy--like a home away from home.loved having breaky on the beautiful balcony
highlights--let me see--The veiw of the forest---The wallabys----The bush walks along the creek---The bush noises---The butterflies---And of course those amazing platypus.
We definately will be back- needless to say it was very very hard to leave

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank special91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Built quite recently and with all the creature comforts, the cottage was a real home away from home. Comfy bed, very clean throughout, lots of little extras like torches and washing powder. Great gas BBQ. And wow a record player and records!

Although we didn't see any platypus in the near-by creek, we had two rare Lumholtz Tree kangaroos right at the verandah at night. Quiet, peaceful, private and picturesque. Perfect for a weekend away at the markets or take a foodies trail. Do lots (bushwalking and exploring Yungaburra township) or nothing!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank My0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yungaburra
0.2 mi away
Eden House Retreat
Eden House Retreat
#2 of 4 in Yungaburra
158 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
0.3 mi away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 5 in Yungaburra
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
2.1 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushland Cottages & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Cottages & Lodge

Address: 3, Penda Street, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range: $153 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushland Cottages & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yungaburra, Atherton Tablelands, North Queensland, Australia - Bushland Cottages and Lodge are situated in 8 acres of forest, bordering Peterson Creek, 100m to the historical village of Yungaburra, and all facilities. Peace, tranquility and privacy. Kingfisher cottage; 1 bedroom up to 4 guests Birdwing cottage 2 bedrooms; up to 6 guests The Lodge 3 bedrooms; up to 10 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Bushland Cottages & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing