We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mel and sue go see them at Matilda caravan Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matilda Country Tourist Park
2 reviews
“Mel and sue go see them at Matilda caravan Park”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

On booking in I was mortified on how dirty the office was. The smell was disgusting. Having said that, if you can get over that, it is a great place to stay. The bush poets Mel and Sue who performs every night were fantastic, well worth staying there just for that. We will be taking memories from there show with us for a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freewilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    24
    17
    39
See reviews for
26
70
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were travelling through from Rockhampton to Alice Springs and have always wanted to stay in Winton. We researched the caravan parks and decided on the Matilda. The cabin we had needed a bit of work to complete but the bed was extremely comfortable. Bore water smells a bit like Rotorua NZ but this is the outback. On the second night we stayed for the meal and the show - the bush poets Mel and Susie. We liked the show that much that we stopped on the way back from Ayers Rock just to get some more of them. Very much down to earth people with down to earth hospitality. Would thoroughly recommend this park to anyone. Matilda Centre is also a must see. Was amazed at the roadkill from Longreach to Winton

Room Tip: Don't ask for room number 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A great park, nice shady sites and great nightly entertainment, The evening meal is great value for money - $20 each or 2 for $30 and that is 3 courses with the soup and dessert changing each night. Mel and Susie are a blast from 7pm - 8.30pm. We went for 4 nights and each night was different. The parks facilities are a bit light. The amentities, although plentiful, are dangerous as the heat of the showers dramatically changes and I was burnt twice.

Room Tip: Powered site 20 is on its own and very shady - a really nice to get if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomads2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Thanks for your hospitality Tammy. We loved our 5 nights here in your cabin. Very clean and comfortable. We loved Winton. Lovely walk into town. We loved the nightly entainment with Mel and Suzie it just added to the experience. Your trip out to The Age of Dinosaur Musuem was great. Thanks again for reccomending Carisbrooke Tour. Thanks again for showing us the outback.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in a cabin but were lucky our youngest slept in a cot as the room slept 5. The cooking facilities were good and it was nice to have a hotplate and grill as well as a microwave. Crockery and cutlery were adequate. The staff were helpful in organising our Lark Quarry tour particularly as we needed two car seats and Tanya was a great tour guide.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have stayed at this park several times in the past. The sites are of a good size, the amenities are clean and nearby. There is usually entertainment on each night and they do provide meals as well.
Good value for money. Can get a bit noisy from the cattle trucks, but apart from that we have no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareville251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and the highlight was the two ladies (Mel and Susie) who entertained us each night.
We stayed in a cabin, which was clean, but rather small and needing to be upgraded. However, given that we are really in the outback, we need to understand that facilities may not be what we expect in the big smoke. Mick and Tammy are great hosts. The only downside to the cabin was there was no where outside to sit and the bbq would not have been used for a long time and needed a good clean.
I met a caravanner who I worked with 20 years ago in Sydney and he told me the facilities for caravanners was quite good.
I have to come back to the evening entertainment. Mel and Susie were great, providing a combination of bush poetry, comedy and song. You would go a long way to find a better 90 minute entertainment. We had a 3 course dinner on one of the two nights costing $20, great value. You sit around with fellow travellers.
Looking at other accommodation around town, this park appeared to be the best by a long way.
Visit the Waltzing Matilda centre, the Dinasuar centre just out of town towards Longreach, the North Gregory Hotel. It is well worth the time to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandybillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winton hotels
0.7 mi away
North Gregory Hotel
North Gregory Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winton
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#4 of 4 in Winton
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outback Motel
Outback Motel
#1 of 4 in Winton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Show Prices

Been to Matilda Country Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matilda Country Tourist Park

Property: Matilda Country Tourist Park
Address: 43 Chirnside St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Winton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing