We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queensland Outback value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matilda Country Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matilda Country Tourist Park
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Queensland Outback value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Quite a large Caravan Park, with Cabin, just as you get into town on the way from Longreach. A good option but you must remember that this is a Queensland Outback Caravan Park. That means the staff are friendly there are meal options (roast dinner available most nights) and even entertainment as well. Reasonably priced, for where it is and the cabins are clean and surprising well appointed. We stayed couple of nights and, apart from the road trains refuelling next door, would do so again.

Room Tip: Ear plugs might help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    22
    14
    32
See reviews for
23
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found this Park very quiet, with good shady sites. There were several amenity blocks and all were clean, and best of all had paper towel and hand detergent at all times! Tammy at reception, was very welcoming on arrival and she was quick to advise of what there was to see in Winton with a book and a surrounding area map. I decided to give hubby a break so we booked for the evening meal. Three courses for $20 and BYO drinks. It was good quality food, and the bonus was the brilliant entertainment by two young ladies busking nightly who are bush poets! One day in Winton is just not enough, we needed three!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandykperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We occupied a Powered site during our three night stay the majority of sites are situated in a shady area, ours was one of those. The amenities were clean and tidy with good showers.

The park also runs tours to various attractions, we too advantage and visited Lark Quarry (Dinosaur Footprints) and found it a very informative trip.

Room Tip: Suggest that you phone ahead as this is a very busy park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twostedys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

When we stayed there the usual hosts were away but Jarrod was looking after the place. Our tour the next day was cancelled unexpectedly. We were really dissappointed but Jarrod spent the whole day trying to get us back on the tour and he succeeded. We were so grateful. He went to huge lengths to help us out. The rooms were basic and ok. The airconditioning got a work out (Jan)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My two boys (ages 10 and 12) and I stayed at the Matilda Country Tourist Park for four (4) nights over the New Year period in a cabin. During this time, the owners Tammy and Mick were on holidays and had two interim managers - Rhondelle and Jarrod. Rhondelle and Jarrod were truly exceptional during our stay. Warm, welcoming and friendly as well as assisting me in organising a self-drive itinerary of the local attractions - nothing was too much trouble.

There is a swimming pool within the park, which my two children and I took advantage of. The pool was well maintained, clean and an offered an escape from the heat. The cabins, although old, were clean, tidy and had the essentials for meal preparations and plenty of bench space. Overall, the park was well-kept and services were provided over the New Year holiday.

I would stay here again, and would recommend Matilda Country Tourist Park to friends and family if they are in Winton.

NOTE: accomodation in remote communities is generally demountable, donga-style, with the basics supplied. If you are expecting 5 star accommodation - stay in the city and do not experience true bush hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We opted to stay for three nights as there are some very good things to see and do in Winton. We have a small well travelled dog that is always on a lead and we pick up after her almost as fast as she drops her "mail". There were no rules specified on arrival and we complied with signs requesting dogs not post "mail" on grass. This was not sufficient for the less than happy manager who commented when we were unable to make the gate before she posted her "mail" on dirt (but was quickly picked up almost before it hit the ground), This comment was hard to fatham due to the goats, sheep, cats and the owners dog that go for walks in the park??? Do as I say not as I do!!. A person (disability pensioner) travelling with us requested that they sign a centrelink rent assistance form and the less than happy manager refused saying "it costs me money - I won't sign". I assume the reason for refusal is lack of knowledge or desire to hide something - who knows. The less than happy managers comment "I wish we never bought this place" sums up his attitude. Winton was a good place to visit but there is no way we will stay in the town again. Great free camp past town toward Longreach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bo1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winton hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed one night which was plenty. No information given regarding the regions attractions or what was available in the 'tourist park' itself. Woman at reception much more interested in organising the hoarde of children that seemed to be everywhere. Accommodation is very very basic in 'self contained cabins' (read demountable donga-style) which is fine if it was cleaner. Electric jug did not work, one element in single griller style stove did not work - hard to cook with fry pan AND saucepan at the same time. Emptying the light covers of a myriad of dead insects would have possibly provided 50% more light, and the bathroom floor has only been quickly mopped over in front of the minuscule wash basin - the dirt was well and truly visible in the lino tiles everywhere else in the small bathroom. Easily removed with a good scrub.
There is apparently animal feeding with bottles of milk - kids & a sheep - though not advertised. It could be interesting from a kids point of view. Some of the owners children were handing around a couple of kittens with their eyes barely open for young visitors to hold.
I would recommend looking around or prebooking somewhere else and use this as a last resort.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uhlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winton hotels
0.7 mi away
North Gregory Hotel
North Gregory Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
0.8 mi away
Outback Motel
Outback Motel
#1 of 5 in Winton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#5 of 5 in Winton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Matilda Country Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matilda Country Tourist Park

Property: Matilda Country Tourist Park
Address: 43 Chirnside St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Winton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing