We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outback Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Winton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Country Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in the heat of summer. The air con was already cranking for me, great touch. The rooms are spacious and well renovated. May not look the flashest on the outside, but inside they are more than comfortable & practical.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MB-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
40
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can't remember much about the accommodation to be honest, but the owner / manager was lovely. A large group of us arrived in old, loud, dirty cars and he was so nice. He offered to do all our laundry (washing and drying). It must have taken him HOURS. He also let us park our filthy cars wherever they would fit.

Go across the road to the pub for the biggest meals you've ever seen. Great value too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samstar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Yes, many of the rooms are located in portable buildings but please don't let this deter you from choosing the Outback as a place to stay in Winton. We were hesitant after noting this in the reviews but we found the rooms to be clean and very well equipped - we were very comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again. As most of the reviews have said, Geoff and Lynn are very friendly, gracious and accommodating hosts - nothing was a bother. I loved seeing the brolgas come to feed in the morning. We see the movie Mystery Road is about to be released - Geoff, we're going to be watching for your appearances!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili_505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My daughter broke her arm recently, at 5pm on a Sunday night, 40km west of Winton. Geoff fit us in at very late notice, the day after the festival finished. The room was SPOTLESS, comfortable, and the air-conditioning and water quality was exceptional. There is Wi-Fi, and when I rang to ask for the password, Geoff came down to check that we were ok! 100% happy. Absolutely. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Probably the most important thing for us when travelling with 40+ heat, is a good functioning Aircon, which this room had, I would have liked a bit of thoughtfulness and it turned on prior to our arrival but it didn't take hours to cool down like some we have experienced. The fridge was on and nice and cold. The room well supplied with Micro, toaster and kettle. Even had fly spray and Airfreshner (when I found it in the cupboard) very needed as no extractor fan and the Artesian water sulphur smell was so strong in this room it was very nauseating at times. Our room (13) was also great for us as we have a very high vehicle and were able to park it outside out room. It was an old room but clean, bed felt hard but turned out to be comfy. 4 pillows supplied- thanks! Bathroom small but funcional and shower plenty of pressure. Room seemed a bit over priced $140 but it was last minute and during a festival, there was no caravan sites anywhere in town, and we had to stay somewhere.
Free Austar was an extra bonus, but some in room written instructions for it and other room amenities would be great, too late to bother the host at midnight, don't know if there was Wi-Fi as we were too busy to notice as we had come to the Outback Festival for the first time
Another nice touch was being able to plug our camper into electricity to keep the batteries charged, Jeff says he is happy for people to do this as he is aware how many people travel with car fridges these days.
The motel is in a good position in town, a small walk along the main street so everything was close by and this was great as when we overheated watching women pull Mack trucks! we could just walk back to our room for a cool down. They do not have a restaurant on site but with several pubs and cafes in town this was not a problem.
They seemed very reluctant to give us extra milk for making a cuppa which seemed a bit mean considering the room cost. I had to go to reception and ask for extra and then only 1 small long life 150 mls given, even though I obviously wanted more, I suppose at least the coffee wasn't International Roast, but neither this nor the milk or biccies were topped up the 2nd day.
All in all would recommend staying here and would do so again ourselves,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlodandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My son and I have just returned from The Outback Festival in Winton. Upon arrival, were to be staying in "Tent City", but as the temperature was over 40 degrees, we needed somewhere comfy to stay: especially with airconditioning. Jeff, the owner/manager was so friendly and helpful, he was able to squeeze us in for a night. From the outside, it is clean but by no means pretty. However, once inside the demountable style unit, we were astonished at how well the room was set up. What a great night's sleep! Jeff was an absolute champion and so hospitable. The location to the Main Street of Winton was really handy and of course all of the festivities for the festival. We even had brolgas which came and visited outside our room in the afternoon! Highly recommend a stay at the Outback Motel: worth every cent. Thanks for looking after us so well Jeff! We'll be back in 2 years time: and of course would only stay at your abode.

Room Tip: If travelling out for the Outback Festival: book in advance! You will want a comfy airconditioned pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had an overnight stay in Winton at the Outback Motel and had the most comfortable king bed I have ever slept on. The accommodation is a collection of demountables and I was a little worried about noise but we were lucky and our "neighbour" was quiet and left really early in the morning. He of course may have had trouble with our snoring! Geoff is a really friendly host and very helpful. The rooms very clean and modern and the shower great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winton hotels
0.2 mi away
North Gregory Hotel
North Gregory Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
0.3 mi away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#5 of 5 in Winton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Motel

Property: Outback Motel
Address: 95 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winton Outback Motel is centrally located in the heart of historic Winton. Home to the wonderful Age of Dinosaurs Museum and stopping off point for the Dinosaur stampede Winton is a must see. The Quantilda Museum part of the Waltzing Matilda Centre is still operating and construction of the new centre is not far away. The motel is close to excellent dining and outback pub experiences. The property offers 20 new and newly refurbished rooms including three upstairs family units. All rooms have private bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Free parking onsite and off-road. Come along and meet your friendly hosts Ray and Jan who love to show you around their home town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing