We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Outback Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outback Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Winton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

No wardrobes to hang clothes, noise is a major concern.

Wifi is promoted, but not accessible in portables!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean and Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
42
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

After spending two weeks at Burketown we found the Outback Motel at Winton and we could not have been treated better. Jeff & Lyn are the most friendly hosts I have ever come across in my travels. The motel is neat and clean, rates are great. I would highly recommend if you are travelling up that way stay at the outback Motel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just stop and ask you will not be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes NSW
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Fairly standard (for western Qld) donga style accommodation. Bed was comfortable, and room was clean and well appointed. However, the shower was a little cramped, and the sulfurous water can take some getting used to.
Owner was very accommodating, and his recommendation of the Tattersall's Hotel for dinner was very accurate. Wireless internet connection was free and no problems encountered.

Room Tip: Reserve a room before you travel. Especially in tourist season, bookings can come in thick and fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheepCocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Winton has the reputation of being “Queensland’s friendliest town” (2009) and I daresay it is well-deserved. Almost everyone we met in town smiled at us, even though we were passing through and staying one night.
The friendly service continued at the Outback Motel, with the owner persuading me to check out one of his 6 newly-built rooms; each with ensuite bathroom and carport. These rooms looked bright and welcoming compared to the older rooms which were available for around $100. $120 later and we were using Room 16's tea-and-coffee-making facilities, munching our complimentary Arnotts.

The motel provides free wi-fi internet, although the only drawback of the newer rooms is that they are not situated near the access spot (Reception). The bed was clean and comfortable, the large screen TV had Austar, the bathroom was spotless and had a remarkably large shower – unlike what you normally find in motels.
The Outback Motel was also a short walk to what looked like the only place to order a cooked meal on a weeknight – the Tattersalls Hotel. Friendly bar staff, relatively quick service (for a country town!) and a pub manager with a penchant for frog-spotting; all made for a good night out.
I would definitely recommend the Outback Motel as a comfortable and convenient place to stay, and Winton a worthwhile town in which to stop.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J7J8J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed at the Outback Motel for two nights. Very clean, comfortable and easy to walk into town or to the Tattersalls hotel for a meal. A pool would have been nice. Good wi-fi connectivity.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

My husband, Mum & I started our "outback adventure" on the "Spirit of the Outback" train from Brisbane to Longreach (fantastic). We put the car on the train also and on arrival in Longreach, unloaded the car & drove to Winton.
We had never been Winton before & were a bit "iffy" about what seemed to be a lack of "nice" accommodation options (we only had the internet to go by), but we needn't have worried. The Outback Motel was a great place to stay, it is very clean, comfortable, in a fantastic location (possibly the best in Winton), and has free internet which was a bonus. The motel is within easy walking distance to the hub of town, a great pub with fantastic meals & atmosphere (Tattersalls) & some of Winton's (town) attractions.
Jeff, the manager was a brilliant host, always accommodating & full of enthusiasm & advice on what to do & see in this beautiful part of the world. He is also in the process of expanding and improving the motel with new accommodation options.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Outback Motel, and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McBear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winton hotels
0.2 mi away
North Gregory Hotel
North Gregory Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
0.3 mi away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#4 of 4 in Winton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Motel

Property: Outback Motel
Address: 95 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winton Outback Motel is centrally located in the heart of historic Winton. Home to the wonderful Age of Dinosaurs Museum and stopping off point for the Dinosaur stampede Winton is a must see. The Quantilda Museum part of the Waltzing Matilda Centre is still operating and construction of the new centre is not far away. The motel is close to excellent dining and outback pub experiences. The property offers 20 new and newly refurbished rooms including three upstairs family units. All rooms have private bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Free parking onsite and off-road. Come along and meet your friendly hosts Ray and Jan who love to show you around their home town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing