We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family spot for camping with very friendly and helpful management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in April 2012, just ahead of Easter.

As the Easter 2012 weekend was threatening to fill up places at Cooktown and The Daintree, the owners kindly rang ahead for us, at their own expense, and confirmed that spaces would be available for us and the campsites there. They even convinced one of the campsites to take a booking for us on trust. That took the pressure off us, and for that we were very grateful.

Generally the Tinaroo setting is delightful, and the location ideal for about 3 nights of running around the Tablelands. Get up in the morning and take in the birdsong down by the lake as the sunrises over the misty lake.
I have some more photos on flickr if you copy this link
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andrewjansen/sets/72157629420060200/

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajvx95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn P, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. As a team we all work together to provide the best hospitlaity we possibly can. We appreciate it is sometimes daunting travelling off into places unknown so if we can make the transition between two places more relaxing then we will do so without hesitation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

OMG - we booked for 5 days in early January 2012 - when we arrived and during the booking stage the staff were very very helpful - we checked into our PET FRIENDLY ACCOMMODATION !!!!! - which yes we were aware that it was a older style accommodation but IT WAS FILTHY AND HORRIBLE - I do as I usually do when we stay in this type of accommodation - wiped down the bung beds (which were covered in vinyl) and they were so dirty I had to do this twice !!!!! - the floor was dirty (no mop supplied had to buy my own so I could just clean the flood) - the wall's windows and glass door was dirty - THANKGOD I took my own cutlery as when I looked in their cutlery drawer it was FILTHY - THEN - the sink leaked - the overhead exhaust fan sounded like it was about to take the roof off the place - this is above the stove (THAT MIND YOU TOOK 20 MIN TO HEAD UP TO COOK ONE PANCAKE) thank god I took a gas burner and a BBQ !!!!! In the main bedroom there was water damage on the ceiling and also broken roofing........the fly screen had holes in it so wasn't real good on keeping the mosquitos out !!!!!.. BUT THEN - after the first day I went up to receiption as I had had just about enough of this disgusting filty place and I informed the girl / manager at the counter - I was very nice and was nearly in tears ..... and yes she listened to me !!!! then the next day someone came down to look at the sink etc and stated THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO BE FIXED UP WHEN WE LEFT !!!!! - No-one for the rest of the holiday even came anywhere near us to see if we were ok with the HORRIBLE place we were staying in - no mention of trying to move us no mention of a refund of any sort !!!!! We had other people staying in another unit at the same time that booked after us and with a dog and go a MUCH BETTER room !!!! We would of stayed longer if they had just taken some time to do something about my concerns .....We couldn't move to another accommodation place as we had our Dog with us.......... On departure I left a feedback form for the management with my details on it HOPING that someone would contact us BUT NO CONTACT AT ALL - i even went on there wedsite and placed my feedback - BUT NO CONTACT -------BUT WE WILL NEVER NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN - WE WILL NEVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE !!!!! -

Why am I writing this 7 months later cause I DO NOT WANT anyone to have to stay in a place like this - the grounds were sooooo rundown and not clean at all - the pool was out of order for the whole 5 DAYS !!! THANK GOD Tinaroo is a beautiful place and we were able to go over to the park each day - BUT NEXT YEAR we have booked into Lake Tinaroo Resort and - for two families in a 3 bedroom luxury appartment we are actually paying LESS than we did at this horrible place........

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Discovery Holiday Parks values all feedback from its guests, both positive and negative and we are disappointed to hear that your previous attempts to inform us of your stay have not been responded to. If you would please send your email address to admin@disvoveryparks.com.au our management would like to send you a formal response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed a week here, it is very clean fairly new toilet block with soap and paper towels, sites are not a bad size we had site 82 near the springs. The time we were there it was school holidays, so a bit crowded. Caravan Park is just across the road from Lake Tinaroo a lovely place to take your chair over and sit on the grass and read or catch fish. The Camping ground has a good size swimming pool and a kids jumping pillow (try not to get a site too close as the kids make a lot of noise, especially on school holidays), it has camp fire pits (bring some wood). The birds are beautiful and lots of them. This camp ground is only 19km from Atherton, no shops at Tinbaroo so come stocked. Very dog friendly though you do have to pay a $50.00 bond which you get back when you leave. New owners are very fiendly and helpful. If you want to get away from big towns, I would recommend.

Room Tip: Check out Atherton's IGA it is great with all local products, coffee, fruit and very well layed...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bak748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

We pride ourselves on our hospitality, housekeeping, groundskeeping and maintaining the ammenities daily to provide a clean, healthy and happy environment for all who wish to partake in the Discovery Holiday Parks Lake Tinaroo Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Beautiful green park with spotless facilities. And it's only 200m to the lake and the boat ramp! We stayed at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park for more than 8 weeks in the last 6 months. In November 2011 with the old management and then with Mark and Kathryn, the new managers. What a difference they and their very friendly staff made! They all go to great lenght to ensure all their guests are happy and well cared for. We loved the pancake breakfast on Tuesday, the sausage sizzle on Saturday and many more activities. For the State of Origin games the management even put up a huge screen and everyone had a awesome time indeed.
And when you don't feel like cooking, there is a great little restaurant within the park. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSwissies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

We, with our team endeavour to work together to create life long memories that can be shared with families, friends and aquaintances' to entice them to a magical world of Flora, Fauna and scenery that is so diverse it is awe inspiring in an Australian landscape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Looking for a great place to stay at Lake Tinaroo then this is the place
The staff are so friendly and helpful.
Accommodation has everything you need very clean & tidy.
Can hire boats to catch the big barra, drop pots for some yabbies. Also plenty of other stuff available
Park is located across the road from the lake and boat ramp.
Will be going back for sure

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipitini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Dear Pipitini,
Thank you for your kind review. We and our team pride ourselves in providing a friendly and accommodating service that will assist in creating life long memories that can be shared and intice others to come and discover the experience of staying with Discovery Holiday Parks Lake Tinaroo . We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.
Kind regards,
Mark & Kathryn Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here in October & had a great time. We stayed 3 nights with our dog and it was awesome and cheap.
The dog friendly units are obviously older but what d you expect when you dog is gonna stay inside it.
It's situated opposite the lake so it's nice to walk there every morning with the dog.
Staff were very helpful and friendly before we arrived and during our stay.
It's very peaceful here and relaxin :)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieMuldoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Did a quick overnight stay at the Discovery Holiday Parks Lake Tinaroo in a Jayco Dove Camper. Brought the dog and really enjoyed the relaxed well kept grounds. The pool was great, toilets clean, and staff more then friendly. Would definately be back thats for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northernmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinaroo
9.2 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands Tourist Park
7.4 mi away
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
#5 of 7 in Yungaburra
74 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
#2 of 6 in Atherton
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tinaroo Lake Resort
Tinaroo Lake Resort
#1 of 2 in Tinaroo
155 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
149 reviews
6.8 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#6 of 6 in Atherton
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park

Address: 4 - 28 Tinaroo Falls Dam Rd, Tinaroo, Queensland 4872, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Tinaroo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tinaroo
Price Range: $61 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk opposite Lake Tinaroo, set on 18 acres of beautiful land, we have a well equipped grocery store, reception, plenty of powered and unpowered sites, accommodation from budget to luxury waterfront villas. Camp kitchen, large BBQ pit for large groups and a cafe / take away, located to the right of Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing