We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great park, amazing fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
Cooktown, Australia
1 review
“great park, amazing fishing”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Beautiful green park with spotless facilities. And it's only 200m to the lake and the boat ramp! We stayed at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park for more than 8 weeks in the last 6 months. In November 2011 with the old management and then with Mark and Kathryn, the new managers. What a difference they and their very friendly staff made! They all go to great lenght to ensure all their guests are happy and well cared for. We loved the pancake breakfast on Tuesday, the sausage sizzle on Saturday and many more activities. For the State of Origin games the management even put up a huge screen and everyone had a awesome time indeed.
And when you don't feel like cooking, there is a great little restaurant within the park. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSwissies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
We, with our team endeavour to work together to create life long memories that can be shared with families, friends and aquaintances' to entice them to a magical world of Flora, Fauna and scenery that is so diverse it is awe inspiring in an Australian landscape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Looking for a great place to stay at Lake Tinaroo then this is the place
The staff are so friendly and helpful.
Accommodation has everything you need very clean & tidy.
Can hire boats to catch the big barra, drop pots for some yabbies. Also plenty of other stuff available
Park is located across the road from the lake and boat ramp.
Will be going back for sure

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipitini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Pipitini,
Thank you for your kind review. We and our team pride ourselves in providing a friendly and accommodating service that will assist in creating life long memories that can be shared and intice others to come and discover the experience of staying with Discovery Holiday Parks Lake Tinaroo . We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.
Kind regards,
Mark & Kathryn Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here in October & had a great time. We stayed 3 nights with our dog and it was awesome and cheap.
The dog friendly units are obviously older but what d you expect when you dog is gonna stay inside it.
It's situated opposite the lake so it's nice to walk there every morning with the dog.
Staff were very helpful and friendly before we arrived and during our stay.
It's very peaceful here and relaxin :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieMuldoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Did a quick overnight stay at the Discovery Holiday Parks Lake Tinaroo in a Jayco Dove Camper. Brought the dog and really enjoyed the relaxed well kept grounds. The pool was great, toilets clean, and staff more then friendly. Would definately be back thats for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Lake Tinaroo campsite was a complete disappointment. We were offered accomodation opposite the bins and the ablutions, which we declined. Our new campsite was not level, pretty annoying in a campervan. The showers and toilets were not clean; the inside of the shower doors were mouldy, the gents urinal hadn't been cleaned since forever and the washbasins were grubby. At night the campsite was unlit. We booked in for a week and left after two nights.‎

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicholasxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at the Discovery Holiday Park for 1 night, and promptly left early the next morning. Without being too long winded, we paid $105 for the night, the accomodation, while being spacious, was filthy, the shower recess had the floor full of cracked / missing tiles and was covered up by a rubber mat. The bedroom had a very strong odour like someone had emptied a can of air freshner in there and then closed it up... the smell would not go away! The pool area did look nice, howeve the pool was not heated.
We ate at the small cafe next to the reception (more a fish & Chip shop). the food was terrible.

We did go hunting for other accomodation before deciding to stay here, and I wish now that we had of stayed at the Lake Tinaroo Resort, it looked beautiful.

I would not recommend this place unless you are in your own caravan, or you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank row_hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinaroo
9.2 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#1 of 12 in Atherton
238 reviews
6.8 mi away
Atherton Holiday Park
Atherton Holiday Park
#6 of 6 in Atherton
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tinaroo Lake Resort
Tinaroo Lake Resort
#1 of 2 in Tinaroo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Lake Tinaroo Terraces
#10 of 12 in Atherton
20 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
#4 of 7 in Yungaburra
71 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park

Property: Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
Address: 4 - 28 Tinaroo Falls Dam Rd, Tinaroo, Queensland 4872, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Tinaroo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tinaroo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk opposite Lake Tinaroo, set on 18 acres of beautiful land, we have a well equipped grocery store, reception, plenty of powered and unpowered sites, accommodation from budget to luxury waterfront villas. Camp kitchen, large BBQ pit for large groups and a cafe / take away, located to the right of Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing