We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Theodore
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Theodore
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Apollo Motel(Biloela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
25
22
2
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
22
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry townlong drivecold beerbottle shopcomfortable beddefinitely stay here againcommunity owneddawsonstopovermotelsleepfeedaccommodationqldbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 54 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous old Queensland style hotel. The staff here are really friendly and the meals are good old traditional pub style, yummy and decent size. Rooms very clean and rates reasonable. Great place to stop after a long drive. Would go here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbnAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thanks AbbnAnt for your kind words and for taking the time to write the review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services and look forward to welcoming you back! Cheers, Trish Cotterell - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I don't get a lot of reviews where they complain the plumbing is old in a 100 year old building. Or that they complain the hotel was noisy. It's a hotel in the country. It's going to be noisy when the footy is on!

Anyway, back to me! ;o)

My 20 yo son and I called the hotel when we were about 2 hours away on the first day of an around Australia motorbike ride. I think it was Trish who took the call and confirmed they had a room.

When we arrived we were met by a very cheerful "Howdy lads, you must be Brendon, sign this and you're all sorted."

Up to our clean and comfortable room (with doors onto the balcony) and then into the huge shared bathroom for a shower - great water pressure, spacious and very clean.

Down for a huge steak ($25) and a bottle of red, into the bar for a few beers, games of 8 ball and a chat with the locals.

A really nice, friendly old pub with cheerful staff, excellent food and cheap drinks. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hey Travel Bugged 2008. It was lovely to meet you both on your recent travels through Theodore and we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review! It is always nice when the hard work of all our team is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back! Cheers Trish Cotterell - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I contacted the Hotel Theodore for a room whilst travelling for work and they offered me (sight unseen) a cabin room. I was a little sceptical, but booked the room as there was not much else within 100km to sleep. First impressions were not sensational, but on entering the cabin, my fears were allayed. These cabins have 2 rooms with a queen bed in one and 2 singles in the other. They have a comfortable bathroom, lounge and kitchen facilities. Each backs onto the river with ample verandas to sit back and relax.

The cabins back onto the Hotel which serves reasonable meals and drinks (naturally). They are reasonably priced at $135 per night.

I have kept their number and will certainly stay here again, should I be passing through.

Room Tip: All (Cabin) rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks ChrisG for your review - feedback is always appreciated! We are very pleased to advise that since your visit we have undertaken some improvements to our facilities so on your next visit you can enjoy new beds, updated furnishings, bigger televisions and new bathrooms in most of our motel units. We look forward to seeing you again!
Trish Cotterell - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Don't be tempted by the price.
Remember it is still a pub that will keep pub hours.
So if you need to get some sleep due to a big day tomorrow, you may as well forget it here.
The staff are OK and the place is clean but I would not recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about our Hotel. We are dismayed that your found our facilities so wanting. We are award that some Hotel rooms may be affected by the noise from the public bar located directly underneath the northern rooms however excepting Friday nights this is not usually a problem. I believe you may have stayed with us during the first State of Origin rugby league match which is one of a handful of nights during the year when the public bar erupts as locals and visitors alike converge to enjoy the game and continue on with celebrations or commiserations. We do apologise for the oversight in placing you in one of the potentially affected rooms and following your feedback, we now advise guests of these rooms of the potential noise levels on certain nights and if possible, offer them an alternative. We hope that you may return to spend a quieter night with us and enjoy the benefits of our recently refurbished rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spent about 4 nights in the river side cabins over Christmas - surprisingly pleasant. Not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination - they seem to be set up for time-on-time-off mine workers. But well appointed, self contained, air conditioned (essential in this part of the world), one double bed & two singles in a separate room, satellite TV, and great verandahs overlooking the Dawson River, which are perfect for drinking a relaxing beer at the end of the day. Restaurant in the pub (which the cabins are attached to) probably won't win any Michelin Stars, but offers well priced typical pub food in a classic pub setting. Cabins might be a tad overpriced, but (as mentioned) they are aimed at well paid mine workers. Most people probable wouldn't voluntarily spend 5 days in Theodore in the middle of Summer, but if you do (and especially if there's more than 2 of you), the Theodore Hotel cabins are a good option.

Room Tip: Further from the main bar, the better.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you Lockmac07 for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the Central Queensland heat except to ensure that the air-conditioners are working and the beer that you can enjoy on your cabin's verandah is cold! We have recently undertaken a whole-of-complex refurbishment so on your next visit you can enjoy new beds, linen, curtains and furniture throughout as well as new bathrooms in most of our motel units. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our lovely town!
Trish Cotterell - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews