We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Christmas in July' in beautiful Diamondvale Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diamondvale Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Stanthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“'Christmas in July' in beautiful Diamondvale Lodge”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My friends and I recently spent three nights in the gorgeous Diamondvale Lodge for our annual 'Christmas in July' get-together. From the first time we enquired about the Lodge with the owners, Tony & Kerrin, right up to the end of our stay we received the best service you could imagine. Coupled with the beauty of the bush surrounding the Lodge our stay was made complete when we first opened the front door to find Tony & Kerrin had placed a small Christmas tree, complete with flashing lights, in the house for us - this was a lovely touch and really appreciated by all of us. We had a wonderful stay at Diamondvale - sitting on the back deck with bubbles in hand, soaking up the beauty of the surrounding bush, the fabulous Heritage Trail walk into town discovering the history of the Granite Belt region, BBQ breakfasts on the deck sitting in the sun, and that fabulous winery tour with Filippos Tours and our very patient driver, Greg, capped off with a scrumption dinner at Shiraz Restaurant in Ballandean. Diamondvale Lodge is a beautiful residence and I am so glad it was recommended to me in the first place. Thank you Tony & Kerrin, I hope to come back again one day.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful - but two have an ensuite each and the other two share a large bedroom. Flip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodandChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilee2, Owner at Diamondvale Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much. At Diamondvale we do strive to provide our guests with the customer service we believe you deserve. We sincerely value your custom and endeavor to provide you with a wonderful product and service to match. It was our pleasure to be able to host your Christmas in July experience and we're glad you liked our tiny tree gesture :) The Filippos Twilight Tour is certainly a hit incorporating winery visits with a dinner at Shiraz ~ we were envious! It's a fabulous product that deserves much praise and we are proud to be able to provide this for our treasured guests. Your kind review is very much appreciated. We do look forward to hosting your return visit to the region. Thanks again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
171
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed in the Diamondvale Lodge with some family visiting from the UK in June. We had a wonderful stay. When we arrived Tony had already lit the fire so we walked in to a very warm welcome. The lodge is fantastic, it has everything you could wish for kitchen wise and the bedrooms are beautifully decorated. The area is so quiet and peaceful but it is only a short walk to town. Tony and Kerrin were lovely and Kerrin even showed us around their land in search of kangaroos.
I would recommend the diamondvale lodge to groups of friends wanting a relaxing break away in a bit of luxury. I hope to come back again someday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilee2, Owner at Diamondvale Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
What a wonderful experience it was for us to be able to host your stay. We love to see international visitors soaking up our gorgeous region and our hospitality. Diamondvale Lodge really has it all when you are visiting with friends and you want to spoil them. It's great to hear that you all had a wonderful weekend holiday - let's hope you can do it all again sometime. Best wishes to you all and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently my wife and I had a mid week break at Forget-Me-Not cottage, a well appointed cottage set in bushland on the outskirts of Stanthorpe. Our hosts, Tony and Kerrin were very welcoming and provided plenty of local information about restaurants, wineries and places to see. The cottage was very comfortable with everything catered for and the log fire was lit each afternoon. Having a hot breakfast delivered to your door each morning was a great start to the day. The package included the Fillipos Wine tour which was fantastic. Our tour guide/driver Tony provided interesting and comprehensive knowledge about the region. We would highly recommend the platter after the wine tour and the Shiraz on arrival was great. We have no hesitation in recommending Diamondvale and would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie64Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilee2, Owner at Diamondvale Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
The MidWeek Indulgence Package is exactly as it suggests - totally indulgent. We're pleased to hear that you loved being treated to all of the value extras that this package provides for our guests. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your cottage and appreciated all of the little touches. Thank you for your recommendation of our country cottages. We do hope you return again to enjoy our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wow,Diamondvale Lodge is pure luxury. It is so beautifully appointed. Set amongst the trees and beside the creek this chalet style lodge is pure heaven. The mid week package with Filippos Tours to the wineries ( great driver Greg) has been terrific for our 25 th wedding anniversary. We would recommend Diamondvale to everyone. Thanks for the wonderful holiday Tony and Kerrin.
We will be back. Suzie and Phill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilee2, Owner at Diamondvale Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to be able to upgrade you to the Lodge for your special occasion. We get a real thrill from being able to offer guests the opportunity to have a surprise experience in the Lodge if we can. It's good to know that you loved it as much as we do. The Lodge is certainly not only a very special building, but in a remarkable setting in the Granite Belt. I guess it's just what you think of when you imagine a luxury country getaway - in the bush, by a creek, nestled between the Granite boulders, with a fireplace...oh, let's not forget that gorgeous lounge :) - yet, it's walking distance to town! We're very lucky aren't we? Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the moment you drive into Diamondvale Cottages you feel relaxed. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you need. The fire was ready when we arrived and there was nothing left to do other than relax and explore everything Stanthorpe has to offer. We went with 2 small kids and were worried that there wouldn't be enough for them to do but in between roasting marshmallows, feeding the animals on the property, going for bush walks and just relaxing by the fire with a DVD they didn't want to come home! We'll be back in apple picking season next time!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NobleCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilee2, Owner at Diamondvale Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We love to hear from our visiting families that they had so much to do they will return again! It can be challenging to mix the holiday requirements of parents and their children but you guys did it - well done! You are so right though - there is so much to do, not just on the property but in the surrounding region. Summer is the time to pick fruit fresh from the trees and to loll in the creek after a hard day wine tasting for mum and dad while the kids play bocce or badminton. Let's do it all again soon! Thank you so much for your kind words. Best wishes to you all. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have just spent a weekend with friends at Diamondvale Lodge, a beautiful and well appointed house just on the outskirts of Stanthorpe. Our hosts, Tony and Kerrin had thought of everything and were very helpful with local information which made our stay very memorable. The accommodation was warm, welcoming and very comfortable. A log fire, already lit, made for a great start, and breakfast delivered in the morning saw us on our way to a wine tour which occupied most of the day. The accommodation was clean and well appointed, with many small details, such as bathroom necessities provided. Beds were comfortable and warm and there was plenty of room for everyone. I thoroughly recommend Diamondvale.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawrycath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilee2, Owner at Diamondvale Cottages, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
What a great weekend it was for all of us! Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having the opportunity to host your special getaway in Diamondvale's Lodge. It's always reassuring to know that everybody was warm and comfortable and that the Lodge was equipped with everything you required during your stay. Tony is very good at assisting guests with their travel plans and I am pleased to hear that everybody was happy with the itinerary for the weekend. It was lovely to run in to you all at the "Snowflakes in Stanthorpe" experience on the Creek, before you headed homeward. Thank you again, we sincerely look forward to hosting your return visit to the region. Best wishes to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We wanted to return to Diamondvale B & B cottages before we had even stayed there one night! And by the time we'd completed our short break we had forgotten the outside world and were plotting future visits - family holidays, relaxing breaks, writing retreats. Camelia Cottage was home for our stay and we fell in love with it. We were amazed at how all of the creature comforts were arranged and worked so well in a cosy space. The secret to the success of Diamondvale B & B Cottages is that it offers a home away from home and a holiday. With good company and a roaring fire, we wanted for nothing. But we added in cooked breakfasts and Granite Belt wines. We also enjoyed draught Guinness and home cooked meals at O'Mara's pub, in nearby Stanthorpe.
Tony and Kerrin make you feel like old friends and have thought of everything and more. Amy, aged 10, was thrilled when Kerrin took her to feed the horses and loved learning all about them. "It was the best," she said.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. Let Kerrin and Tony know what you need they will match you to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachjourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilee2, Owner at Diamondvale Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear that you felt like this was a "home away from home" for you all and that you wanted for nothing. That's just what we hope our guests feel from the moment they arrive 'till their return home. We're glad Amy enjoyed feeding the horses. There is a wonderful feeling you get when watching horses and children together. We know the horses loved their time with Amy also. We would relish the opportunity to spoil you all again sometime. Best wishes to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
2.6 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
3.1 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
#1 of 10 in Stanthorpe
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grovely House
Grovely House
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
61 reviews
6.6 mi away
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
2.5 mi away
Honeysuckle Cottages
Honeysuckle Cottages
#5 of 8 in Stanthorpe
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamondvale Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamondvale Cottages

Property: Diamondvale Cottages
Address: 26 Diamondvale Rd, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamondvale Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located - 30 acres of unique Granite bush-land, your self-contained cottage offers you luxury in a tranquil setting by the creek. Log fires for winter, private balconies for summer, 3 minutes drive to town, and award winning restaurants - guests' privacy, tranquility and comfort assured. Guests are welcome to order from our breakfast menu if they would like, spoil yourself! Unique "Bark Hut" BBQ area complete with massive open fireplace. Walk the picturesque "Heritage Trail" to town along the creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Diamondvale Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing