We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
1 review
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was very cold, yet Murray gardens couldn't have been more accommodating. Upon entering our cottage, the fire was lit with more wood left out our front door.

Also outside was a brazier which was lit the first night. Despite the cold, it was great to sit outside around the fire and chat, then amble into our cottage to sit around our fire.

All beds had electric blankets with individual settings for each side of the double bed. As I am always cold and my husband is always hot, these dual settings were great.

The water in the shower was always hot and plentiful.

The cottage was serviced every day, with beds made, bathroom cleaned, fire cleaned and re-set, wood refurbished.

I couldn't fault the service which having travelled extensively is up there with the best of the best.

If there was room for improvement perhaps I would be pushed into saying that the furniture is tired and needs updating (especially the bed). However Murray Gardens does not pretend to be a 4 or 5 star hotel, but rather a motel with cottages. With Murray Gardens, you get what you pay for and more.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodbadstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi guys,

Thank you so much for both your kind words and especially for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we completely agree with you with some of the furniture being a little tired. We have been purchasing about one new lounge every fortnight lately and have many more items on the list. With time and money it is definitely the plan to update as much and as fast as we can. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
27
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. This was a cheap motel the pictures on the net are not really representative of the actual place. We were lead to believe there was a fire place.. There was not in our room.

It was a $100 a night hotel at best. Not the 200+ we paid a night. What was really comical in the end was the condensation in the room. There was a little gas heater in the room that really did nothing. In the middle of the night the condensation was so bad it started to rain in the room... It was so bad you had to laugh.

When I told the people at reception when I handed in the key the response was "yeah it is problem".

If you can book this place for the right place then it is ok clean and tidy but don't be fooled by the pictures... And take a rain coat for the condensation.

David

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi David,
Thank you for taking the time to both enter the feedback as well as to speak with me today. I regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us but I'm glad we could clear up a few things with you. I was confused when you said you were in a motel, when we had you in a two bedroom cottage sleeping 6 people, as well as the fact that Cottage 12 which you stayed in has many photos on our website in our gallery and is even marked as such.

Unfortunately, we are not clever mind readers and cannot guess which guests prefer wood heating or gas and therefore state on the internet that we offer both. As you did not make a request either way and we did not have any cottages with wood heating left as an option, we allocated the gas heating to you. What was mostly a shame, was that you could not advise us that you were cold until this feedback. We certainly could have made your stay with us a lot more comfortable had we known. Although, we have never had another guest make us aware of being cold in this cottage, we will however, be sure to speak with both our current guests in there and any future ones and changing the heating may well be something we have to consider if need be. One thing I did forget to ask you was if you checked that all of the windows were closed. I know this sounds silly but we used to have a lot of guests leave windows open in our motels and complain that there room was not warming up only to find the windows wide open. We have actually had to put a reminder on the remotes and have not since had a problem. Often when your room is serviced, staff will open the windows to ventilate the rooms while the days are nice.

The condensation you mentioned is something we notice often but usually on the windows only and only when cooking. However, the amount which you have described could have only happened due to the heating being left on all night which you confirmed for me, had happened until it cut off. As we spoke about these heaters are meant for instant heat, not 24/7 and have a safety feature of cutting off if the oxygen level becomes too low. We, therefore strongly recommend that these do not be left on while sleeping. I hope we have managed to clear up a few of these issues and once again, thank you for bringing them to our attention and we will closely monitor them. Have a great day.
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed two nights with another couple in a self contained 2 bedroom unit that was comfortable and had all we needed for a great weekend. Owners were informative about he local area, friendly and exceptionally accommodating. The wood fire was lit and the cottage was warm and welcoming upon our arrival. Tours were arranged with ease and efficiency from reception desk which is guarded dutifully by a most friendly German Shepherd who is keen to greet all dog loving visitors. We are already planning our next trip to Stanthorpe and will definitely consider staying at Murray Gardens again.

Room Tip: Motel caters for families however couples can request the cottages with two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Kim,

Thank you so much for taking the time to enter up your feedback. We all know how precious time is and especially too for your kind words. It was a pleasure having the four of you and look forward to seeing you hopefully one day again soon.

Kind Regards,
Tammy

p.s. And Kobi loved the love too. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a little bit of trouble with booking via the website but a quick call to the owners meant everything was all sorted out and we got exactly what we were after. So don't be afraid to ask, nothing is too hard for the owners.

The hotel is just on what I would call the outskirts of Stanthorpe and there is a "majorish" road that goes past, but you would never know it at all with the lack of road noise. We found that the hotel was an extremely handy base from which to explore the area.

We knew that it was pet friendly but it was a nice surprise to get a little treat for our dog, this little touch really made us feel like we had come to the right place.

We booked a hotel room and I must say it was the biggest hotel room I think I have seen in a long time, with a bathroom, queen bed, lounge, kitchenette and even room for a table and chairs, all with plenty of room to move. On top of that the room was clean and tidy and made up every day. A real treat to come home to find the room all cosy at the end of a big day out.

There was a tiny little problem with a power cord, but an email to the owner saw a quick reply with an explanation and solution. Again nothing is too hard for these owners.

We will definitely be coming back to spend more time here and look forward to booking here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madam_Muck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much guys for your really kind words and for taking the time to write this feedback. We really appreciate it and look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight in a 2 bedroom unit and really enjoyed it. The units have a lovely cabin feel and are lovingly decorated. The self-contained units have everything you could need for a home away from home feel. As we stayed in May the weather was cold (well, at least to us) and the beds were comfy and had electric blankets for a great nights sleep. The units also had a fireplace which we really needed but my husband had trouble keeping it going (though not necessarily the fault of the fireplace). The property has a nice country feel and is on the edge of town. The owners were lovely to deal with and the unit was exceptionally clean. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a family book the 2 bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi guys,

Thank you for your kind words and we certainly are happy that what we had to offer suited you. We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent accommodation, very reasonable, very clean and wheelchair accessible. Great to have our pet stay with us. Very friendly staff, lots to do. Stanthorpe has lots of offer - wine tasting, apple and strawberry picking - loved it! We definitely plan to return and will refer to other friends and family. Wanted to stay longer but we will be back!

Room Tip: Explain your situation to staff and they will choose one that will suit you. We needed wheelchair ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Russell,

Thank you so much for your kind words and especially for taking the time to respond on here. We look forward to having you come back and see us again. Take care,

Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The place was spotless and very clean. However, found couple of spiders and 2 or 3 small insects in the room. This is due to the remote location of the motel. The hotel staff are very friendly.

There is a Swimming Pool, Darts and Table Tennis. Absolutely loved playing table tennis. The communal kitchen was very dirty and was unusable. Again, this is due the guest leaving the area dirty. Also, the BBQ area could be cleaned up a bit. The removal of the greasy old stove/bbq from the area would help the area to be more attractive to BBQ.

Room Tip: Very clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josh7912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyStanthorpe, Owner at Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi Josh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your feedback. We try to check all of the public areas on a daily basis and we normally don't find them in too bad of a condition. Sometimes the bbq can be left a bit greasy though, I agree and we do clean this when we find it so. It would have been great if you could have let us know at the time that the kitchen was not left in a satisfactory state and we could have arranged to clean it there and then so you could further enjoyed your visit with us.

As far as those pesky critters go, the summer is always a challenge. I'm sure those daddy long legs are packing their bags just watching us while we vacuum up their relatives, and then move on in within a few hours. Again, we do try to control this as much as we can but even opening the front door of an evening for a short while will no doubt see some insects fly in. Sometimes its tricky to be in a bush setting without any of its natural additives. Please be sure to let us know next time you stay with us if you have some unwelcome visitors and we will be sure to declare chemical warfare on them. Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
4.3 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diamondvale B&B Cottages
Diamondvale B&B Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Granite Gardens Cottages & Lake Retreat
0.9 mi away
Apple & Grape Motel
Apple & Grape Motel
#6 of 8 in Stanthorpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Street Motor Inn
High Street Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in Stanthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages

Property: Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Address: 10 Pancor Road, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing