We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effective country motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apple & Grape Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If your staying in Stanthorep it is becasue you have too - wedding, funeral, business etc. This motel is clean with good sleep quality and walking distance to the centre of town.

Highlight - the Arnotts anzac biccies were realy nice & fresh.

Room Tip: There are rooms at ground level and on the first floor. But I would say they are all the same except...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Apple & Grape Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 112 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very comfortable rooms with modern clean decor. The temporary managment staff were very helpful and considerate. Will certainly use this motel again when I revisit the Stanthorpe area to take in yet more of the Winerys and other places in the area. Filippo's tours are great value, collecting ad returning us to the Motel..A great (slightly extended) 3 night visit. Many thanks Helen, Hubby and Margaret.

Room Tip: We were lucky to use room number 20 which slept 4 persons and had disabled facilities. Although near...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevlen, Owner at Apple & Grape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi John
We appreciate your taking the time to share your wonderful comments about our team and our motel. We are proud of what we have achieved so far with our renovation and refurbishment program and that you enjoyed the results.
We are pleased you chose to stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Helen, Steve and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The motel is located well within walking distance of the town, and a lovely park nearby to wander. As it happens, received the same room as the previous reviewer. The room was clean, furnishings acceptable, spacious, natural light in the bathroom which I like, and remembering that you are in a small country town, the accommodation was to a very good standard and excellent value. The motel wasn't busy that night, however if it was full there maybe a feeling being on top of each other. All in all, we had a restful night, not hearing any type of noise, and would definitely stay again when we next come through that area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dazify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevlen, Owner at Apple & Grape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Dazify
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased that the location was convenient and that you were happy with the standard of accommodation at the Apple & Grape Motel.
We are pleased you chose to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Helen & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our room was OK without being anything special. We didn't get any little extras we were expecting for the price. Just a basic motel room.The decore was clean but dated. Bedside tables were really close to the bed and I was always worried about turning and hitting my head on a sharp corner. The dark exposed brick made the room very dark. Light fittings on the wall above the bed made it difficult to sit up in bed and read. Room was a generous size with a table and chairs and an extra lounge chair to relax in.

Room Tip: It is a two storey Motel so people in the ground floor units always run the risk of noise from above...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary-DebbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevlen, Owner at Apple & Grape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi GDWanderers
We thank you for your feedback and apologise that you were disappointed with your stay. We appreciate the positive comments on the size of the room and the furniture we provide. We are currently undertaking a renovation program and acknowledge that we still have a lot to do but we are pleased with what we have achieved so far. We strive to ensure each guests' stay is a memorable one and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.'
Kind regards
Helen & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have traveled to Stanthorpe a lot over the past 5 years and tried many different places to stay. Stanthorpe is the main town central to Granite Belt's awakening wine industry. Once the captive of a few traditional Italian families with brutal dry reds to match - the last 15 years or so has seen many new people, variatels, an exciting new wine college and offerings come into the market. What lets the wine attraction down is a poor selection of decent dining and an even narrow selection of accommodation. The Apple & Grape is no exception to the latter. It is a old maybe late 1960 or early 1970s building and although clean, it is just tired and dated. The worst part is outside each room is a small table and chairs where smokers gather to fume and natter into the night and then hack up a lung at daybreak. It's bad enough that you can hear the stream of urine from the room next door but to allow or confine smokers to gather outside the only opening window into the room is just not acceptable in this day and age. Stanthorpe accommodation is relatively expensive and the better B & Bs have tickets on themselves. The town screams for an investor to bring a better product to the place at realistic prices. We won't ever stay at the A&G again - even if there was nowhere else. We just would by-pass Stanthorpe altogether.

Room Tip: Somewhere else!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevlen, Owner at Apple & Grape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Ian S. We thank you for your feed-back and apologise that you were disappointed with your stay.
The Apple & Grape Motel first opened for business in 1981. We acknowledge that the décor is tired and dated in some of the rooms. However we have commenced a major renovation program since purchasing the motel 2 years ago. We have new rooms and refurbished rooms and our work will be ongoing to until we have completed all of the rooms. Your room was not a new or refurbished room but we are working on it.
Construction of this motel is a concrete slab between floors and the frame & dividing walls between units are cavity brick. This would be the most sound-proof type of building for a motel and eliminatesnoise from adjacent rooms.
There are several first-class restaurants in Stanthorpe and we would have only been too happy to advise you of them if we had been asked. Some of our guests travel many hours to stay with us and dine in award winning eateries in Stanthorpe.
Thank you for your feedback, we will continue the work we are currently undertaking to improve our motel and ensure a memorable stay for our guests.
Kind regards
Helen & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked a family room for 1 night on the way to our holiday destination in Jan 2013 due to the motel being centrally located, about 100 metres from the creek & great walking paths, shops & playgrounds.

About an 8-9 hour drive from home, we arrived earlier than expected (about 12:30pm) and were hoping to freshen up before exploring the area due to the temperature being 35 deg. So when we asked if the room would be available we were told to come back in an hour without being asked our name, just no.

We went out to the strawberry farm & when we returned much later, there was a sign at reception to go around the back if un-attended only to find a sign stating it was private - no entry. Once we found someone, check-in was quick.

We were given room 9, on the street end of the 2nd storey & as you will see by the photos, not one of the renovated rooms. The room was very clean, the beds comfortable & good size flat screen TV.

However, we were disappointed with the little things like the bathroom tap leaking (a constant run), very noisy air conditioner if set above a low setting, no plates or cutlery (but they included a toaster) & a stale smell of smoke, which for a non-smoking family room was most disappointing. It was noticeable when you entered the room after the air con had been on, but wasn't as obvious after being in the room for a while.

We checked out just after 9am only to find reception was closed again, so we just put the key in the box & left.

Room Tip: Room #9 is a family room with a queen bed & 2 singles. It's on the top floor so if you have...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouDrewG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevlen, Owner at Apple & Grape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi LouDrewG. Thank you for your feedback and our apologies for not exceeding your expectations.
I apologise that your room was not ready when you arrived early. We are only too happy to adjust our housekeeping so that a room can be ready early if we are notified.
We have addressed the plumbing issue in the vanity and understand that this can be annoying when it happens. There is insufficient room in the cupboard for extra plates etc. but we are only too happy to provide plates & cutlery for our guests when asked and we often are.
Reception opens at 8:00am and if we are not in attendance and we are working out in the motel there is ‘Key-Drop’ box provided outside reception for the convenience of guests. Guests don’t need to ‘find’ us and they can leave their key in the box and head off to start their day.
We take pride in everything we do at our motel and we thank you for you feedback.
Kind regards
Helen & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night recently, and the accommodation was fine for what we needed. The Motel is centrally located, and handy for restaurants. When we checked in I asked about a nice place to eat for dinner and unfortunately reception told me they were just helping out and didn't know the area very well, so weren't able to give any recommendations. We were also given a bottle of milk as we checked in, which I think would have been much nicer to have already been in the fridge in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
0.9 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Granite Court Motel
Granite Court Motel
#8 of 8 in Stanthorpe
23 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boulevard Motel
The Boulevard Motel
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vines Motel
The Vines Motel
#5 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple & Grape Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple & Grape Motel

Address: 63 Maryland St, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Price Range: $102 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple & Grape Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple & Grape Motel offers quiet, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation right in the heart of Stanthorpe town. Our motel rooms are very quiet, with all accommodation set back from the main street of Stanthorpe, ensuring a comfortable and peaceful sleep.By staying in Stanthorpe you can experience the variety that the Stanthorpe region, the Granite Belt and the Southern Downs has to offer. Follow your taste buds and sample local wines, preserves, jams, olives and chocolates, while visiting our many wineries, national parks, lavender and berry farms, and try the delicious fruits and vegetables at the fruit stalls and orchards. With some of the larger wineries hosting weekend events throughout the year such as Opera in the Vineyard, The Long Lunch, Jazz in the Vineyard and The Granite Belt Blues there is plenty for you to see and do for an entire weekend - or longer! - in Stanthorpe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apple & Grape Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing