We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apple & Grape Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend with our friends in Stanthorpe and stayed at the Apple and Grape. We hadn't booked anything and just liked the look of the place when we drove into town. We found out on check-in that some rooms have already been upgraded, others are still in the process. My partner and I stayed in one of the 'old' rooms and our friends in a renovated one. We liked our room, it was spacious and clean and I personally loved tea and biscuits provided. Sure it was older style furniture but very well looked after! I also had a good night's sleep which is always hard away from home. Our friends were over the moon about their room. We had a sneaky look and the room was beautifully decorated. The owners were so lovely and told us about some great walks and helped us with booking a fantastic wine tour and we finished our trip with a great dinner in town.
Definitely one we would recommend and go back to one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've spent a fair bit of time in Stanthorpe for work of late - if you haven't yet visited, you really should, it's a beautiful country town with a bountiful offering of locally grown food and wine! For my weekly visits, I was looking for comfortable, modern accommodation that would fit within the work budget.

The Apple and Grape Motel was just the ticket. The rooms are clean, functional and comfortable, and - very importantly in winter - have reverse cycle airconditioners and electric blankets! In some of the rooms, the bathrooms are not new, but they were always clean, which for me is the most important thing. There are some refurbished rooms with brand new bathrooms, so you may wish to ask for one of those.

Travelling for business, I appreciated the complimentary WIFI (which you don't always get, even in some 5-star hotels).

Arriving at night, after several hours of driving, it was the little touches that really won me over. Helen went to my room each week to turn on the heating before I arrived to ensure the room was toasty warm, and left me fresh milk and a chocolate.

The motel is located on the main street of town and is easy walking distance from the shops, pubs and restaurants. It's also just one block removed from a very pretty park, with a pathway running along a creek filled with waterbirds, which I enjoyed walking along in the mornings and evenings.

I will stay here again when I'm next in town for work and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefoodie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were very impressed with the Apple and Grape Motel. The new owners have made great improvements and renovations since our last visit 12 months ago. It's clean and the beds are very comfortable. We also love the fact that it's so central to the shops and the most beautiful walk along the creek bed. There are lots to do in Stanthorpe and the Granite Belt district and the owners are only too happy to pass this information on. We will be returning to the Apple and Grape Motel on our next visit.

We noted that they now have a disabled room which has been beautifully furnished and very spacious.

Room Tip: All rooms get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stanthorpe accommodation is pretty expensive, so this was one of the cheaper options. Still, I expect a bit more for $99 per night. I think $50 ~$60 might have been reasonable.

The rooms are extremely dated (think yellow and brown decor and dark brown brick rooms) and some of the cupboards are falling apart. On the plus side it seemed clean and it was warm.

The twin rooms were booked and we stayed in the family room, which was quite large. Definitely suitable for a family. I just think the price point is not quite right.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoko k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Main Street, but quiet enough considering.
Room was small and a little stuffy, this may have been because it was cold and we had to have aircon on to warm the room.
Close to information centre and in main street so close to restaurants, shopping etc.
Friendly reception.

Room Tip: 2 storey building, ground floor is great, reverse car boot direct to door to unpack and pack car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Only a few minutes walk from heart of town/lovely walks along the creek up to the look-out, lovely and warm rooms thanks to air con, TV with great reception, quiet/no loud trucks during night... All good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2funtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a lovely motel. Very comfortable and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful managers. Quite location but within easy walking distance to shops, pubs and restaurants. Great place to base yourself for your Granite Belt get away. Very affordable and family friendly.

Room Tip: If staying in winter ask for a car park under cover
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
0.9 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
3.3 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Granite Court Motel
Granite Court Motel
#8 of 8 in Stanthorpe
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boulevard Motel
The Boulevard Motel
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vines Motel
The Vines Motel
#5 of 8 in Stanthorpe
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple & Grape Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple & Grape Motel

Address: 63 Maryland St, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Price Range: $96 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple & Grape Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple & Grape Motel offers quiet, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation right in the heart of Stanthorpe town. Our motel rooms are very quiet, with all accommodation set back from the main street of Stanthorpe, ensuring a comfortable and peaceful sleep.By staying in Stanthorpe you can experience the variety that the Stanthorpe region, the Granite Belt and the Southern Downs has to offer. Follow your taste buds and sample local wines, preserves, jams, olives and chocolates, while visiting our many wineries, national parks, lavender and berry farms, and try the delicious fruits and vegetables at the fruit stalls and orchards. With some of the larger wineries hosting weekend events throughout the year such as Opera in the Vineyard, The Long Lunch, Jazz in the Vineyard and The Granite Belt Blues there is plenty for you to see and do for an entire weekend - or longer! - in Stanthorpe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apple & Grape Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing