We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational accommodation, food and service for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Street Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sensational accommodation, food and service for a good price”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed in a twin room and both beds were extremely comfortable. Checking in was lovely with both staff very friendly and hospitable. Lovely outdoor area with seating in a little garden to enjoy the sun or night sky instead of being confided to your room.
We ate at the steakhouse which absolutely was the best steak I have eaten in a long time and the service was wonderful.
Staff surprised my mum with a lovely little dessert and sparkler for her birthday which was super nice.
Highly recommend this property. Whilst listed as a 3 star motel I feel the pride in the service and cleanliness has in some ways outdone higher star accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texred110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    57
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
48
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Labrador, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Our first trip to the Granite belt and we didn't want to spend too much on accommodation in the 2 nights we were there and the majority of reviews of the High Street Motor Inn indicated that this was a clean, friendly motel and value for money with a good steak house restaurant. Our experience matched that description. We were met with a smile and got heaps of local information. We booked the steakhouse restaurant for dinner and were so impressed we also ate there on the second night. The lady on bar was helpful in choosing a local wine and friendly as was our waitress. The food was good and the 'all you can eat' buffet that came with our steak and seafood meals had a good selection of vegetables, salad and dessert. Our room was a basic, clean 3 star motel room, but we had booked a queen size bed that was very comfortable and there were a few little touches not always got in a 3 star motel which was a mini bar, biscuits to go with the tea/coffee in our room, and shampoo, conditioner, and shower cap in the bathroom. There was both fan and airconditioner which could also be used to heat the room. We had researched prices and the price for this motel was the best in town so all in all for anyone who will be out and about most of the day (which you will be) this is a good, cheap, friendly, basic motel with a great option for dinner. We didn't try the breakfast but it was available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I found the Motor Inn on line and rang my booking in. The guy who took the booking was very helpful and friendly. We got offered an upgrade room because we wanted airconditioning, which I think should be mandatory in all accommodation anyway these days, so thought that a little strange. Book in time was any time after midday, it suited us in the end as we did our sight seeing and then booked in. The room was clean and had all the essential items. The bathroom was very big and clean, only thing was the toilet was very low down..very odd..and the toilet paper holder was even lower down about 12" off the floor and about an arms length from the toilet..I have arthritis in my back and I found this annoying but we weren't going to live there permanently so dealt with that. We did notice there was a whole wing of rooms marked for smoking which I thought was odd as well...these days I would have thought smoking in the rooms was a no no...and there was a large table and chairs set up outside our room where a lot of people sat chatting loudly when we got home from the restaurant...they didn't last long so that was ok but I guess that would be an issue to be dealt with as it would make for a sleepless night if they kept on going. The thing I would say that I would complain about was the bed...it was so uncomfortable we woke up with bad backs, it was too hard. A motel MUST have an A1 bed if nothing else. I dont smoke and I am alergic to cigarette smoke and I can smell it anywhere, and although we had a non-smoking room, I think it had been used by smokers in the past as I could just get the wiff of cigarette odour which at first annoyed my nose but I settled once the aircon was on. We did go to the restaurant and it was fantastic. The food was excellent, the serving was excellent, the variety was excellent and although the price was a little on the expensive side the meals were worth it and we got a deal of the room and 3 course meal and breakfast for 2 for only $195...that is fantastic value. Overall the Motor Inn was a great place to stay for a weekend for the price.

Room Tip: I would definitely to for a room WITH AIRCONDITIONING AND NO SMOKING, preferably either in the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelajBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Manager at High Street Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi Pamela,
Thank-you for your comments. We really do appreciate knowing what our customers really think, so we can rectify the situation where possible for future customers. In regards to the air-conditioning. We have one room that only has heating and not an air-conditioner. Depending on the weather, we do organise a transfer to another Queen room or in your case a complimentary upgrade to a larger room with air-conditioning.

All of our rooms have different layouts and yours does have a toilet roll in a very low position. Thank-you for bringing this to our attention & we will rectify this situation.

In regards to smoking. We have 2 buildings which we are currently renovating the exterior. At the time of your stay, all the non smoking stickers had been removed from the doors on one of the buildings so they could be painted. This may explain the confusion of a smoking and non-smoking wing. Our rooms are all non-smoking and we have just put up signs requesting no smoking within 4 metres of all of the unit doors. This hopefully will also assist in stopping any cigarette smoke smells getting into rooms. We have also moved the table & chairs you mentioned into the garden area to ensure there are no noise or smoking issues in that area anymore. We still have an undercover entertainment area near reception & smoking is allowed in the courtyard area.
In regards to your bed, this is one of he first times we have been told of any issues with the comfort of our beds. Most of our guests comment on a good nights sleep and we will definately investigate the situation and make sure there are no quality issues.

We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards,
Shannon & Shaun Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The owner and staff are super friendly and polite. Our room had a table and chairs out front where people started smoking at 7am on Sunday morning and talking at top of their lungs. Many different people smoked at this table all day for two days. The room was so dusty too. Also we booked for a queen room and got a double bed. Left a day early......

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilharper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Manager at High Street Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Hi Neil, Thank-you for taking the time to advise us of these issues during your stay. We were unaware of any of this until reading your review now. If we had of known during your stay, we could have organised a complimentary upgrade to another part of the hotel away from these particular guests.

As you would be aware we have smokers and non smokers stay with us. We do provide 5 different common areas so guests can relax outside. We understand the issues you raised and will be organising 3 of these to be changed to non smoking common areas with signage and all ashtrays removed. There will still be the large garden area (approx 10 m away from the doors of rooms) for guests to smoke.

In regards to your dusty room, this is very unusual. We do pride ourselves on having very clean amenities. This will be raised with housekeeping team.

Also I see you thought your bed was a double bed. We personally double checked the bed in your room and found it to be 153cm x 203cm which is a normal Queen Size mattress. Double mattress' are 16cm shorter and narrower.

We strive to offer great value with our accommodation. As you can agree, when you originally booked for 3 nights, your 3rd night was only $25 instead of the normal $105 per night, a great package we have on offer at the moment. We also ensured no cancellation fees were charged when you shortened your stay due to your flight changes.

We thank-you again for taking the time to review our property and will ensure these issues are improved for our future guests (hopefully including yourself.)
Warm Regards,
Shannon & Shaun
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Overall quite good value for money. 1 adult & 3 children stayed for 2 nights. Found the rooms to be a good size for a larger family and facilities were clean & tidy. Only thing missing from rooms was an iron - this would have come in handy.
Had diner at the Steak House - very lovely meal and kids were well catered for at a resonable price. Will stay again sometime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Manager at High Street Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank-you for your review. We hope you had a great time with the kids swimming carnival. We do have irons available from reception and phones are provided in the room so guests can call reception rather than walk up. We try to get this information out to our guests through the compendium and also about the phones at check-in. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Booking over the phone was quick and the gentleman at the other end was very helpful. Stayed just for a night and reached late in the evening. The young lady at the reception made us very welcome and it was a pleasure to be greeted so warmly. The rooms are very good for the price. Didn;t try the steakhouse but it the ambience seemed to be excellent. On the day of leaving the receptionist was very friendly with a big smile. Also a gentleman at the foyer was very helpful in providing directions. Would recommend and will stay there if visiting Stanthorpe again. Found Stanthorpe a very friendly town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunvenkatesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Manager at High Street Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank-you for your warm comments. Yes you got to meet Bernie our milk man in the foyer. We also find Stanthorpe a very friendly town, everyone always seems willing to lend a hand. Look forward to seeing you both on your return. Thanks, Shannon (Receptionist) & Shaun (Helpful gentleman)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend (2 nights) to visit the wineries and booked a queen room. As others have mentioned previously, this is a typical motel with rooms opening directly onto the parking lot so we had our car conveniently parked right in front of our room. The room had standard facilities and was clean. As it was Winter, we were supplied with an electric blanket too. Sunday buffet breakfast (additional cost) was nice: they serve delightful lemon myrtle and macadamia yoghurt that leaves you wanting for more. All in all, good value and exactly what we were after.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Manager at High Street Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Great to hear your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to review our motel. We find the Gourmet Yoghurt to be very popular. Next time, try the Coffee & Walnut, it is dangerous & produced on the Darling Downs too. We have also ensured all rooms have electric blankets, much nicer during winter. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
1.9 mi away
Granite Court Motel
Granite Court Motel
#8 of 8 in Stanthorpe
22 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apple & Grape Motel
Apple & Grape Motel
#6 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Vines Motel
The Vines Motel
#5 of 8 in Stanthorpe
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Motor Inn

Property: High Street Motor Inn
Address: 1 High Street, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Street Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break away from it all! Wake up to the sound of birds, breathe fresh country air and enjoy touring local wineries, nearby national parks or playing a game of golf while kangaroos hop past! High Street Motor Inn is ideally located at the entrance to Central Stanthorpe, opposite the showgrounds and adjacent to the Golf Course. Our motel has 20 comfortable units including double, queen, twin and family units. Located within the property is the Aussie Beef Steakhouse - the perfect way to rediscover the Granite Belt . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your High Street Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing