We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting weekend”
Review of 31 The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
31 The Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wine tasting weekend”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Quiet and peaceful,set among the trees. The villas are separated which provides privacy. The villa was modern,simple,functional and had everything that you needed, but lacked atmosphere and warmth. It was a practical place for our wine tasting weekend but I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic weekend.
We stayed two nights and enjoyed a barbie on the deck which was really nice.

Room Tip: Only saw 2 villas and both were pleasant with an outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
56
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Villa was very modern and exceptionally clean. It is a welcome change to what is on offer from most places in the region. The best customer service I have had at any accommodation, anywhere in the world from owner's Phil and Beryl. They have thought of everything you could possibly need during your stay, plus don't hesitate to go the extra mile if needed. We were going to Kefi night at Kominos Winery and Phil drove a group of us to the event! Amazing service! Beds were warm and reverse cycle aircon kept us warm when were were up. Breakfast is included which is a standard continental of cereal, toast OJ and spreads etc. Overall, it is great value for money.

Would not hesitate to stay again, don't bother with the rest, just choose 31 The Rocks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great modern and functional cabin layout. Very suited to cool climate with a easy to use woodfire. A pleasant outlook with quiet surroundings and yet only 1.5kms to centre of town. Owners, Phil and Beryl, were lovely.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was very private yet very accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A quick escape for 3 nights. what a great experience. The Villa was equipped with everything that we needed for our stay, clean comfortable, great bed and pillows, also a wonderful Shower.
The surroundings are calm and restful. We booked the wine tour that was offered and we both had an exceptional day. Many thanks to our Hosts Phil and Beryl and yes you will most certainly see us again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 1 and we were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the lovely, private, two-bedroom Villa 5. The fire made the room cosy, the furniture was tasteful and comfortable and the hosts were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was sufficient, although our apples provided were not fresh.
The surroundings of the accommodation are beautiful. We were visited by three kookaburras, which we were able to hand-feed. We also saw two Pretty-Faced Wallabies.
The location of the property is good too, not far from town but we felt like we really were staying "in the bush". Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Stanthorpe is a perfect mini-break destination, with plenty to do and lovely, country friendliness and warmth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful weekend away, did not want to leave.Beautiful surroundings, Beautiful location and wonderful hosts !
We had cheese and wine upon arrival , and surprise a bottle of bubbly and some choccies the next day.

We had taken ample food and thoroughly enjoyed all Stanthorpe had to offer, fresh food , wonderful wine and right on our doorsteps we will return.

The accommodation was superior and more comfortable than your normal hotel room, had everything plus more ,and a delightful wood fire that we did not use as the bedding was lush duvets and blankets .

Thank once again for a superb three nights away , will recommend Villa 5

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The villa we were given was modern including a kitchen, big bathroom, lounge and queen size bed. The villa has everything you would need such as microwave, dvd player, utensils, hot plates, stereo, bbq, basic breakfast items, etc.
We really liked our stay. Phil and Beryl were very friendly and gave us recommendations on what to do around town.
We ate out at 'Pattys on McGregor' and it was delicious!

Room Tip: Any villa would be fine. Number 1 would be the closest to a quiet road, so no big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanthorpe hotels
2.5 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
3.0 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
#1 of 10 in Stanthorpe
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Honeysuckle Cottages
Honeysuckle Cottages
#5 of 8 in Stanthorpe
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 31 The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 31 The Rocks

Property: 31 The Rocks
Address: 31 Brunckhorst Ave, Stanthorpe, Queensland 4380, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Stanthorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Stanthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 31 The Rocks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly appointed studio villa, set apart for privacy and in its own unique setting. Ideal for couples on a romantic getaway or just a relaxing break from your hectic routine. Perfectly positioned to enjoy the views from the spacious veranda or from the large windows. Sit back and relax in a warm, cosy and stylish apartment. Enjoy the warmth from the wood fire or turn on the reverse cycle air conditioning unit for instant comfort. Set in ten acres of bushland, nestled into the side of a steep hill only minutes from Stanthorpe and all the Granite Belt attractions. Dine in with a glass of local wine, order take-away or eat out at one of the local restaurants or clubs. Order the cheese or antipasto platter as a perfect compliment to your day. Celebrating a special occasion? Look for our package that includes champagne and chocolates. Five villas suitable for couples and families in private settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your 31 The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing