We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this area”
Review of The Granite Belt

The Granite Belt
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Stanthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helensvale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this area”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lots to see and do especially if you like wine tasting! Fruit in season in abundance. Lots of walking trails in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 237Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    52
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Relaxing escape for 2 couples”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently returned from a 2-night stay in the Granite Belt with anoteher adult couple (brother and sister-in-law). It was a welcome, child-free escape for a few days, and as usual the Granite Belt doesn't fail to please!

Accommodation was blissful - a little place called Fergie's Cottage at the Granite Ridge winery. Dining options have really picked up in the past few years, with a few very nice restaurants now operating for a special meal, as well as the usual family-friendly and casual dining options.

It's wonderful to see so many of the small, independently owned boutique wineries and cellar doors still doing well, and a few new ones opening up as well.

Food producers are also doing well - if you're not interesting in wine tasting at any of the 40+ celar doors, there are apples, berries, olives, chocolates, and plenty more local providers to visit.

Giraween National Park is still a lovely place for a morning or afternoon walk, enjoying the natural suroundings, massive granite boulders and local wildlife.

Although it's been over a year since our last visit, this region is still the perfect little getaway destination for something other than a beach holiday. And if you're at all interested in wine, well, it's just the perfect destination!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-May-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tried cuttin them slack - no use.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived and all was going well. We booked into the Spa Cabin. The water was brown but we thought we would have that fixed the next morning. The next morning I was in the shower, brown water and all and the electricity to all cabins was cut off due to highway maintenance. I had to pack my bags and do my hair in the main lodge bathroom. The food was average "Pub Grub: at best and the prices were way to high for pub food. To compensate us they gave us a $40 credit and a six pack of beer. (You have got to be kidding when we paid over $100 for one dinner that the average pub in Ipswich, QLD could have done better! The owner comes from an IT background and has not idea what customer service is all about. I rather pitch a tent next time. Save your money - try somewhere else. So sad it was.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Relax”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very friendly place, people very helpful, we liked it all. Restaurant and cafés were we eat we're very good, and in particular Poppy's restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A FOODIES DELIGHT”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of city life, a weekend away in the Granite Belt could well just be what the doctor ordered. A weekend spent visiting each cellar door, cheese factory, berry farm, specialty food producer and niche boutique eatery will send you back home itching to come back to this area for more. I haven't even begun to mention the splendid scenery, peace and quiet that you only get in a rural environment, there isn't enough time or space here to go into that side of the Granite Belt. You just have to come and experience it all for yourself. A visit to the local information centre will be well spent so you don't waste a moment !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhondda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granite Belt also viewed

Stanthorpe, Queensland
The Summit, Stanthorpe
 
Stanthorpe, Queensland
Stanthorpe, Queensland
 

Been to The Granite Belt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing