We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winery Tour - Philipos”
Review of The Granite Belt

The Granite Belt
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Stanthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Robina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winery Tour - Philipos”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A wonderful experience to visit the wineries in the comfort of a bus with likeminded people. Wonderful

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    52
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sondre Land Municipality, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Oz”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

As I lived on the Gold Coast and out at Toowoomba, I often visited the Granite Belt, because of Girraween National Park and the uniqueness of the granite boulders. I don't drink wine so the wineries ar of no interest. But Stanthorpe is also a horticultural centre and they grow a lot of fruit, which is cheap and good value to buy. I am not much of a town person, so I have only been into Stanthorpe itself just to buy things quickly. There is so much more to see in the surrounding area. But there is a very good bakery at the entrance to Woolworths if you are into pies and rolls, etc, and happen to be vegetarian like me. There are many back roads out to Girraween National Park and even a dirt road that takes you to Mt Lindsay Road. This is a great drive down to Legume. But the road after to Woodenbong is a nightmare. When will the government do something about it! Girraween National Park and the Granite Belt has a definite mystique and atmosphere. Well worth visiting, and as I live overseas now and no longer in Australia, I have seen many fantastic locations and parks, but even though I still love the essence of the Granite Belt. It is quite unique.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Felt Stanthorpe itself needs a tidy up it is tired, of course nothing was open as it was holidays but the wineries that were were great

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The wine, wine wine”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great day out with a winery tour. All all the wineries were very hospitable even if we did not purchase. Symphony Wineries is a must, but great for value is Rumblara

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Granite Belt has loads of attractions that are family friendly. There are walks and parks, wineries and eating places, a terrific museum and so much fresh food like stone fruit and vegetables grown right there. Everyone is welcomed with a smile no matter where you go and the sleepy village atmosphere is just right for unwinding from the stresses of city living. Top this off with four wonderful seasons and you have the coolest place in Queensland!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank maryrofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granite Belt also viewed

Stanthorpe, Queensland
The Summit, Stanthorpe
 
Stanthorpe, Queensland
Stanthorpe, Queensland
 

Been to The Granite Belt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing