We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandytown River Cruises Review”

Sandytown River Cruises
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in St George
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Saint George, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sandytown River Cruises Review”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have been on this cruise twice now and have enjoyed it both times. Our absolutely loved it. Very relaxing. Kids loved all the birds, kangaroos, turtles and the bats. Will definately go again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N Karin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Sandytown River Cruises, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Thank you very much! The vessel is wheelchair accessible. There is much to see on the beautiful Balonne river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morayfield Qld
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well Worth Doing”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Read about this cruise on Trip Advisor and had to go on it too especially after local friends confirmed that it was well worth doing. Very relaxing and enjoyable watching birds, bats, kangaroos and the big houses along the bank. The locals were having great fun with their boats and water sports. You can take your own food and drinks. Well run and we look forward to another trip during the year.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Sandytown River Cruises, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Thank you! The beautiful Balonne river has created its very own Bio-sphere. The longer you are on it the more you see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must do in St George”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is a reasonably new business and as such it has some minor issues to work out. For example there is not a lot of structure around the bookings. We were booked on for a three o'clock cruise and were on the boat when more and more and more people kept boarding. It was clear that there were way too many people. We overheard that there was another cruise at five and as that's the time we originally wanted to go, we jumped off and told our captain that we would return.
We were really glad we did as it was twilight when we set off and it was just lovely to watch the sun set and see the river by moonlight.
It's a basic tour with BYO snacks and drinks. Take a plate for your biscuits and cheese and a plastic wine glass....lovely.
If we were to every visit St George again, we would absolutely go on this cruist again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sandyqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Sandytown River Cruises, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Thank you! The beautiful Balonne river. Part of Australia's arterial system. An eco system unto its self!?...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandytown River Cruises also viewed

St George, Queensland
St George, Queensland
 

Been to Sandytown River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing