We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms and good restaurant”
Review of Merino Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merino Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 St George B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Motel is centrally located in this pleasant country town. Motel carpark was full of roadworkers having their evening beers which could have intimidated other customers. My room was near the rear of the property, away from the highway, and I didn't experience any problems with noise.
Room had plenty of space, and bathroom was clean, with a generous shower (no fiddly glass doors and a good sized sprinkler head). Fittings in the room were starting to show some wear and tear and bed was approaching the end of its life, but linen and towels were fresh and clean. A minor complaint would be the TV, being an older style CRT unit, a digital tuner was attached and it took a bit of working out to get a signal and change channels.
Restaurant offers a pretty good modern Australian menu, and while not cheap, was pretty good value. (mains $25-30)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheepCocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 68 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having been let down at the Riverlands next door I managed to get 2 rooms at the Merino where the receptionist and the owner were more than helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate me and my 3 guys making sure as extra rooms became free they asked us immediately so eventually we were all in the same place. Food in the restaurant is good and reasonably priced which explains why it is busy :)

Rooms are modern comfortable and very clean. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: All the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice hotel, clean rooms. Went back to reception to pay our room bill as we were heading off early in the morning and were told we had been put into one of the smaller rooms and did we want to be moved to a larger room for couples. Decided to stay where we were and was given a cheaper price. Happy with that. Nice little town went for a walk before dinner and had a beer in a pub that overlooked the river. Decided to get take away, Googled chinese restaurants and there was one in town, dialed the number and ordered, 20 minutes later we were enjoying our chinese meal in our room. Left bright and early the next morning heading for home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Merino Motor Inn was a lovely surprise. After our motel experience in Chinchilla, we were a bit apprehensive about our next accommodation booking. We really enjoyed our overnight stay. Our room was at the back of the complex away from the main road. It was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was modern. We ate at the motel's restaurant which had table service and a lot of menu choice and wines to choose. The food and wine were great. The owners were very welcoming and mingled and chatted with us during dinner. We could have had breakfast too, but decided to just have tea and toast. A toaster was in the room. Only thing lacking was a hairdryer in the bathroom - but a minor detail. Overall, our stay was great and we would highly recommend the motel to other visitors to St George.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just got back from our short trip to st george and was excellant .Our room was very clean and comfortable .The owners had just got back from thier short break away the night before we left and came around and introduced themselfs to whoever was around at the time very very friendy couple made us feel like we was at home !! Had a few drinks in the resturant and they where only to happy to mingle and chat was a really nice change to some of the other places we have stayed at .Will most def stay here when we next visit st george again .Keep up the great hospitality was really nice .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgm5624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As a regular visitor to St George I have found the Merino Motor Inn a comfortable and friendly place to stay. The owners are very accommodating and nothing seems too much trouble. The restaurant offers great wines and good food, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and location is close to the gorgeous river walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelleyB690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not only was Merino Motor Inn welcoming, but the rooms were very clean, the beds were really comfortable and the owners went that extra mile to ensure my husband & I enjoyed our stay.
The restaurant choices give any high end Brisbane eatery a run for their money. All meals were served in a reasonable time frame, and the barstaff offered a great knowledge of wines & many a story to give us a pleasurable evening.
Having stayed at many motels on our trip, I would not hesitate in recommending & staying at the Merino Motor Inn again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is a good option if you want to get on the road early. Staff provide in room, good qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatheirneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St George hotels
0.2 mi away
Balonne River Motor Inn
Balonne River Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in St George
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverland Motor Inn
Riverland Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in St George
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacaranda Country Motel
Jacaranda Country Motel
#1 of 6 in St George
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Pelican Rest Tourist Park
Pelican Rest Tourist Park
#1 of 3 in St George
117 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Merino Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merino Motor Inn

Address: 78 Victoria St, St George, Queensland 4487, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > St George
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St George
Price Range: $98 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merino Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Merino Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing