We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service & extremely welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merino Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merino Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 St George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service & extremely welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not only was Merino Motor Inn welcoming, but the rooms were very clean, the beds were really comfortable and the owners went that extra mile to ensure my husband & I enjoyed our stay.
The restaurant choices give any high end Brisbane eatery a run for their money. All meals were served in a reasonable time frame, and the barstaff offered a great knowledge of wines & many a story to give us a pleasurable evening.
Having stayed at many motels on our trip, I would not hesitate in recommending & staying at the Merino Motor Inn again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is a good option if you want to get on the road early. Staff provide in room, good qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatheirneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
28
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed over Easter with the family. Very comfortable, clean rooms, food was amazing. Hosts were very accommodating and happy to chat and advise on surrounding activities/sights. Stayed here once in 2011, new hosts have certainly improved the Motel. Would recommend and happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Transformer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Would've appreciated being told upon booking no resturAnt service as chef away in India. Particularly because everything else was closed due to it being Good Friday. Room average pool foul. And receptionist was the rudest I've ever come across. Didn't even greet us just "name" and then slid a key to me. As I waited for directions to room she glared at me like I was an idiot and told "you're good". Never again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Girlsnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Clean and comfortable room. New owners very hospitable and enjoyed chatting with them over our wonderful meal - and a few drinks - in their restaurant. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Merino to anyone viting St George

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

New management as of oct 2011. Very comfortable Place great friendly service. Good menu in the licensed restaurant and great food.
Would stay here again any time

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flymbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Hadn't stayed at the Merino for many years. Visited recently and the new owners were extremely helpful. Rooms are clean and partly updated. Would recommend to anyone travelling through town. The motel also has a restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tannaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St George hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverland Motor Inn
Riverland Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in St George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacaranda Country Motel
Jacaranda Country Motel
#1 of 6 in St George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balonne River Motor Inn
Balonne River Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in St George
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pelican Rest Tourist Park
Pelican Rest Tourist Park
#1 of 3 in St George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Merino Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merino Motor Inn

Property: Merino Motor Inn
Address: 78 Victoria St, St George, Queensland 4487, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > St George
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merino Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Merino Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing