We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Sarina Sugar Shed

Sarina Sugar Shed
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Sarina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the Tour - Taste the Action! There is no greater story in Australia’s history than that of Australia’s sugar cane industry. This story is ideally showcased, for visitors of all ages, at the Sarina Sugar Shed where you can "take the tour and taste the action." Sarina Sugar Shed, an award winning tourist facility, is a miniature sugar mill and distillery. Open all year round, visitors of any age can enjoy a fully personalised guided tour of the entire facility and see firsthand how sugar is grown, processed, milled and distilled in the unique miniature mill. The tour takes you on a 'touchy-feely-tasty' journey of three generations of farming sugar cane. Take a tour to experience the tasting of the products produced at the Sugar Shed. Lime and Mango gourmet sauces, liqueurs and schnapps. Smooth flavours of chocolate, rum, local Bowen mangoes tantalise taste buds and have you wanting more. The big attraction for all ages the creation of fairy floss. We love it, you’ll love it! Open Monday to Saturday from 9.00 am to 4.00 pm. Tours 9.30am 11.00am 12.30pm and 2.00pm. Closed Public Holidays.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

all good we will back it had lots of history on the region and morning tea it was good to see a working mill .

Thank marie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenysM723, Manager at Sarina Sugar Shed, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi Marie,
Thank you very much for posting a review of your visit. We're glad you enjoyed hearing the stories from our region and of course the delicious morning tea! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"informative tour"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 7 reviews
"small scale"
in 2 reviews
"cane fields"
in 3 reviews
"well informed"
in 2 reviews
"fairy floss"
in 9 reviews
"brewed on site"
in 2 reviews
"whole process"
in 2 reviews
"processes involved"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"taste testing"
in 3 reviews
"ginger beer"
in 2 reviews
"sweet chilli sauce"
in 2 reviews
"miniature"
in 9 reviews
"harvesting"
in 5 reviews
"machinery"
in 6 reviews
"processing"
in 4 reviews
Filter

86 - 90 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did the tour of the facility. Very informative and well done by volunteers. An excellent insight into the sugar industry.

Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenysM723, Manager at Sarina Sugar Shed, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi Noel and Maxine,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on our Taste the Action tour. Our volunteers have spent a good part of their working lives working in the sugar industry and are our greatest assets. Visitors leave with a really good understanding of the sugar industry. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Was very interesting was disappointed we didn't get to see the machines in action. Also was thought we would get to taste more products. We were also on a tight budget so $44 for two of us was a fair bit. If I hadn't been on a budget I maybe would give more stars! Very friendly people and knowledgable !

Thank Pennylaneaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarinaMansfield, Manager at Sarina Sugar Shed, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Sorry to dissappoint you we have 8 alcohol products to taste on tour if you wish. 12 sauces and relishes and our ginger beer. We realise some peoples budget is tight but we do try to give value with the guided tour and information we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Gives good insight into the sugar industry and was educational and fun. Tour kept our 7 and 3 year olds interested, particularly the demonstrations of how sugar comes from sugar cane, although they enjoyed the candy/fairy floss at the end the most. They promote a number of products that they produce there and in the local region - tasters available at the end of the tour. They're currently making their first batch of rum too which should be ready soon! Good luck guys.

Thank DrJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarinaMansfield, Manager at Sarina Sugar Shed, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Thanks for the feedback we love the young ones visiting the Sugar Shed is so educational for them hope they top their class on Sugar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have to be honest.. I thought this would be dodgy as I paid my $20 a ticket.. However, I was very pleasantly surprised.. Our guide was an experienced old gent, who had 40-plus years first hand knowledge of the sugar cane industry. Seeing the old machininery and learning about the sugar-making process was great.. I learnt so much here and loved the chance to drink freshly pressed sugar cane juice. The tastings after were good and the knowledge gained was really interesting.. As we left all stocked up with locally made nibbles, it made me appreciate so much more the sugar cane fields as I drove to Townsville. Definitely worth the visit.

1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarinaMansfield, Manager at Sarina Sugar Shed, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Excellent feedback we really do appreciate it and I know Phil the tour guide will as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarina Sugar Shed also viewed

 

Been to Sarina Sugar Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing