We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great feed an.d good sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Overlander Homestead Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Caboolture, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great feed an.d good sleep”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went to Roma for the Roma Gold Cup races and having left it very late to look for accommodation the Overlander was the only place available. How lucky we were to land there as not only was our room quiet and comfortable, but a visit to the restaurant also proved a winner.
Would certainly return to the Overlander for our next visit to Roma.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
22
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I spend 50% of my work away from work, i.e. on the road and stay in hotels,motels, mine camps etc. I LOVE this motel, been here all week. The beds are amazingly comfortable, the towels are white soft and fluffy, the rooms come with kettle, toaster, stocked mini bar, tea, coffee etc, big tv, nice leather relaxer chairs. the only complaint i have is the water - the town water as it smells sulphar-y and that is not the motels problem.
One of the big attractions in this motel is the restaurant, they put on a smashing dinner, their steaks are fabulous, really really good. Charles the owner is running a great motel here, so much so that when i return in two weeks, i have asked our travel admin to book it again for me. ample parking, rooms at the back are the quietest, laundry on site, awesome motel.

PS i am very particular about beds and getting a good nights rest, have had great rest and sleep every night here, its the bed! the beds are awesome!

Room Tip: rooms at the back, e.g. 26, 29 etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently had the delightful experience of dining at the Overlander restaurant after receiving dreadful service at a venue across the road. We were welcomed with a warm friendly smile, prompt and helpful service, good food, family entertainment from the owners, and a really pleasant dining experience.

Thank you to the wonderful team at the Overlander Homestead.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesWeymanJones, General Manager at Overlander Homestead Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you,you are very kind in your review. We try our hardest to provide great and courteous service all the time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

After driving through Roma today a storm developed and I decided it was getting to dark and dangerous to continue my journey to Brisbane and turned back to Roma and pulled into this wonderfully inviting motel. I was meets in reception by a father and daughter team who were open and generous and extremely helpful.
Then my son and I walked around to their restaurant and found a very inviting atmosphere. We were invited to the bar by pleasant staff and welcomed to use their musical instruments. The manageress encouraged me to sing and we soon got to know the whole family.
I will return to this motel when ever I need to stay in Roma.
Beautifully appointed and well maintained.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank westaylormusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip from UK and after reading some reviews I had just a little cause for concern. I needn't have worried. It is and was superb. The check in was great, friendly and efficient. The room was lovely, large very comfortable bed with a good size TV well placed in the room. Desk, fridge, wardrobe, chairs, table, large bathroom and a seating area to the front. The whole site is well spaced out and you get the feeling of being in the country and yet being looked after. The restaurant was a joy to experience. Proper family service, made to feel more than welcome at all times, great service and great food and wine.It's a friendly and welcoming place and you really can't ask for more that that. Room was well cleaned and arranged every day and there is a good stock of essentials in the room ready for you at all times. If I am out this way again I wouldn't look anywhere else. Well done to all!

Room Tip: Any, they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you have not visited Roma, it will quickly become obvious that accommodation choices are limited to a certain spectrum of quality and amenities. Thus, coming off a fairly low base, the Overlander is adequate for a night.

Location:
The Overlander is located on the outskirts of town, although since Roma can be crossed in five to ten minutes, this isn't really an issue.

Rooms:
The rooms are adequate - if you set your expectations accordingly - since they are clean and decently furnished. However, the motel is also located near one of the town's major highways, and there is a lot of road noise. Wi-fi is hit and miss.

Service:
The owner's wife is very nice. The owner is friendly, although he mentioned more than once that his establishment 'caters to the 1%'. While it is likely the best establishment in Roma, again, it's a pretty low base.

Food:
Breakfast is really awful, although I enjoyed dinner at the restaurant one night.

If you must be in Roma, you're probably better off here than elsewhere, but make sure to manage your expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Overlander Homestead was one of the best all round hotels i've stayed at through work.
I travel extensively throughout Queensland and the Overlanders friendly staff are probably the nices and accommodating i've seen.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the resturant food while a bit expencive was worth the bit extra.
Thank-you for my stay:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roma hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bungil Creek Motel
0.9 mi away
Roma Central Motel
Roma Central Motel
#2 of 11 in Roma
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Starlight Motor Inn
Starlight Motor Inn
#1 of 11 in Roma
261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roma Inland Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Motel Carnarvon
Motel Carnarvon
#7 of 11 in Roma
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overlander Homestead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overlander Homestead Motel

Property: Overlander Homestead Motel
Address: 44767 Warrego Highway, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn Overlander Homestead)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Overlander Homestead Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overlander Homestead Motel is the highest rated Motel in Western Queensland. 33, 4 1/2 star officially rated rooms set on 5 acres provides peace and tranquility and extra safety and security being nearly 2 Kms from town. There is room for caravans and trailers. The Overlander Restaurant is a favourite for the local community, a full A La carte restaurant catering for all tastes with freshly made ingredients and superb meats including OBE organic beef, Bakers Creek Pork and locally sourced lamb. The bar supplies over 40 different types of beer and an extensive wine list and cocktail bar to match anywhere in the world. We are a family run business and invite you to sample our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overlander Homestead Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing