We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hundreds of motels later I think I have found the worst or close to it”
Review of Kings Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Roma B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hundreds of motels later I think I have found the worst or close to it”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After staying in hundreds of motels this one is among the worst. The attitude of the woman owner/or manager was definitely the worst I have come across. The motel prides itself on its steaks however my order of a medium-rare steak was served up as medium to well done. Credit due it was replaced with a good steak. That is where any credit due stops. When paying for a $38 steak you expect it to be served as ordered. My wife is not a big eater so often orders an entree for her main meal. She was served 6 small pieces of squid (frozen packet we suspect) for a cost of $16. Not the worst squid we’ve had but close. The woman (owner/manager) who served us in the restaurant was wearing thongs/flip flops which I’m sure WH&S would not be impressed with. The room, a little small but adequate. Unfortunately the motel feels the need to spray copious amounts of air freshener in the room which did not disappear the whole time (one night) we were there. Even with the windows open & the A/C on the smell did not go (too bad if you are asthmatic). Wall between our room & the next was just about paper thin. Throughout the night we could hear the guest in the next room snoring his head off. On checking out I mentioned these points just as passing comments to the woman who served us in the restaurant the night before. Her comment was “what do you expect me to do about it?” I said perhaps take my comments on board & try to make some improvements so other guest do not have the same experience. The reply was “I can’t do anything I’m only the manager”. I suggested that she could pass my comments on to them & she replied that they would not care. Also during the latter part of our discussion she told me she could do what she liked at the motel as she was the owner. I pointed out that a couple of minutes earlier that she said she was the manager to which she then got a bit flustered (did she lie to me?). By that time she had given me my receipt & I left in absolute amazement. In short it would appear the owners (or is it managers) have no interest in the traveling tourist as they have a very high occupancy rate (probably 100% most days) due to the resources boom that is going on in the area. Suggest stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel/motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Kings motor inn and steakhouse is located on the main road /highway in Roma so it can be a bit noisy. It has a steakhouse restaurant attached to it which serves what I believe to be the best steaks around. It is a bit old and needs some major work but the owner said that the whole place will hopefully be upgraded by the end of the year. As stated above, it is comfortable apart from the highway noise. I will stay there again if I get the chance and I cant wait to see the new hotel renovations at the end of the year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road and ask for a verandah room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rswtrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked for three nights but charged for four nights because I didn't checked out by 10 am. They didn't had a courtesy to call me if i was staying for another night. What a service! I advise visitors not to go there at all!

Lady was the rudest person I ever met ! I've travelled around Queensland for work for so many years and never encountered such an attitude! For example they have a policy that breakfast order to be made by 7pm. I didn't finished work until late and got to hotel by 715 and this lady told me its too late. Come on its only a couple of eggs and bacon Christ sake! And in Roma??? And the meal is for next day ??

I will never return to that hotel and would advised visitors or all future customers not to even consider staying there you will be treated like an idiot!

Trip advisor please don't put this hotel in your list? Everyone please?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roma hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast, Qld
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having to stay at 2 different motels on a recent trip to Roma for business, this was not a good experience. The rooms are expensive for the style, just a 'donger' 'portable' and $200 a night. We ate at the Steakhouse and while there was only us and one other table in the whole restaurant it took near on an hour for our meal to come out, steak and Vege. The Starks were ordered medium rare and medium. They came out medium well done and well done! They did offer to rebook when we mentioned this, though after the hour wait we were starving. At $35 a steak, very poor service, poor quality steak and overlooked. Also only came with a small serve of stir fry Vege, so not sure what the hour was for. As it was a work trip we needed an itemized account which proved quite difficult and we were advised next time we would need to phone ahead and tell them we would be wanting an itemized account ?? We did let them know the night before checkout...but somehow it is very difficult??

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant. Eat in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roma hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Bungil Creek Motel
0.1 mi away
Athena Studio Units
0.8 mi away
Roma Aussie Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motel Carnarvon
Motel Carnarvon
#8 of 11 in Roma
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Rig Tourist Park
0.6 mi away
Roma Central Motel
Roma Central Motel
#2 of 11 in Roma
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Motor Inn

Property: Kings Motor Inn
Address: 77 Quintin St, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kings Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing