We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and pleasant decor.”

Irish McGann's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Roma
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food and pleasant decor.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Food was good and so where the prices. Service friendly but a bit on the slow side. We were traveling with friends and we each ordered a different meal. One of the meals arrived and it was not what was ordered. The waiter quickly admitted that he had made the mistake with the order which was replaced. My husband ordered a rare steak which was delivered well done and that was also replaced without question. Other meals were very good and we would eat there again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    43
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unreliable service”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Irish McGann's has a high turn over of bar and bistro staff which impacts the level of service you receive. It's a popular bar and restaurant and while I can always get the right drink for a reasonable price, the kitchen service is slow.

We've been here with larger groups and someone has always either not received a meal or received a meal that wasn't what they had ordered. The food is good quality - just not what you ordered.

I suggest making reservations especially on trivia nights or the weekend when it is busier. You can order and eat at the bar. Table service is not provided so place your order in the bistro. There is an outdoor area but it is mostly used by smokers and the seating isn't ideal.

If you are after take-away, Irish McGann's does the best pizza in town. You can ring thru your order to reduce your waiting time or have a few drinks at the bar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pub with food...not a restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went here on a Saturday night for an informal dinner. Food was equivalent price to Explorers, but a very different atmosphere - much more like a pub with food than a Bistro or restaurant. We'd booked a table. The restaurant room looked and felt more like a pool room that had been hastily set up as a pop-up restaurant, and certain tables (including ours) are right next to the queue to order, so don't expect to have a private conversation over dinner! The room temperature was a bit chilly due to the open passage through to the bar and out onto the street, but fortunately we had brought fleeces. We had fillet mignon (succulent) and chicken schnitzel (tasty) which could have been a bit hotter on the plates, but otherwise perfectly acceptable. Desert was a real shocker - lazy, below-par, bland ready-made cheesecake, which wasn't improved by a sprig of mint and a few strawberry slices.

If you're at McGann's after work for a drink and then discover the food, you'd feel lucky. However, look elsewhere if you want a meal out somewhere a bit special, with quiet conversation away from the crowds, in a restaurant environment (as we were), otherwise you'll be disappointed. Save your money and go to Explorers instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzRoamer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food terrible”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Though this place would be good for a steak how wrong I was, the food is awful. Do not waste your money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“top place!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great place..too stay accom good and rooms clean meals are fantastic and price..top envoirment,with music,beer garden, pokers caters for everything.. staff and the chef there real friendly...must go and check out..Real impressed..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeybubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish McGann's Hotel also viewed

 
Roma, Queensland
 

Been to Irish McGann's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing