We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Over & Above”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Rig Tourist Park
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Roma
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Cannot speak more highly of this park and friendly helpful welcoming managers. Stayed a whole week in cabin. Spotless facilities. Great pool. Immaculate grounds. Foxtel. Everyone else staying at park happy and friendly which just highlighted the good feeling/happy energy by all at park.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our park so inviting. We do hope to see you again soon, Happy travels x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Big Rig Tourist Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff friendly, the amentities clean and the parks close proximity to Roma's major tourist attraction a bonus. The drive through site was quite good and easy to access.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank davetoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

$130 for a couple in a basic (deluxe) demountable cabin which has a sagging bed is over the top in my view. We were probably unfortunate in that 2 cabins beside ours were occupied by workers who chose that night to celebrate outside their cabin till late. There was no supervision by owner or management so the noise went unchecked. The cabins are sited close by each other in a cluster so if you sneeze, someone probably will respond. The cabin was clean and the check in staff courteous and efficient. There was no highway noise. All in all, I guess the mining industry decrees that accommodation in Roma is expensive and there will always be someone to take your place if you decide not to stay, so there is little incentive to pay attention to detail (like getting proper beds that don't give you a sore back).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuzzyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We do like to hear from all of our guests who stay with us, and these reviews can then in turn help us to improve our product. We will take on board your comments about your cabin and we are pleased you found the staff good to deal with.
The noise from the other cabins will be addressed straight away and we apologise for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed one night on first night of our big QLD road trip.
We stayed in a "deluxe" cabin. It was quite small with no outside area to sit other than the car space. There were two chairs but no table. We had to use the back of the car to sit our drinks and nibblies. The bed was quite soft and thus we woke in the morning with aching bodies.
It is quite expensive given the quality as compared to other cabins we have stayed in. However as accommodation in Roma is hard to come by, you have to pay top dollar if you want to stay there.
The park is nothing special. Nothing was offerred, you had to go and ask.
It turned out to be just a bed (expensive for what is offerred).
By the way, watch the small print. There is a $10 surcharge on one night stays, something that can be easily missed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandybillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We will take on board your comments to help us improve our park - We hope that the next time you come and stay, some changes can be made in order to make your stay with us a pleasant one - I am sorry that you were not aware about the surcharge for one night stays,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good park, friendly managers and nice cabins but that's about where it ended for me. The issue that I have is about the parks pricing. The parks website has one price however on checking says another price. I am sure this is in appropriate and I an going to ask some question to the office of fair trading queensland. When I questioned the managers of the park, their reply was that the "owner goes onto their computer system and changes the pricing and they are left to charge what the computer says". In my opinion this is not good enough. Surely you can not quote a lower pricing then charge a higher price at point of sale. Be aware that if you book a deluxe cabin for what is quoted as "$115" you will not be charge this. I am sure it wouldn't take much for the owner or managers to update the pricing on their own website. For this I am giving the park a poor rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi there Mark,
Thank you for your review and bringing this matter to your attention. I have spoken with the Managers and we understand that there was a little confusion around the charge rates of the Delux Cabin you stayed in. We absolutely apologise for this and would be happy to offer a refund on the extra you were charged which we believe to be $20
We realise how important our information on the website is to all our valued customers and will be investigating the reasons behind the inconsistency in this particular case and get this fixed with upmost importance
Thank you again for your review, we trust your stay with us was a comfortable one and we do hope to see you again sometime in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stopped here on a powered site and was very grateful that the owners didn't turn into just cabin facilities. we where very please with the service and the park.We had a drive through site and we had peaceful sleep. Camp kitchen needs a face lift, especially the BBQ's bit dated.We feel having a van park in the town is also beneficial to the economy as we spent money in the town, all I ask is don't shut us Caravaners out. Not that I had a pet apart from my Hubby, but this park was also Pet friendly.

Room Tip: Ring first to see if available sites.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauzie427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thankyou so much for taking the time to review us. We understand how important it is to have a great Caravan Park in Roma and will certainly not be changing this. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you come this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at the park overnight in one of the on site cabins. The cabin was very clean and tidy the lady at reception was very helpful when asking where the best places to eat in Roma where. Defiantly worth the stop if travelling through Roma.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zacjay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thankyou so much for writing a review for us. It is always good to hear that our guests had a good stay - we look forward to seeing you again next time you are coming through our way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roma hotels
1.0 mi away
Overlander Homestead Motel
1.0 mi away
Villa Holiday Park
Villa Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Roma
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roma Aussie Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roma Inland Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Mandalay Motel
Mandalay Motel
#3 of 11 in Roma
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Carnarvon
Motel Carnarvon
#7 of 11 in Roma
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Rig Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Rig Tourist Park

Address: 4 McDowall St, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Roma
Price Range: $70 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Friendliest Park in RomaBig Rig Top Tourist Park provides more than just a few nights of accommodation on your way through Roma. The Caravan Park is central to Roma's main street. 500m from the pubs and restaurants in town, it is adjacent to the Big Rig Information Centre and home to native birds. The Caravan Park has a full variety of accommodation including self-contained Villas, a range of cabins both single and double studios and 2 houses for families. Powered and Unpowered Sites offer shade and drive-thru options are available. Facilities include fantastic modern disabled amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Rig Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing