We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”
Review of Motel Carnarvon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Carnarvon
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We drove from Brisbane and so were ready to relax when we arrived in Roma. The motel room was spacious and we were able to park the car under cover. In the heat, this cuts the heat and provides a sheltered place. The bed was comfortable and there was a pleasant view into a grassed area from the window as well as a comfortable place to sit. Pricing was high but this reflects the current situation in many of the western towns as so many people are flying in and out for work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
38
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After spending a long day on the road from Brisbane with the kids bored in the backseat, we were delighted to have an upgrade to an apartment - two bedrooms, each with a TV plus a large bathroom with bathtub and great shower. It was great to have a lovely night before our camping trip to Carnarvon Gorge. Bonus of a kids playground across the street as well as pathways to walk around the town after driving was good for family trips. Thanks, will be staying again when we next head through the outback.

Room Tip: The apartments were lovely and far away from the road north so absolutely no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMMG_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully kept grounds and lawns. Feels really lovely when you arrive. Rooms very spacious and well appointed. Big tick for cleanliness too. It was very quiet at night and no annoying outside night lights. I really liked it and the only negative was the bed was very hard. That's obviously a personal thing and other people may find it perfect. Would definitely reccomen this motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to my room, this had everything you could ask for, clean and comfy bed, kitchenette BIG screen TV table and chairs, good size bathroom and a a solid front door and double glazed windows which blocked 90% of the traffic noise. I could not fault anything. As well as the room being tip top my breakfast was massive. I highly recommend this establishment to wind down and relax especially after a hard days work.

Room Tip: I was in room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewsie2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Room was clean...bed hard and shower very small. Management were away at the time... the relief staff were friendly enough. Unlike most of the motels i've stayed wireless internet was not free. Next time i'm in Roma i will most likely try another motel. I like Roma the town is clean and has feel good vibe to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyk454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is probably the nicest motel in Australia. Updated rooms, suites and apartments are tastefully decorated, with quality furnishings and materials, and the management and service is first class. Roomwise, it is good value for money, but meals and extra charges are very high - because of lots of business from mining companies who are happy to pay it.

There are self catering options, and if you're on a budget, take your own supplies. Double-glazed windows and soundproofed doors make it quiet, and the cable TV is well set up. The first hour of internet access is free, but ongoing charges are reasonable. There is high demand on this motel from mining companies, so book well in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crawfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We'd reserved well ahead of time, and just as well. There's a coal seam gas boom on - and accommodation in Roma is hard to get.

The motel is modern, well managed, clean and comfortable. Wifi is available - ask about the password as you book in. Location is fine - the motel fronts a busy road, but night noise is limited.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obione980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roma hotels
1.5 mi away
Overlander Homestead Motel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Bungil Creek Motel
1.5 mi away
Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mandalay Motel
Mandalay Motel
#3 of 11 in Roma
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Starlight Motor Inn
Starlight Motor Inn
#1 of 11 in Roma
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roma Inland Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Carnarvon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Carnarvon

Property: Motel Carnarvon
Address: 18 Northern Rd, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Carnarvon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Carnarvon has a combination of 18 x 4 Star Apartment Suites made up of Studio Apartments & 1 & 2 Bedroom Spacious Luxury Apartments and 20 x 3.5 Star Motel Units. All Rooms have undercover Parking to the Door. Onsite is additional Parking areas for Buses, Trailers, Boats & Campers. Motel Carnarvon is an easy 10min walk to the main Street of Town, the Motel is in a quiet location in a garden setting on Northern Road and is the closest motel to Roma Airport & to Bassett Park. All rooms have microwaves & 80cm Flat Screen TV's with 15 Foxtel Channels including Premiere Movies. The Motel is surrounded by lovely gardens & lawn areas & Free wifi is available throughout the Complex. We have a large undercover BBQ Area, with Full Size BBQ, Fridge, Sink, Tables & Chairs, Cooking Utensils & Large TV with Foxtel. This area is great for family or work "get togethers". Enjoy & relax in our crystal blue Pool & Spa (unheated) located at the front of the complex. We have a large guest laundry onsite with commercial coin operated Washers & Dryers. Motel Carnarvon is a licensed premises & we have a "Smart Bar" located in Reception selling alcoholic beverages, drinks & snacks foods.Breakfast & Packed Lunches are available. We offer Evening Meals by way of Charge Back from many different Hotels & Restaurants in Roma, some of whom deliver.Friendly resident Managers, look forward to your arrival at Motel Carnarvon, so that your stay is memorable & comfortable each time you return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel Carnarvon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing