We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Carnarvon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Carnarvon
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I booked 3 rooms for 7 people to share. All of us were happy with the comfort of the rooms. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Each of the rooms had a front and back door. The back door opened into a big grassed backyard. The rooms were about $130 for 2 adults but many of the other motels seemed to be much more expensive so reasonable value for Roma.
I was advised to book well in advance in Roma and nearby towns which are experiencing a population explosion with employees from many mining companies requiring accommodation and willing to pay whatever it takes.
We went to the nearby bowls club for dinner which was excellent and good value.
In the morning some of us went into the main street and had a nice breakfast at Bakerama - the food was good and the place spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
33
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here on Saturday 30/7/11 enroute to a funeral in Quilpie. I was surprised to learn that there is an extreme shortage of accommodation in Roma from Monday to Thursday inclusive, with many motels booked out for months. Motel Carnavon is good basic clean accommodation in Roma, but the shower is sensational - like standing under a waterfall, which was very enjoyable after a long drive.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I wasn't expecting much as we were looking for just basic accommodation for one night in Roma, however I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this motel was.
The room was very spacious (for a motel room) and had all the necessary facilities for one night, microwave, kettle, cups (but no cutlery except spoons). It was great to have a little space to move around without tripping over all our baggage for a family of 4. Also quite spacious grounds even with children's play area, swing etc.
Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webbedflipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Carnarvon Gorge.

We had a nice clean room with microwave, kettle, tv, all the basics.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

We just needed a place to spend the night during a road trip. Picked Carnarvon for price, availability and location. Was pleasantly surprised how well equipped and spotless the room and grounds are! I would gladly pick this motel for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 31-38 seem brand new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TnTHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taroom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

I had already decided to stay at the Carnarvon on my visit to Roma and decided to still stay even though you rated it as on of the not so good establishments to stay at in Roma.
I must commend the owners on such a lovely motel and very well appointed with fantastic facilities.Definately targeting satisfaction for the Guest.The reason why I chose the Carnarvon is that I had tried previously on two occasions to book in and there were no vaciencies.In my opinion that is a good indication of a POPULAR MOTEL.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria47Taroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Carnarvon motel is a very average motel. The rooms are old and need to be refurbished. The couple that was in charge was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roma hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bungil Creek Motel
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Overlander Homestead
0.8 mi away
Starlight Motor Inn
Starlight Motor Inn
#1 of 11 in Roma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roma Motel
Roma Motel
#10 of 11 in Roma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roma Inland Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Roma Central Motel
Roma Central Motel
#2 of 11 in Roma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Carnarvon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Carnarvon

Property: Motel Carnarvon
Address: 18 Northern Rd, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Carnarvon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Carnarvon has a combination of 18 x 4 Star Apartment Suites made up of Studio Apartments & 1 & 2 Bedroom Spacious Luxury Apartments and 20 x 3.5 Star Motel Units. All Rooms have undercover Parking to the Door. Onsite is additional Parking areas for Buses, Trailers, Boats & Campers. Motel Carnarvon is an easy 10min walk to the main Street of Town, the Motel is in a quiet location in a garden setting on Northern Road and is the closest motel to Roma Airport & to Bassett Park. All rooms have microwaves & 80cm Flat Screen TV's with 15 Foxtel Channels including Premiere Movies. The Motel is surrounded by lovely gardens & lawn areas & Free wifi is available throughout the Complex. We have a large undercover BBQ Area, with Full Size BBQ, Fridge, Sink, Tables & Chairs, Cooking Utensils & Large TV with Foxtel. This area is great for family or work "get togethers". Enjoy & relax in our crystal blue Pool & Spa (unheated) located at the front of the complex. We have a large guest laundry onsite with commercial coin operated Washers & Dryers. Motel Carnarvon is a licensed premises & we have a "Smart Bar" located in Reception selling alcoholic beverages, drinks & snacks foods.Breakfast & Packed Lunches are available. We offer Evening Meals by way of Charge Back from many different Hotels & Restaurants in Roma, some of whom deliver.Friendly resident Managers, look forward to your arrival at Motel Carnarvon, so that your stay is memorable & comfortable each time you return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel Carnarvon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing