We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starlight Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Certificate of Excellence
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Recently had to stay for business. Same weekend as the Roma Picnic Races and was worried that there maybe no accommodation left. One of the only motels based in Roma who had an online booking engine, so got my attention straight away and the whole process was easy.
So from the time I booked online until my departure I was given fantastic customer service and the reviews on TripAdvisor are just spot on.

Room was very clean and comfortable. As motel is on a main road I was a tad worried about noise. Didn't hear anything at all.

Donna was amazing from check in to check out and considering I checked in late, she was still smiling and nothing was too hard.

I will recommend and will most definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outbackislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanB258, Owner at Starlight Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to put fingers to keyboard and thank you also for highlighting our easy to use online booking engine. The feedback we have received is that booking online is a very user friendly experience.
Have a great day - Ian & Donna...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    45
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
66
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parrearra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My third stay at the Starlight, its close to town, always clean, breakfast is a filling home cooked meal and Ian and Donna are fabulous hosts, very friendly and professional. The motel of choice in Roma!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanB258, Owner at Starlight Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Kevin. 'The Motel of choice in Roma'... Thank you so much for your very kind words, much appreciated. Have a great day. Ian & Donna...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Wonderful hosts who stayed open late to accomodate out check in! Met us in the rain, steered us to a warm meal! The motel was lovely and clean and access to the toaster and microwave came in very handy for us the following morning prior to our early flight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanB258, Owner at Starlight Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Lance
We try and treat everyone as we would like to be treated if we were on the road etc. Running a good Motor Inn, is not rocket science, but a degree in Psychology would be handy sometimes!!
Many thanks, have a great day and we hope to welcome you again. Cheers Ian & Donna...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wondai, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Extremely comfortable and very tidy, clean rooms. Ian and Donna (managers), were extremely welcoming and friendly - nothing, it seems, is too much bother. Complimentary features (which are usually extras at other motels), ranged from bottled water to free wi-fi. Donna's home-cooked meals were exceptional - great value, very well prepared with very fresh ingredients. I've stayed in other motels in Roma over the past 2 years, this is my first time here, and I will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 9, located right in the back corner of the complex - very quiet and extremely comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanB258, Owner at Starlight Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Warren

Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review. 'Extremely Comfortable' - music to every moteliers ears.... How do you know that I didn't cook your meals??? Cheers, have a good one - Ian...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcaldine, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Excellent facilities and lovely staff and management.
Clean, friendly and very comfortable - exactly what my family and I needed after a long drive..
I will definitely stay at this motel whenever I am travelling through Roma again.
Thankyou!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompson-Dwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanB258, Owner at Starlight Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Clean, friendly & very comfortable. Music to my ears, thank you very much for your kind words.
Have a great day & 2014...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I and 2 of my daughters stayed a night on 16/1/14. The unit 7 that we occupied had 2 bedrooms and was toward the back of the motel away from the highway. Vehicle noise was minimal. The unit was clean and tidy with needed air-conditioning and the beds were very comfortable. There was a microwave but the only negative comment that I would make is that there was no crockery or cutlery with which to eat.
The proprietors were extremely helpful and friendly.
Certainly a nice place to stay in Roma. We paid $180 for the night

Room Tip: I imagine that rooms away from the main road would be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanB258, Owner at Starlight Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Michael
Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure having you and your daughters stay with us. As a teacher in a small town, your daughter will get to know the whole community very quickly. I'm glad we got ticks for clean, tidy & comfortable beds, thanks. We certainly provide crockery and cutlery for no charge to who ever asks.
Safe travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Four (old) school mates did a road trip to Longreach, one of the mates was in a wheelchair. Roma was our first stop.
The disabled Toilet and Shower facilities were first class.
Breakfast was delicious and well presented.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_A70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanB258, Owner at Starlight Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We hope you enjoyed Longreach, QANTAS museum, Hall of Fame etc. It was great to see 4 school mates doing the same road trip they did together many years ago. Thanks for saying the breakfast was delicious. Must be the wild rocket & spinach leaves we put on the plate!! Most leave them, but we keep persisting and putting them on. First impressions with every aspect of a Motor Inn are very important....
Safe travels..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roma hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bungil Creek Motel
0.9 mi away
Overlander Homestead Motel
0.0 mi away
Roma Central Motel
Roma Central Motel
#2 of 11 in Roma
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre
0.8 mi away
Motel Carnarvon
Motel Carnarvon
#7 of 11 in Roma
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandalay Motel
Mandalay Motel
#3 of 11 in Roma
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motor Inn

Property: Starlight Motor Inn
Address: 20B Bowen St, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Roma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starlight Motor Inn has 18 comfortable and spacious air-conditioned motel units. We are only 400m from the centre of town. Our rooms are light and airy, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. Sleep soundly on either a Soft & low OR Medium / high pillow!! We agree with you, a Motel must have a choice of quality pillows. FREE Wireless broadband. We offer 7 day room service for dinner & breakfast. Other room features are ceiling fans, Foxtel, microwave, refrigerator and tea & coffee facilities. We invite you to enjoy genuine country hospitality combined with professional service. Come and give the Starlight a try, you won't be disappointed !! Hope to see you soon, Ian & Donna... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Starlight Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing