We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful,ambient,no need to look any further AND dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chilverton Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Ravenshoe B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and myself and our staffy Ace enjoyed two wonderful nights at Chilverton. Cottage is spacious beautifully appointed with all the mod cons and a few delicious treats like robs, spa bath and a massive bed and complimentary port......oh and the fireplace....love that fire place! Three and a half star rating does not do this place justice. The cottage location too was lovely..right on the riverbank. Loads of turtles to watch plus a few lizards.

We ate in the restaurant too and were treated to a wonderful tablelands steak with vegies and home made butter.mmmmm. Dessert was tops also.

Perhaps the most unique and delightfully refreshing aspect of Chilverton is that they welcome with open arms dogs. Ace enjoyed himself immensely..sleeping in front of a fireplace, walking the grounds with mum and dad and running a muck in the doggy park. He also enjoyed his first 3 course meal! Chicken broth followed by lamb meatballs and rice and finishing off with buttermilk. He was in heaven!! He even got to eat dinner with us on the outside verandah area of the restaurant.

Gwen and Bruce have thought of everything. Day spa available also and food packs if u dont want to muck around with groceries.

We will no doubt visit again.

Thanks for a very relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilCot2007, Owner at Chilverton Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

We were so happy to have you stay with us and totally enjoyed your company in the games room. Ace was a treat and we also enjoyed Bob (your foster puppy for the holiday season).
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you have the time for another get away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our family stayed at Chilverton Cottages for a family wedding and the hospitality from Gwen was outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble, from personal sleeping arrangements to a family bbq, The cottages were clean & comfortable with everything on hand that we needed. The coffee machines are a great touch! We had a wonderful stay and it was made so much better because Gwen went the extra bit to make sure we had everything we needed. Fantastic & we will be back!

Room Tip: If you need anything special just ask Gwen!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenJo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilCot2007, Owner at Chilverton Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Hi all. It was great to have the whole family here especially for the bbq when the local family attended as well. It was wonderful to meet all of you and we look forward to seeing you again when to come to visit the grand children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Along the road to Ravenshoe is where you'll find Chilverton Cottages & Fine Dining. Its such a beautiful spot...as you pull in the driveway you'll be amazed. Its something you just don't find everyday. With the river and the tall gum trees. Its very special part of Australia with lots of wildlife - rosellas, king parrots, possums, platypus, geckos and more. Up in the main building is the restaurant, bar & function room, There's a day spa for treating yourself to a massage or using the sauna & spa. The cottages have everything you need in them...the spa bath, the fireplace, a little kitchen, the verandah overlooking the river just the most peaceful & private location you could hope for... A huge amount of effort is made by Gwen & Bruce (owners & hosts) to make your stay the luxury you hope for when you spend a night or two away. It was hard to pack up and leave...I wanted to stay for longer & will be wanting to return very soon.

Room Tip: The cottages overlooking the Millstream River are absolutely superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

We are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay.
It was lovely to have you stay with us and we enjoyed your company very much. Sunset cocktails in the bar we great fun. We are looking forward to you next visit with us and especially to meeting your new addition to the family that you were picking up when you got back home. See you next time Gwen and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed in one of the apartments, which was lovingly (re-)furbished. Breakfast was excellent home-made bread, butter and jams (you have to book everything in advance, though, as it really is made-to-order!). We also had BBQ one night - the cuisine well earned the self-appointed "Fine Dining" badge, with excellent meat, and tasty side dishes.

The garden of the property is huge, and you can go exploring for all kinds of animals. We saw the turtles, but the platypus unfortunately eluded us here. All sorts of insects and birds have made their home on the grounds, so you are never short of things to see.

If you are looking for a tidy and family-run place to stay in the middle of nature, this is for you.

One word of caution, though: the place is pretty far from Ravenshoe (by European standards), so make sure that you update your GPS beforehand with the target coordinates. The sign for the hotel is pretty small and easy to miss, unless you know when to look for it...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissTravelChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilCot2007, Owner at Chilverton Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

It has taken me a while to respond to you I am sorry. It was lovely to meet the two of you and we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and will see you again if you get back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

this is our second visit to Chilverton Cottages, and it was every bit as good as the first. Gwen and Bruce are brilliant hosts, accommodation is delightful, and every effort was made to ensure we had a great time. Some damage was caused by the recent cyclones, but everything is up and running as good as new, and apart from the absence of the platypus, you wouldn't know anything had happened. thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilCot2007, Owner at Chilverton Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were happy to have you stay with us and look forward to when you may visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed inone of the studio apartments and my daughter and son-in-law stayed in the other studio apartment.
B&B's are my preference when travelling. Generally my experiences are in other countries. Chilverton cottages is right up there.
The rooms were spacious, beds were hugh and very comfortable, bathrooms would rival any 5star hotel for luxury and all amenieties supplied, coffee/tea/mini-bar more than adequate.
Gwen is the perfect hostess, nothing is too much trouble.
The accommodation is on a very large landscaped property with a river down the bottom and playtpus to see. My family saw a playtpus and baby. Lots of beautiful bird life.
The accommodation is self-contained studio or cottages.
Breakfast is not included in the price but worth the extra. Gwen caters to your needs. Dinner is also available.
I hope to return, a great retreat from everyday life, you leave after your stay very relaxed. A beautiful sanctuary.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjoytravelling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilCot2007, Owner at Chilverton Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Took me a long time to work out how to work this page. Sorry about that. I would like to now take the time to let you know that we enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. cheers gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Chilverton Cottages is situated midway between rain forest and outback, so masses to see and do in the area. We stayed just 3 nights, but could have stayed a week. The accommodation was a delightful annexe to the main building, but the riverside cottages looked lovely too. Bruce and Gwen, the owners, were perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Gwen's cooking is amazing. Not a vast choice of menu, but you didn't need it. Everything was delicious. The grounds are full of wildlife. We saw platypus in the creek every evening. It made our holiday! The bar / games room is always open and very welcoming. Gwen is full of good ideas about where to go, and even offered to take us out to find some kangaroos, as we were desperate to see some! Wish we could go again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottobekidding, owner at Chilverton Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

Hi, We were so happy to have you stay with us. Enjoyed hearing all about your lifestyle at home and letting you see our part of paradise. Please look us up if you do get this way again. cheers gwen and bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenshoe
10.1 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
7.8 mi away
River Song Retreat
River Song Retreat
#1 of 2 in Millaa Millaa
22 reviews
18.6 mi away
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
#3 of 6 in Atherton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ravenshoe Hotel
Ravenshoe Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ravenshoe
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chilverton Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilverton Cottages

Address: 12028 Kennedy Hwy, Ravenshoe, Queensland 4888, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ravenshoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenshoe
Price Range: $128 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilverton Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Tablelands accommodation features a pet friendly, couples retreat on the banks of the Millstream River. Romantic riverside cottages are self contained with private car annex, bbq, fire place, spa bath and king size bed. There is a restaurant and boutique games room on site and all amenities are within walking distance. A bird watchers paradise with platypus viewing on the list of things to do along with bush walks to hoping to spot tree kangaroos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chilverton Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing