We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
28
5
0
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
5
0
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 36 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in Black Bean cottage for 3 nights mid August and enjoyed every minute of it. The variety of wildlife in the surrounding rainforest was amazing - we spotted a tree kangaroo, possums, platypus, scrub turkeys, all kind of birds and the list goes on.

We did not encounter any cockroaches, mildew and mold as the previous reviewers have mentioned. The possum who lived in the games room added to the experience (we nicknamed him Leaky) as did the duck (Ralph) and the possums (the 3 amigos) who visited us every evening looking for food.

We walked the trails around the property and visited the local waterfalls and the very helpful tourist info in Ravenshoe. Paul (the owner) also showed us around and pointed out a lot of the plants only found in rainforests and explained about the ecosystem.

If you are looking for 5 star sterile accommodation then this isn't the place for you. If you want a memorable stay somewhere very peaceful with amazing scenery and wildlife then go visit.

PS Be warned that it is cold at night in the winter as you are at over 3000ft but at least it isn't wet!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rovers_Girl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at Maple Cottage in August with family members. Initially we had planned to stay for 4 nights but we only stayed one night because we could not cope with the dirt, dust and mould. The bedding which was old and badly worn was green with mildew. We found the musty smell overpowering particularly in the bedrooms. There was cockroach poo on the plates in the kitchen and the plates were chipped. They were running around the kitchen at night and were even on the fridge. The games room was very dirty with a filthy lounge which was ripped and covered in grime. The BBQ area was also dirty and unkempt. The jetty on the pond has wood rot and is unsafe and would be very dangerous to children. My husband ended up suffering an asthma attack from the overpowering mildew spores and we had to leave the next day.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lauraine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We were traveling with Family & had booked for 4 nights.Unfortunately we were very disappointed. we managed to stay one night only. We stayed in Maple Cottage. Unfortunately it was quite unclean. We arrived late in the day planning on a lovelyevening meal & relaxing night. Upon opening the cupboards there was cockroach or Ghecko droppings on the crockery the frypan was coated with grease (so we boiled the kettle which took almost 20 minutes in the gas stove) .Needless to say all dishes were scolded before use. Also we did not feel able to shower as the towles had a very musty smell.
The room with the double bed was the worst as sheets & doona were covered in mould.
We had very little sleep that nigh as my brother we were travelling with had an Asthama attack dut to all the mold in the bed he was sleeping in. When we spoke to Paul the owner about the probllems he seemed quite surprised & all he could say was that he was sorry we felt that way.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Wow! What an amazing place! There was so many amazing things to do while staying at Possum Valley: going on rainforest walks, sightseeing waterfalls, watching platypuses surface (awesome!) and watching beautiful rainforest birds flutter in and out. The list goes on and we were there too short a time! Would definitely recommend to families who love the outdoors/rainforest. The loft at the top of Blackbean cottage was also great for the kids! :-)

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WightmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

If only we'd spent more than 1 night, what a beautiful, magical place, chock full of wildlife, nature sounds, and much more, the best place we stayed at during our month in Australia. If you are a natural history buff, whether it's botany, birds, and so on, then this is the place for you. A platypus played in the pond, Northern Rosellas flew into nearby trees, wallabies nibbledgrass, and there were a lot of possums at night. Plus a tame honeyeater that flitted about inside and outside of the house. Sheer paradise. It's a very comfortable place to spend time, far more generous in furnishings and niceties than 5-star hotels, but most suited for nature enthusiasts, not persnickety standard hotel room sorts of people.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank energyskeptic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews