We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take shoes”
Review of Cedar Creek Falls

Cedar Creek Falls
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Proserpine
Attraction details
Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take shoes”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beautiful, worth the visit. Take shoes as the ground around and in the shallows of the water is very rocky.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TAS_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    62
    17
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were very lucky on the day that we visited the falls, it had rained the previous night so the falls had plenty of water, but not too strong that you couldn't swim underneath them.

A truly beautiful spot to visit, we had one of our most memorable days there, swimming beneath the falls. We climbed further up and discovered about 3 more sets of smaller falls, but turned around due to being bare footed. Insane day. Breathless views. Further up the falls no one else ventured and we had the falls all to ourselves.

A must do. Just hire a car for the day and drive out there. No need for any sort of guided tour, that way you choose how long to stay and discover it yourself for the first time without being rushed.

Helpful?
Thank Catrinlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Natural beauty”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Let's get this out of the way fast. If you want to get out here, you will be going on your own. No-one in Airlie Beach will travel out here as part of a tour, and it's not exactly on a lot of people's to-do list with so many other things to do in the area. If you have your own car, drive out and check this place out. If you have to rent a car, I'm so sorry. It is such a pain as a backpacker to go through the rental places in town.

That aside, this is a beautiful stop. You'll spend a couple of hours here, but doubtful any longer. There are a lot of insects out here, and you'll not be lying on the rocky 'beach' here for long. Make sure you go out after it has rained, else the falls will not be as dramatic.

This place truly is beautiful though, and worth checking out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Impydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We hired a jeep in Airlie Beach and was told about this water hole. It wasnt to far away and when we arrived it was amazing. The waterfall was out of a movie set and the water was cool and inviting... even if you did have to share it with loads of tadpoles. Downside.... Mozzies everywhere, you definitely need some insect repellant, but dont let this put you off, you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RPRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful location for an afternoon out”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

beautiful natural scenery worth a visit. would definately take a group of friends next time need to go on a sunny day though as there is nowhere to shelter from bad weather

Helpful?
Thank janine175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Creek Falls also viewed

Proserpine, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Proserpine, Queensland
 

Been to Cedar Creek Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing