We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Wonderful”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently stayed at Silky Oaks Lodge and I cannot rate it highly enough! The accommodations were amazing and extremely comfortable. We didn't know what to expect from a 'tree house' - but it was 5* luxury all the way.

Our package included several side trips, a gourmet packed lunch for a hike, a spa treatment and breakfast and dinner. Firstly, the food was fabulous! Every part of every meal was beautifully presented and truly delicious. The service was lovely and friendly, without being overbearing. The lounge and public areas are simply fantastic and the free WiFi a bonus.

The spa treatments were also terrific and when it was raining after my treatment, my therapist was ready with a large umbrella for me to use to walk to my tree house!

I cannot rate this facility too highly and recommend it to anyone!

I have only one sort of negative comment. We happened to hit a week that had very few guests. In fact, the hotel was only about 1/3 full. However, rather than put us into one of the nicest rooms on the grounds, we were assigned one that overlooked the roofs of other tree houses, rather than the rain forest. A small thing to be sure, but an oversight when they could have made everything perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a rain forest view - not a roof top view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBGiGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 969 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Everything is just fabulous. We stayed in one of the smaller tree houses - a beautiful self contained cabin with a balcony (complete with hamock!) and a magnificent bathroom (complete with super powered javuzzi!). When we arrived there was a bottle of bubbly on ice waiting for us and a little welcome note - small touches that make all the difference.

The setting for hotel is quite spectactular: a river runs right through the rainforest which makes for fabulous natural swimming holes and stunning scenery. The main lodge is very open so when you're in the restaurant it's like being out in the forest (well, almost!).

We ate breakfast at the lodge but went to port Douglas for dinner as a bit more affordable.

I am looking forward to my next trip to silky oaks!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bourke_Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Drove in from Cairns to Silky Oaks and were not disappointed. This is a one-of-a-kind type of lodge. Perfect for couples seeking a romantic hideaway (though we have been married many years). No TV or phone. The drawback I suppose would be that it is isolated and not close to options for dining. Maybe part of the problem was that it was Sunday and the start of the rainy season and many restaurants and shops in Port Douglas (the nearest sizable town) were closed. We regretted not eating at the lodge because the breakfast was fabulous! However, we were able to return to the lodge afterwards and get two artistic and tasty desserts.Staff so very friendly and helpful. Too bad it rained (hard) the one night we booked because we were not up for enjoying the serene swimming pool and we could not really enjoy the trails by the river because they were too flooded for a stroll. But... it is the RAINFOREST! Our treehouse room was so clean and comfortable---the pictures on this site are good ones, so check them out. I recommend Silky Oaks just for the unique experience. Loved it!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any of the rooms would not be a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here on the recommendation of some friends that stayed a few years ago and was so glad we did. Great accommodations. Food was wonderful. We stayed in port Douglas for 2nights prior and there is no comparison. Nick at daintree safaris took us on what ended up being a personal tour of the rainforest and cape trib. Loved the mossman gorge tour and hike.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

In the lead up Sharon at the front desk was very focused on top notch customer service outlining activities, transfers and hotel offerings. The free shuttle bus was driven by the lovely Des who as a local provided honest and informative recommendations and local knowledge. We were upgraded to the tree house lodge after a lovely welcoming drink. The room was beautiful and the surroundings just like being in a rainforest. We made use of the lush saltwater pool, the in room spa, ventured the private walking trails, used the kayaks, the dinner was amazing and the Buffett breakfast unbelievable. We also had arranged a dreamtime tour at Mossman gorge which was well worth the $50 each. For a 5 star experience the value for money was brilliant. As we spent the next 3 nights in Port Douglas with restaurant main meals being even more expensive it was really a wonderful experience. Next time we would stay for longer and indulge in the day spa treatments. Pack insect repellent and suitable clothing and footwear even like us if you thought you wouldn't go on the high trails- you need it! Lovely staff and would recommend it to anyone going to the tropics!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Silky Oaks

Cairns looks a lot like Melbourne Florida and Port Douglas looks a lot like Vero beach Florida. It's Florida with mountains, cold clear streams running over granite boulders and river rock to the ocean, big trees and wonderful high canopy rain forest, huge butterflies, mangos, sugar cane, tea farms and crocodiles.

Cairns airport has a terrific qantas lounge, huge! With latte machines, a food spread wines, beers, full bar, free wifi, a few charging stations and a couple apple computers. Quite unexpected but since we arrived 1:30 hrs before flt time we had plenty of time to check it out. No reason to arrive here more than 30 min. before departure, even 20 would see you on the plan with a boarding pass and carry on. The only waits wev’e had have been for checking luggage (sydney 30 min,). Tsa allows liquids, separate computers and aerosols, no ID needed, so visitors are allowed into the terminal and to the gates.

We were thrilled with qantas. Old time flying at its best. Spacious big planes. Helpful, trained experienced stewards. Meals in economy, even on a one hour flight! A free seat between us! In economy, on two flights. iPads in seats for entertainment, hello!

Ok now to our trip. We arrived by plane about mid day and gave ourselves about 50 hrs to see north of Queensland. Cairns is obviously a sweet little airport, that couldn't be easier to navigate through. We picked up our rental car and were easily off to port Douglas for lunch. Note double check billing on rental cars, since they appear to up charge at will. Took us a good 10 min. to get that resolved on return and they came up with every excuse not to use the set rate.

The drive north is easy, a bit narrow, lots of round abouts, stunning views of the rocky coast with wide sand beaches stretching for miles. We stopped at the marina, in port douglas, the inlet for lunch, which was pretty good, scallops and shrimp. They have a large shrimping fleet off this harbor.

Then onto our lodge, silky oaks just north of Mossman gorge. The lodge is a series of one room bungalows on stilts flanking the Mossman river. The NP gorge is just opposite the narrow river. The reception, dining lodge is open air with a gorgeous hardwood floor and views down to the river. Ulysses butterflies scamper about as do bush turkeys. The gym is pretty spare, nice tennis court, two self guided walks into the bush have great signage noting flora and fauna, the canoes are limited by the water level but we had a great time traversing the two sets about 6 times in an hour.

Included in our stay were great breakfasts, ok dinners, and a guided walk in the Mossman. I will say that having an aboriginal guide give you a walk clues you into the tree types and plant life as well as spotting a few insects and reptiles you wouldn't recognize otherwise. Worth doing,

Also worth doing was the boat trip up the Daintree river. Beside the fact that we saw two beautiful crocs cooling on the sandy river banks, the trees, plants, birds and insects are really interesting. There is also Brama limousine mixed cattle grazing, looks a lot like Hawaii - except for the crocks which do catch a few cattle now and then. The views are up to the hilltop mountains which I imagine look a lot like Papua New Guinea not too far from here.


The lodge! Well, we were on a package, which helped with costs I think...Eric was really thrilled with the lodge. I was less so. Australia has average service, period. Both in dining and hotels. At even the top hotels.

Essentially you're paying twice as much as you would in the USA due to the fact that everyone is earning a much higher wage. Good news is that you don't need to leave a Tip.

The lodge has wifi, but not in rooms. So everyone is on their iPad or phone at meals. The main lodge is open air and essentially on stilts in the canopy of the rainforest overlooking the Mossman river and National Park on the other side. It's a lovely, comfortable setting.

The bungalows are a walk from the lodge and have good privacy with views into the canopy. they are spacious with good closet storage and countertops, Eric loved the ceiling shower there was a jacuzzi and single sink in the bath. Evening turndown brought slight clean up and candles. I did enjoy the pool tho it was a bit chilly and not a lap pool but one meant to replicate a natural pool in a series of bean shapes.

Upon arrival we walked up to the rapids, on a rough trail, about an hour plus and enjoyed the signage along the way, then a swim and dinner. The next morning after a great breakfast we went off to the Mossman, and had a nice little intro by the aboriginal guide afterwards a self guided walk on the 2 mile or so walk past the suspension bridge with some gorgeous trees.

Next day we took the drive up to Daintree village for a croc boat ride. A lovely boat ride along the river side with beautiful bird and croc life. The boat we went on was motorized and chosen because it was ready to go when we arrived in Daintree. The first croc was open mouthed on the beach and not shy. Then we saw a spoonbill with other unique birds and tree types. The next croc was on a beach completely without fear. It was a fast one hour tour. Then back to Silky Oaks for tea, a workout and dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The accommodations were a bit more rustic than we wanted - and the location a bit more remote than we were aware from our travel agent - but we have never been better taken care of. Paul, the owner, was as generous, caring and effective a host as you can have. The food service was terrific. The staff accommodated our every request. We stayed during the rainy season which truly tested their hospitality - to the point that Paul provided a helicopter to take us safely over the flooded bridge on the last day to make it to our flight. A remarkable group of people. Anyone wanting excellent service while visiting Dain Tree Rain Forest should stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
564 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#7 of 42 in Port Douglas
483 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range: $314 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing