We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silky Oaks Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Demi View Motel(Mossman)(Great Value!)
$82
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
$138
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
$153
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$142
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$432
$395
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Central Plaza Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Resort & Spa(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Villas Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveler rating
797
165
48
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
165
48
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmossman riverport douglastree houseour honeymoonhammock on the balconyhealing watersspa bathtreehouse roommain buildingturn down servicecd playerperchdinner menuthe great barrier reefwalking trailsthree nightstreehouse restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

In the lead up Sharon at the front desk was very focused on top notch customer service outlining activities, transfers and hotel offerings. The free shuttle bus was driven by the lovely Des who as a local provided honest and informative recommendations and local knowledge. We were upgraded to the tree house lodge after a lovely welcoming drink. The room was beautiful and the surroundings just like being in a rainforest. We made use of the lush saltwater pool, the in room spa, ventured the private walking trails, used the kayaks, the dinner was amazing and the Buffett breakfast unbelievable. We also had arranged a dreamtime tour at Mossman gorge which was well worth the $50 each. For a 5 star experience the value for money was brilliant. As we spent the next 3 nights in Port Douglas with restaurant main meals being even more expensive it was really a wonderful experience. Next time we would stay for longer and indulge in the day spa treatments. Pack insect repellent and suitable clothing and footwear even like us if you thought you wouldn't go on the high trails- you need it! Lovely staff and would recommend it to anyone going to the tropics!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Silky Oaks

Cairns looks a lot like Melbourne Florida and Port Douglas looks a lot like Vero beach Florida. It's Florida with mountains, cold clear streams running over granite boulders and river rock to the ocean, big trees and wonderful high canopy rain forest, huge butterflies, mangos, sugar cane, tea farms and crocodiles.

Cairns airport has a terrific qantas lounge, huge! With latte machines, a food spread wines, beers, full bar, free wifi, a few charging stations and a couple apple computers. Quite unexpected but since we arrived 1:30 hrs before flt time we had plenty of time to check it out. No reason to arrive here more than 30 min. before departure, even 20 would see you on the plan with a boarding pass and carry on. The only waits wev’e had have been for checking luggage (sydney 30 min,). Tsa allows liquids, separate computers and aerosols, no ID needed, so visitors are allowed into the terminal and to the gates.

We were thrilled with qantas. Old time flying at its best. Spacious big planes. Helpful, trained experienced stewards. Meals in economy, even on a one hour flight! A free seat between us! In economy, on two flights. iPads in seats for entertainment, hello!

Ok now to our trip. We arrived by plane about mid day and gave ourselves about 50 hrs to see north of Queensland. Cairns is obviously a sweet little airport, that couldn't be easier to navigate through. We picked up our rental car and were easily off to port Douglas for lunch. Note double check billing on rental cars, since they appear to up charge at will. Took us a good 10 min. to get that resolved on return and they came up with every excuse not to use the set rate.

The drive north is easy, a bit narrow, lots of round abouts, stunning views of the rocky coast with wide sand beaches stretching for miles. We stopped at the marina, in port douglas, the inlet for lunch, which was pretty good, scallops and shrimp. They have a large shrimping fleet off this harbor.

Then onto our lodge, silky oaks just north of Mossman gorge. The lodge is a series of one room bungalows on stilts flanking the Mossman river. The NP gorge is just opposite the narrow river. The reception, dining lodge is open air with a gorgeous hardwood floor and views down to the river. Ulysses butterflies scamper about as do bush turkeys. The gym is pretty spare, nice tennis court, two self guided walks into the bush have great signage noting flora and fauna, the canoes are limited by the water level but we had a great time traversing the two sets about 6 times in an hour.

Included in our stay were great breakfasts, ok dinners, and a guided walk in the Mossman. I will say that having an aboriginal guide give you a walk clues you into the tree types and plant life as well as spotting a few insects and reptiles you wouldn't recognize otherwise. Worth doing,

Also worth doing was the boat trip up the Daintree river. Beside the fact that we saw two beautiful crocs cooling on the sandy river banks, the trees, plants, birds and insects are really interesting. There is also Brama limousine mixed cattle grazing, looks a lot like Hawaii - except for the crocks which do catch a few cattle now and then. The views are up to the hilltop mountains which I imagine look a lot like Papua New Guinea not too far from here.


The lodge! Well, we were on a package, which helped with costs I think...Eric was really thrilled with the lodge. I was less so. Australia has average service, period. Both in dining and hotels. At even the top hotels.

Essentially you're paying twice as much as you would in the USA due to the fact that everyone is earning a much higher wage. Good news is that you don't need to leave a Tip.

The lodge has wifi, but not in rooms. So everyone is on their iPad or phone at meals. The main lodge is open air and essentially on stilts in the canopy of the rainforest overlooking the Mossman river and National Park on the other side. It's a lovely, comfortable setting.

The bungalows are a walk from the lodge and have good privacy with views into the canopy. they are spacious with good closet storage and countertops, Eric loved the ceiling shower there was a jacuzzi and single sink in the bath. Evening turndown brought slight clean up and candles. I did enjoy the pool tho it was a bit chilly and not a lap pool but one meant to replicate a natural pool in a series of bean shapes.

Upon arrival we walked up to the rapids, on a rough trail, about an hour plus and enjoyed the signage along the way, then a swim and dinner. The next morning after a great breakfast we went off to the Mossman, and had a nice little intro by the aboriginal guide afterwards a self guided walk on the 2 mile or so walk past the suspension bridge with some gorgeous trees.

Next day we took the drive up to Daintree village for a croc boat ride. A lovely boat ride along the river side with beautiful bird and croc life. The boat we went on was motorized and chosen because it was ready to go when we arrived in Daintree. The first croc was open mouthed on the beach and not shy. Then we saw a spoonbill with other unique birds and tree types. The next croc was on a beach completely without fear. It was a fast one hour tour. Then back to Silky Oaks for tea, a workout and dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The accommodations were a bit more rustic than we wanted - and the location a bit more remote than we were aware from our travel agent - but we have never been better taken care of. Paul, the owner, was as generous, caring and effective a host as you can have. The food service was terrific. The staff accommodated our every request. We stayed during the rainy season which truly tested their hospitality - to the point that Paul provided a helicopter to take us safely over the flooded bridge on the last day to make it to our flight. A remarkable group of people. Anyone wanting excellent service while visiting Dain Tree Rain Forest should stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Silky Oaks Lodge for two nights. I can not express how amazing this place is located in the heart of the Daintree Rainforest. We were fortunate enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to the Deluxe Tree House which we were more than thankful for.

The service provided from staff was impeccable. Having previously worked at a hotel I understand how important customer service can affect your stay, and the staff at Silky Oaks ticked all the boxes.

The buffet breakfast was delicious, and the selection for dinner was also just as good. On our first night we returned from dinner with candles in our room, blinds taken down, and bed turned over. It was a pleasant suprise and just made us feel that little but special.

I would recommend Silky Oaks Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing and tranquil environment. Looking back this was the best place that we stayed during our one week trip to Cairns.
We will definitley be returning soon!

Thank you!

Rob and Nikita Drysdale.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Silky Oaks lodge last week and wished we could have stayed 3 more. Very relaxing environment and incredibly gracious, friendly staff. Also, the food was amazing. Very nice surprise for a small retreat in the middle of the rainforest. After two weeks in 4 and 5 star hotels in Sydney and Melbourne, this lodge was our highlight! A word of advice..don't fill your itinerary with extra excursions, you will want to have some down time here.

The Boens

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews